We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Biosphere Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Lots to learn about our environment and very well done for kids! They especially offer birthday celebrations for kids. Tropical paradise with all kinds of animals. Beautiful aquariums, too! They have a beautiful butterfly house, lots of tropical plants, fake thunder&lightning with rain and a cafe. Enjoy! It's a must when you visit Potsdam!

Thank MsDolly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biosphaere_Potsdam, Marketing at Biosphere Potsdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate your feedback and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
If you visit Potsdam again, please check our homepage as we have changing exhibitions throughout the year, making every visit unique.
If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

If you like gardens then this is worth visiting. Very similar to the Amazon dome at the Eden project, a little smaller though but better execution. Good use of water and the koi indoor pond on the cafe level is stunning. The cafe was closed when we visited but we had a excellent meal in the restaurant. Given you only need an hour here and it's a few tram stops out of the city centre it probably best to combine it with lunch stop, the currywurst is superb.

1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biosphaere_Potsdam, Marketing at Biosphere Potsdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate your feedback and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
If you visit Potsdam again, please check our homepage as we have changing exhibitions throughout the year, making every visit unique.
This year in spring, starting March 17th, we host the most beautiful exhibition of the year – the orchid exhibition “Orchideenblüte” with more than 1000 orchids in our tropical garden.
Thank you a lot for recommending our food. In case you’re interested in visiting earlier in the day, we also offer a tasty breakfast at the koi pond.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We had a great time. It is a tropical paradise under the roof, so you can go in all weather. It is handicapped and wheelchair friendly. We spent nice 3 hours there. You can have a coffee and a snack anytime and enjoy a meal in the restaurant (check opening times of the restaurant online) They have a great rain forest with animals and some attractions like zeppelin simulator. My kids loved it.

Thank Damijan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biosphaere_Potsdam, Marketing at Biosphere Potsdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are happy, that you found lot of exciting things to learn more about the rainforest.

We hope to see you soon in the Biosphere Potsdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

The place is simply amazing, full of tropical plants, dozens of special animals like poisonous frogs, iguanas, insects of various shapes, fish, parrots, snakes, lots of information (90% of the things written and explained in English).

There is also a stunning butterfly room that you can get inside it and be with butterflies around you, see the eggs, larvae and pupae, all in one magical and beautiful room, a lot of information !and explanations of each type of butterfly including pictures. Simply Amazing

In addition to all the things I mentioned there is also the "Waterworld", the first place devoted to explaining and understanding of what is happening today with the pollution and all the ,problems arising from the way humans treat the world, a lot of interactive stuff
,Videos dubbed in English, everything neat and attractively organized and I urge all men and women to take their children there to understand what's going on and maybe in the future they will be in a position that they can change something for the better.
Of course, for adults this place is amazing also and if I was not under time pressure (I had only an hour to be there till close) I would have stayed only in the water world part at least for two hours.
I saw the amazing aquariums (inside the submarine-like structure), all the fish were very impressive, there were aquariums of live coral, shells and even something about different marine animals that lived on the wild-historic period.

I really have no words good enough to describe how much I enjoyed and was impressed by this place and the way they educate people to protect the environment and animals.

It's a place you can spend hours and hours and not get sick you.
There is also a small café that i didnt went into it.

All the workers there without exception were nice, polite, patient and happy to help and just make you feel relaxed and the atmosphere was positive and loving.

Bottom line, I urge each and every one who come to Potsdam to mark this place as a must, the same way you consider the palaces and gardens as a must thing to see, you must visit the biosphere.

1  Thank AnimalLover2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biosphaere_Potsdam, Marketing at Biosphere Potsdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Hello and thank you so much for the nice review!

We are very happy to hear, that you spent such an amazing time in the Biosphere Potsdam. We will also be very glad to welcome you again. You just have to try out our Café Tropencamp or maybe take a look at our restaurant menu.

We also offer informative guided tours (in english), where you can learn more about the tropical world and men's influence on it. Children can also participate at exciting experemental workshops.

We hope to see you soon again in our tropical paradise!

Sincerely,

Biosphere-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We have been there and came to realise that we totally underestimated this place. Walking through it and enjoying the environment, we made a stop at the café and felt like on a wellness vacation. It is very informative and I enjoyed this unusual place a lot. I can totally recommend it for families, tourists and locals. Hint: Take the lift from the study room - worth experiencing.

1  Thank MellieL1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biosphaere_Potsdam, Marketing at Biosphere Potsdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you for your positive assessment. We are pleased that you liked us so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biosphere Potsdam also viewed

Potsdam, Brandenburg
 
Potsdam, Brandenburg
Potsdam, Brandenburg
 

Been to Biosphere Potsdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing