We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thermalis(Bad Hersfeld)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sleep & Go(Bad Hersfeld)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&F Hotel am Neumarkt(Bad Hersfeld)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Haus am Park(Bad Hersfeld)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelpension Vitalis(Bad Hersfeld)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B & B Keins wie Meins(Bad Hersfeld)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
17
32
14
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
32
14
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to very friendly staff, the hotel is spotlessly clean. My single room I found spacious but the bed was built in and became very claustrophobic. The en suite was small but adequate, unfortunately my head touched the roof in places. The breakfast was the same every morning with no variety. The evening meal was ok. One night we were asked to leave as the bar was closing it was only 9.30 in the evening.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, Empfang at Hotel am Kurpark, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Pam H,

thank you very much for your assessment.
We are glad to hear that our staff is friendly and the hotel is very tidy.
Concerning our rooms, there are different kinds of rooms with different designs. We pressure you booked a small single room they are up to the 4 th floor so they all have roof slopes. It would had been nice if you had talked to us about the room problem, we could have changed your room. The critic about our breakfast is not reasonable for us. Our breakfast consist of many regional and fresh seasonal products. The staff was trained again, that the bar could not be closed at 09.30 in the evening.

We hope to welcoming you again at Hotel am Kurpark.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We arrived here after a long car journey, and were met by an incredibly apathetic and indifferent receptionist. She provided us with our room keys and the password for the wifi, but no other information was given. She did not welcome us, she did not ask how our journey had been, in fact she could not have demonstrated even less interest, although the lady who checked us out did her best to also demonstrate zero interest in us as paying guests.

The rooms are plain and outdated. The hotel feels like a road-side motel more than a four star establishment, with thin walls where you can join in the conversations of your neighbours.

We booked dinner in the hotel restaurant. We were shown to our table and waited for fifteen minutes before a waiter arrived to take our order. When we told him we had no idea what we were supposed to be ordering from, as we had been provided with no information, he looked bewildered and told us it was a buffet evening. The food looked less than appealing, so we asked to order a la carte.
Our food arrived after a long wait. It was so salty that we could not eat more than half of it. We were given no attention from any waiting staff, so could not mention it until our plates were finally collected. When we told the waiter why a lot of our food remained untouched, his response was "oh". The meal was entirely overpriced and a huge disappointment.

Breakfast was not much better; the plain yoghurt was sour, the 'fresh' bread was frozen on the inside making it impossible to slice, the eggs were cold.

The receptionist who checked us out simply gave us the bill, we paid and left. The whole procedure took less than two minutes. Had the receptionist actually shown any interest (for example, asking us how our stay had been), we would have mentioned our impressions.

Having travelled extensively, I can only say that this hotel charges four star rates for two-three star service and facilities. The service is poor, staff are disinterested, food is mediocre. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus H, Empfang at Hotel am Kurpark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Kirstin,

thank you very much for your assessment.

It´s unexplicable that you had the impression that our receptionists are indifferent and demonstrate less interest. Usually they are all very helpful and courteous.
Concerning our rooms, there are different kinds of rooms with different designs. You booked a double room comfort and a modern double room for single use. All rooms provide of new bathrooms, your room has a balcony, a minibar and you also had a nice view to the Kurpark. A nice natural green park area with lots of flowers and trees. The price is absolutely reasonable for the given circumstances. The establishment is a matter of taste, some people like and some don´t.
As a little hint when you book a room directly in our hotel it´s cheaper than to book it via booking.com or other provider.

Your critic in our restaurant is not transparent for us. You had chicken with risotto as a main course, we know you criticised that the risotto was salty but all the plates were eaten up. The compote was freshly made in the kitchen so that’s the reason why it takes a little longer and was communicated from the waiter and seemed to be no problem for you. Our food is cooked with regional and seasonal fresh products and the price for such products is appropriate. The waiter had no reason for no time that you were dissatisfied with the restaurant.

For the frozen bread and the cold eggs we can only apologize. We have to agree that this is unacceptable.

All in all we can say that we took your negative aspects to improve ourselfs. We can´t take your first impressions but we would like to contact you to talk to you in a private conversation.
Hoping to see you again in our hotel, to show you a better impression, we send you all the best wishes.

Kind regards
Hotel am Kurpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I can only underline what the previous guest wrote. This place is awful. I arrived in the evening, hungry and tired after 10 h on the motorbike. I had to pay the expensive fee on the spot, without being able to see the room upfront. Customer service isn't part of this hotels strategy.
I will never come back here and I hope everyone who reads those various comments avoids this place .
The staff is super unfriendly. Breakfast was average.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stern S, Empfangsmitarbeiterin at Hotel am Kurpark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Dear Boris S,

thank you rated our hotel at the spa park. We are very sorry that you have not been in our home stay.
We would have shown you on your arrival different room, this desire you have unfortunately not expressed locally. So we have your desire fulfilled to reserve the cheapest room. Also we will come to meet at the price of our garage.
The colleague had you also offered as an alternative our little cheaper sister hotel in downtown. This, too, you refused. Too bad that you rate our breakfast as average. Unfortunately, you do not share what you have missed, we have received until now always positive feedback about our choices on the buffet.

We would have been pleased if you had sought dialogue with us locally, are even now always at your disposal and remain

Sincerely
Your team from the Hotel am Kurpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I decided to book this 4-star hotel on 16th March (more than 1 month ahead) for staying with my wife and 2 small kids(3- /6-yr-old) on 22-24 April because of reading some ''positive'' reviews. To avoid any hassle traveling with my family, I booked directly from the hotel own homepage, reserved the Comfort-Doubleroom for 300€ with credit card, and immediately received their confirmation by email. It clearly listed each person's name, 2 adults and 2 kids, and the total number of people per room: 4. My wife (native German) also called the hotel 2 days before our departure to make sure the bed for our kids will be ready upon check-in, and the hotel also confirmed. After non-stop driving more than 5 hours, we finally arrived at hotel around 7pm, The reception Ms. Malkomes did not even welcome us, but immediately claimed that we booked a lower category double-room for only 2 adults, and she refused to give us our room key unless we pay for extra 35€ per night. Without further wasting our time arguing with her, I strongly demanded to talk to the hotel manager. After waiting for more than 15 minutes, she finally showed up, but only dispatching her French butler (the restaurant manager, as arrogant attitude as reception) to fetch me from my car. Ms. Siehling also insisted the same, and to do us a favor she offered us an upgrade for only charging us an extra 35€ instead. I was so furious because it's already 8pm with 2 hungry kids, and facing such unprofessional, dishonest manner of a 4-star hotel manager/reception was just unbelievable. She finally yielded, but this ordeal completely ruined our mood for a weekend getaway. Next day Ms. Malkomes still insisted that it's fault on us(customers), and we were not given any apology at all. We double checked their homepage again after returning home, and decided to post screenshots of their current offers for every weekend till end of May. See for yourself. My booking was even made more than a moth ago. I strongly advice all travelers/companies booking somewhere else. Indeed, as customers our only fault was directly booking with this hotel from their own homepage.

Room Tip: Rm313 has the view, but very noisy. Bathroom like a highway Motel, only two cheap plastic bottles with smelly liquid soap.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevotien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stern S, Empfang at Hotel am Kurpark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear steveotien,

thank you very much for your assessment.
We regret that your arrival at the hotel was negative. It was definitely our mistake which we tried to explain and for what we have to apologize again.
We also understand your anger after that long way to us and at first we offered some drinks to you which you declined.
On Saturday we tried to explain again that it was our mistake, no one claimed that the guest did something wrong.

We would like to talk to you at the hotel but unfortunately you don´t gave us the chance.

Kind regards
Hotel am Kurpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The city is not my favourite but the hotel is nice.The best is the food in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and the staff is polite and helpful. Not fare from the Altstadt with many shops and bars. If you need a swimming pool the yerms ate just oposite the hotel.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank TDEPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stern S, Rezeption at Hotel am Kurpark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Dear TDEPL,

thank you very much for your positive assessment.
It´s great that you are satisfied with our rooms and the polite and helpful service of our staff. We are glad you liked the food in our restaurant that much.

Positive assessments will motivate the employees to give the best every day.

We would be pleased to welcoming you again at Hotel am Kurpark.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews