We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A youth hostel with a great view”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jugendherberge Rudesheim
Reviewed 28 June 2014

As we drove up the hill looking for this youth hostel, we couldn't believe the great location. Magnificent views over the Rhine and surrounding countryside. The staff were very knowledgeable and exceptionally helpful. Facilities great - yes, the building is getting old, but that didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay. We had breakfast and dinner at the hostel, and the food was fresh and plentiful. We stayed over the Easter break but the staff coped well with the large number of visitors. An evening walk through the vineyards to the nearby St Hildegards Abbey is recommended. We had a room for two with our own bathroom and it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47Judith57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

During the annual Germany trip with my students, we stayed in many Jugendherbergen, but this one was, hands down, the worst. In fact, it was a bit scary. When we arrived there was some sort of dance going on with 11-13 YO kids, running everywhere, screaming, looking in the windows of my students’ rooms from outside. I wondered what sort of control the owners had over their guests since absolutely none was apparent. My kids hated this place; room and sleep quality were absolutely poor. The building itself, unlike so many other JH we stayed in was showing signs of disrepair. At one point, my students actually asked if we could leave and find a hotel in town and they'd be glad to pay out of pocket. The other chaperon and I decided to wait it out since the dance would end in a couple of hours, and the kids' parents had already paid a lot for this trip. It did end-- finally, but then there was also a lot of drinking/smoking going on with older and somewhat rough looking kids sitting right out front. To make matters worse, I had pre-paid for a private room with private bath and got a kid's room with several bunks and no bath. No refund for the difference was offered either and the lady behind the counter seemed indifferent that I was not getting that for which I had paid extra money. When it finally quieted down, my kids were able to get to bed and sleep without disturbance, though that was a little late. The only thing really redeeming about this place, in my opinion, is the view since it sits on top of a mountain. Other than this, I would never elect to stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Another youth hostel on top of a small hill, difficult to get there without a car but once you reach up..the view is unbeatbale! This place is small, fairly clean and quiet. Surrounded by grape plantations. Rooms were clean though small, food was ok too. Standard youth hostel fare. The best part was...We got ourselves some wine from the village and enjoyed the absolutely breathtaking view on a full moon night !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhullakad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ganz vorne wo man eine gute Assicht hat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NESTIHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sechszimmer-Betten sind für 6 Leute zu eng. Drei Leute ok, vier ggf. auch noch, aber nicht fünf oder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank First N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.8 km away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#18 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
126 reviews
0.9 km away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#19 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
179 reviews
3.5 km away
Alte Bauernschaenke
Alte Bauernschaenke
#12 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Lindenwirt
Hotel Lindenwirt
#11 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
222 reviews
0.8 km away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
346 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rose
Hotel Rose
#6 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Rudesheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Rudesheim

Address: Jugendherberge 1, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ruedesheim am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing