We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget, price value!”
Review of Hotel Gunia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gunia
Ranked #282 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Attended by owners, extremely accommodating. Clean rooms and excellent German home made breakfast. Close to a variety of restorants and subway station. For those into the gay scene, the hotel/pension is half block away from one of the three gay quarters in Berlin.

Room Tip: The hotel offers rooms with a badroom inside the room, or private badroom outside the room. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

I'm amazed by the service at the hotel!
The apartment/room was really good and the private garden was so nice!
I will definitely go back to this hotel!

We came by car from Sweden and had a lot of luggage with us, and after the Berlin vacation we took a small trip to Mallorca, and there was no problem leaving the bags in the hotel during our quick flyaway.

I gladly recommend this hotel to all!
Nice and quiet in the center of Berlin!

See you next time in Berlin!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

During my stay the owner was extremely accommodating. Was able to provide an in house laundry service and delivered the next day with cloths pressed and folded. Since there were three of us in our room we often needed three different keys rather than the standard two supplied by the hotel. The owner was kind enough to lend us the third key with no extra charge. I can say I was extremely impressed with the customer service here and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pros:

1. Convenient location. Close to the train.
2. The couple is very nice. The wife is extremely friendly and helpful. She is very enthusiastic about making you feel at home and happy with the experience. He took the time to draw on a map for me and was helpful about telling me where to get the train.
3. Clean enough.

Cons:

1. Pretty noisy area. We had a lot of street noise owing to the clubs in close proximity. I was woken up at least once in the middle of the night by people walking down the street yelling. This is very much a leather-and-chains area, and there are a ton of clubs and partying going on at night.

2. The hotel rooms are built into large rooms from an old flat. Imagine a huge 4000 sq ft flat split into multiple hotel rooms. Ours was a large parlor or dining room. Consequently, the bathrooms are essentially like a water closet (literally). Ours was like having a 10x5 shed in the room. Almost like a "bathroom module" they dropped in there. Everything worked fine. It was just sort of strange and a little weird. See attached picture.

3. For us, the breakfast was not worth the 6 Euro charged. It was a plate of cheese and salami slices, some kaiser rolls, a yogurt, and a soft boiled egg. For the same $8/person, I would have preferred a hot breakfast (eggs, toast, etc.). This was a negative for us, at least.

4. I asked the owner to print out our boarding passes for us to save us time at Tegel. He offered to do it for fifty cents a page. I'm sorry - when your guests are paying $190/night, you can pony up the boarding pass printouts as a perk. This was off-putting to me.

Overall, it was an average stay. If I were going back, I would look for other accommodations, however.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank from_chicago_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I was visiting Berlin for a week from Ohio for business and stayed at Hotel Gunia. Everything was perfect! The owners, Horst and Simone, were very friendly and gave me tips about the sights to see in Berlin. The room was also reasonably priced; something that is difficult to find in Berlin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dougindc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#41 of 634 in Berlin
721 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,720 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#121 of 634 in Berlin
781 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gunia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gunia

Address: Eisenacher Strasse 10 | Schöneberg, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: RM327 - RM862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gunia 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gunia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunia Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing