We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
6
14
3
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
14
3
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citymarket squarepillowsaccessparking
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here five nights and were extremely pleased with our accommodations. The suite was very clean and the daily breakfast was well worth the extra charge. It was quiet at night also. I would highly recommend this place to stay in the middle of the old city.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lilah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

A quaint hotel in a Beautiful town that transports you to a bygone era.

The hotel exterior is fachwerk and inside the wooden beams are surreal.

The decor could be described as kitch but it all adds to the charm.

The rooms are clean and well sized for the price.

Loads of restaurants nearby.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StevenWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I booked through a popular internet travel site. Booked the Excelsior suite with kitchen for one night. Upon arrival they handed us the key to the room. We asked if this was the excelsior suite with kitchen and she confessed no it was not. Long story short the check in lady was a bad liar. Stating she gave our room away the night before for a week long booking. So our one night stay was not a revenue generator. Was she going to charge the Excelsior suite room price for this much smaller room?? Not sure as she didn't mention a cheaper price until we asked. This was just a bad experience and I would have left if we just didn't spend 7 hours cycling to this hotel. Towels smelled of mildew and upon check-out in the morning at 7am they tried charging us for breakfast that had not started yet!!!!!

Room Tip: have a back up reservation just in case they don't honor your reservation.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Small hotel in a 400 years old frame house with old beams a the cosy room with an overall nice ambience; located in the old town of Gelnhausen close to the station; very quite; good breakfast; public parking can be difficult; reception is not constantly occupied, you have to ring the bell at the front door.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansgar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

At only a few kilometers distance from Frankfurt this hotel offers a splendid atmosphere with friendly service. The right alternative for the big overly expensive hotels in Frankfurt. Situated in the beautiful center of Gelnhausen. The reception of the hotel has creative, free of charge solutions to overcome parking problems in the very busy center of the city. We were surprised that the typical German style houses were also surrounded by modern streets with luxery shops with design articles. The hotel is very friendly combining ancient times with wooden furnture and design elements. The bathroom is very modern and the bed/sitting room is fully equipped (amongst others with high tech TV and access for your iPod). The hotel has a small but very cosy breakfast room inviting you to to speak with other guests to share your pleasant surprises about this perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardoNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews