We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$226
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$115
US$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$184
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$462
US$346
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$131
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$97
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
US$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
301
579
180
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
579
180
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrankfurter alleeu bahn stationeuro depositgreat hotelair conwould stay here againcafes and barseast berlinworked fineberlin welcome cardbasic hotelalexander platzschonefeld airporttea and coffeeconvenient locationroom was spotlessexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Like most other reviewers we found this hotel efficiently run with clean not to say spotless rooms and bathrooms and with a better than average selection of teas and coffees to go with the room kettle. The minibar is not stocked and a bottle of water provided on the coffee table costs Eu2.50 if opened and consumed, three times the price in the supermarkets. Breakfast was very pleasant although the overall choice is just on the right side of being minimal in a few respects (like only one to two types of fruit juice).
The room price was attractive when making a short-notice booking although we had preferred to be slightly closer to the centre. We paid the Eu10 extra per guest for breakfast.
Toiletries consist of a universal liquid soap/shampoo dispenser fitted on the wall next to the sink and in the shower, like in Premier Inns etc. Could not get the room safe to work, it might be me.
Do not be put off by the very small street entrance presence.
Right next to a U5 U Bahn station and the next stop west interchanges with the M10 radial tram route. The next stop to the east with the S-Bahn Ring and other services. Will stay here again, subject to room rates being favourable.

Room Tip: Front rooms face dual carriageway; rear rooms where we were face on to residential blocks, woken by workmen's' noise, had to shut window.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I took my partner to Berlin for an Anniversary present and booked to stay in the Best Western City Ost. Firstly, they advertise their beds as double beds which they are not. They are two single beds that have been pushed together. We found ourselves sleeping in a crack and waking up with back pain. The walls are dirty with scuff marks and the room is very small and minimal. Wi-Fi signal is terrible. There was a loud banging noise coming from upstairs which we tolerated on the first night. On the second night we asked to be moved room to which the boy at the front desk stated "there were no other rooms available but he would investigate the noise." On checking a website, there were still rooms available to book at this hotel. So clearly he could not be bothered with the upheaval. Although, all this was inconvenient I wouldn't have complained until it came to our last day.
We came back from an enjoyable day exploring Berlin to find my glasses had been broken in half. We immediately went to the front desk to report this and the girl stated "what do you want me to do?" She eventually stated she would leave a note for the Manager who was on in the morning. Spoke to the Manager in the morning who took a picture of the glasses and took my email address. I was promised an email by the end of the day to which I did not receive. The Customer Service at this hotel was shocking and it is definitely not worth the hundred euros they charge per night.
I have been in touch with the Great Britain Best Western as there is nowhere to complain to for the European Best Western. They have forwarded on my complaint twice and to no surprise, I have still not received any email.
The stay at this Hotel was bitterly unsatisfactory and I would not recommend anyone stay at a Best Western Hotel if this is the sort of service they provide.

Room Tip: Not worth your money
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are modern with good water pressure and hot water. We were towards the road, but, as long as the window was shut at night we couldn't really hear too much. But, as the window had to be kept shut the room got hot and stuffy if the air-con was not set - ours worked fine. The wifi in our room (on the 4th floor) worked well as long as we logged on in the reception area on the way up. As I found in many places in Berlin there was a smell of stale smoke in the communal areas.

It was convenient to get to from Schoenfeld airport and the U bahn to Alexanderplatz is right outside the door of the hotel with trains every 5 mins or so.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and clean! The bed is good, and the shower has hot water and good pressure.
We were here the first weekend of August, to go to the Berlin bier festival. The staff was friendly, and the location was great, we could easily walk to the bier festival, and the U-bahn is litterally right outside the front door, which takes you to Alexander Platz in no time!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BulleMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great with the metro a few metres away and great restaurants and nightlife nearby. Twins beds are joined so beware. The WiFi is only strong at the reception and very low in the rooms unless you buy a booster.it is ok if you plan to be out most of the day

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews