We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ashleigh = awesome!”

Original Berlin Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.29*
and up
Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 369 Tours in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Original Berlin Walks offers a variety of walking tours covering all sides of Berlin's history; from our 'all in one' Discover Berlin tour, to tour focusing on the Berlin Wall and the Nazi past, to whole day excursions such as Potsdam or the Sachsenhausen Conctentration Camp Memorial Site, if you want to learn about Berlin's past, then we're the people you need.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ashleigh = awesome!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Tour was very informative and easy to understand. Saw many sights within a small walking distance and was very educated.

Helpful?
Thank nikki_purcell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,738
    297
    25
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do, entertaining accessible way to get Berlins massive history in 5 hrs”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Do avoid the other (many) companies. This one charges -was €12 when I went - and it's easily worth it. Guide was Finn Ballard, an entertaining Irish historian with a PhD in social history. His gift of the blarney made it all relevant, witty and inspiring. You could spend 5 days trying to get in what he covered in 5 hours; you might still want to having got the overview. Plus there's stories you may not get from the written guides.
I'd recommend it even to those whove visited before, or those people who, like me, are only passing through for a short while.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raseborg, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ashleigh explains clearly and interesting.”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We was on a businesstrip to Berlin and as a suprise we "had to" make a guided walking tour in the city concerning Nazi-history.
We where lucky to have Ashleigh as our guide, she was able show and explain all the history in the city, very clearly and with a interesting level of details. Mainly we looked for the most importing tracks from the second World War, but of course also the history from the East-West Berlin.
It was very interesting for the hole group from Finland - This is Why!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draveil, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That is THE one Must do it in Berlin!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Even cold weather, our guide Jim did the best for knowledges of Berlin. With berlin welcome card, We got 25% off. This tour took 3h30( could be 4 h in summer ) by walk but I didn't realized that time passed by so quickly. It was my third visit in Berlin then I must say that this original walk tour was the best what i've done in Berlin.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madamedemarest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Interesting, informative and educational - very good!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A fantastic introduction to the history of Berlin from it's foundation through second world war and partition through to the modern day. This 4 hour walking tour takes in many of Berlin's most memorable landmarks, including the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag, Check Point Charlie and the remains of the Berlin wall. Our guide Jim was very knowledgeable (no doubt helped by his studies in German History and Literature at Berlin University!) and an excellent host. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedCid665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Berlin Walks also viewed

 

Been to Original Berlin Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing