We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Hotel Popp(Hamburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Condor(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Village(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,480)
Filter reviews
1,481 results
Traveller rating
500
563
233
110
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
563
233
110
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationusb portsbed dormshower and toiletmain stationprivate bathroombar downstairsstag docommon areasbeds were comfortableperfect locationgreat barenjoyed my staypadlockcityhauptbahnhofcomputers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,481 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good hostel. Great for young people. the location is perfect of you’re staying for few days, because it’s across the street from the train central station. The room was little but ok for 2 poeple and a stay of a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luciacV7571JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian B, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hallo!
Thank you for sharing your experience at Generator Hamburg. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the city and your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,

#Genlove ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time in Hamburg. Hostel is 2mins beside Train Station. Very Central. Stay in a 8 man dorm. Room is big but Toilet and shower is small but there is a common Toilet/Shower on the level that you are staying on which is very spacious. Staff were helpful but there was one guy who was wearing a pink hat who was very ignorant and ill mannered which stop me from giving 5 out of 5. Towels are €3. Free WiFi. Hostel is 5min train to the Reaperbhan(Pubs/Nightlife).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian B, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hallo!
Thank you for sharing your experience at Generator Hamburg. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the city and your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

#Genlove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, clean room, rooms are big enough with good security. Shower was small and you would not want to be over 6foot. Nice bar with happy hour. Breakfast was decent with fruit cereal tea, coffee and juices on offer

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kinhenry2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian B, Front Desk at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ahoi!

Thank you very much for your comment and evaluation. We are really delightful to hear that our guests are really satisfied with our service. We hope to see you soon in the future.

Kind regards,

Medea Amado - Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, cool music at the reception, funny instructions etc.)
The location near the central bus station is just ideal. I've come by the late evening bus from Berlin and managed to check in just before the midnight.
I'd rather prefer having a bigger shower & WC outside of the room than the small ones inside, but those were OK, too.
The lockers didn't work for technical reasons, but there was a luggage room, so it was also OK in the end.
Thanks to the staff for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mykola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian B, Front Desk at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola! Thank you very much for your review after your stay with us. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you liked our atmosphere.

We hope to see you soon,

Medea Amado - Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

I stayed in Generator hostel for 3 days while it was about -8 degrees in Hamburg. The HEATER was NOT working in the female room and the guys from reception did not care about it wenn were freezing!

the bathroom and the toilet in the female room is so small that it is impossible that you can have a shower

I do not recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: do not stay in female room. do not choose this hostel
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Işıl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian B, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for taking some time out of your day to let us know how you feel about your recent stay with us. We truly regret that we didn't live up to your expectations at all. The heater issue was very unfortunate, we do have to apologize for not solving the problem. If you feel the urge to talk to someone in person, please feel free to contact me in person by calling Generator Hostel Hamburg.

Best regards,

Subir Kundu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews