We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Checking out checkpoint Charlie."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #145 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Great place to stay, room was large and comfortable and clean. Close walking to Sbahn and other public transport. Lidl just around the corner so we would walk there in the morning and have a coffee and muffin for €2 or go to local cafe, still cheaper than the hotels breakfast of €18 each. Checkpoint Charlie a ten minute walk and we hired bikes from the hotel for the day €12 each was fantastic to get around on. Loved Berlin, so much to see and do and hotel was well located. No issues with the hotel, well priced for Berlin and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank generationmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel is very comfortable and a great location. Checkpoint Charlie is 100 away. Topography of terror 100 metres away and many a restaurant to choose from. Easy access to bus and subway system. Room was clean and plenty of space. Wifi is pretty useless but with McDonald's at checkpoint Charlie it's a good alternative. Will stay again when back in Berlin

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We got a great deal on Agoda for this hotel paying only £36 a night for 3 nights 17th-20th Dec 2017 (2 adults and 1 child).

We took the S45 from the airport to Templehof and then changed to the U6 to Kochstrabe (this is the stop for checkpoint Charlie and you want to go in the direction of Alt-Tegel). It's then only a 5 min walk to the hotel.

It is in a quiet location (good for us travelling with an almost 2 year old) but there's not a lot in the immediate area in terms of places to eat etc. It did feel a bit off the tourist track. But within a 10 min walk there are plenty of options.

Despite being early for check in, our room was luckily ready. However, we ended up going back down when we discovered it only had a shower rather than a bath (the baby hates showers, loves baths!). We were offered an upgrade for 10 euros extra per night for a much bigger room with a bath, this was well worth it for us. It was a nice spacious room, big windows (no nice view sadly, just of flats opposite), clean and modern. Heating was good. Huge bathroom with bath and shower. Safe in the wardrobe (no fee). Good wifi.

Can't comment on the restaurant as we didnt eat there - breakfast quite expensive if you only eat a light breakfast but looked a good choice if you want a big one to fill you up! We decided to save the money and eat on the go.

Staff friendly and helpful. No issues. For the price we paid we were very happy and have no complaints at all about the hotel. However, if we go to Berlin again, we'd probably choose a different location. That said, it was quiet and it suited us and we walked to nearly everywhere from there including Alexander Platz, the Brandenberg gate and even Charlottenburg palace (did get the train back from that one!) so it proved a good base.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank UKCarolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a very central location to all attractions. Staff here are polite and friendly. However our experience was ruined by a foul smell of drains in our room, we mentioned this to the reception who sent the cleaner up whilst we were out to wash the carpet, but on our return the carpet was still damp and the smell had gone worse. We went down to reception again who did offer to move us to another Hotel, but because it was our last night we persevered with it after them giving us a bottle of spray to use in room. They also gave us complimentary drink and breakfast the next morning. Overall though this is a lovely hotel with lovely staff.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Great location, a 5/10 min walk from checkpoint charlie. Also the closest restraunt (Thai place on corner) Is very yummy and reasonably priced. The closest cocktail bar is also very friendly, cheap and STRONGGGG.

Staff where all warm and friendly, especially house keeping whom kept walking in on me and my partner in bed but it was all accidental and taken in good jest. Even if it did happen 3 times in 4 days.... Haha.

Would recommend. Has a Raddison/ Park Plaza vibe to it.

The only thing I could flaw is we booked a double room but got 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single duvets. That could have been them trying to be nice and thinking we where friends not a same sex couple though I asked for a double duvet and was given another single. Maybe they don't have double duvets here? In fairness my German is awful :)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Kreuzberg
Hotel Angleterre
Hotel Angleterre
#165 of 635 in Berlin
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Schöneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Hedemannstr. 11 - 12, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Checkpoint Charlie)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#132 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: RM 261 - RM 740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's new and old centre mixes history and future: At Checkpoint Charlie history was written for decades. It is located in the direct neighborhood of the Potsdamer Platz, which is a symbol of Berlin's future and its new centre with political, media, cultural- and lifestyle institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing