We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in a lovely setting”
Review of Van Loon

Van Loon
Ranked #892 of 9,743 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: German, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg (Borough)
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Came across this place, or should I say boat, by chance. Looked popular with the locals so booked for dinner. Food was of a very high standard with friendly service. Nothing to fault at all.
Eat here.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gloryhornet1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Go if you have kids! It's a gorgeous little place on a boat in the middle of the river. Just, in the afternoons until early evenings it's sort of a kindergarten... lot's of noise and dirt and not too nice if you just want to meet a friend and chat a bit.
For dinner okay, - but the smell of the open kitchen sits in your clothes for days...

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank penelope44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

What a place! In principle nothing to object; everything was quite fine. We had been invited for a huge birthday party which lasted for several hours for the whole evening. A buffet had been served with delicious smoked fish and many other dishes. We had been drinking Berlinsky sparkling wine, a very good Grauburgunder etc.

Towards the end (around mid-night) some of us were still very thirsty (from talking too much) and ordered a last-minute 0.33 mineral water to share among us, and - when leaving five minutes later - had been presented a bill of EUR 5,70 for that. What a shame! The excuse was that the total bill (probably exceeding the EUR 1000) had already been paid by our hosts.

Sorry, Van Loon responsibles, this is a shame and it would never have happened in other premises or other countries. How can you be so parsimonious and not generous at all? This puts a bad light on you.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dogadoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Nice lunch (seafood a speciality) in a very clean, and laid back environment. The owner eats here, and the vessel does frequent river trips in Berlin and advertises in advance.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank RaymondM535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We came here for drinks and cake on a lovely autumn day, we sat above deck and it was amazing. I've heard (from my flatmate) that winter they have an open fire downstairs.
They have a daily menu with a veggie option and a meat option, served with a drink.
So lovely!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank themessedupmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Loon also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Van Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing