We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel zum Lowen
Nearby Hotels
V-Hotel(Bonn)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg(Bonn)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Baden(Bonn)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
4
10
16
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
10
16
12
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Location is ok but the whole hotel could use an overhaul. I was booked here by the organization I was working for and I found it dreary and dull. Everything is carpeted - as in, the bed pedestal, the bedside table stand, the hallways (not the bathroom) and it has the feel of a cheesy 70s American motel. Staff is pretty good, though they will charge you for each wifi account you get (I travel with iPhone, iPad and laptop when I'm on business, and each requires its own account here). It's clean enough but I definitely wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felix78901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

After hunting around the town on the other side of the rail line without success for two hours (conference time apparently) we were grateful to find the Zum Lowen, with its impressive (and deceptive) old fashioned facade. having stayed in any number of cell like, soulless rooms through the Rhine valley, this was a nice change, even if the rooms are very dated. The funky bathroom tiles and the deep set windows looking out onto a leafy embassy lined street, made it better than it might have been.

The restaurant attached is good value and popular with the locals by the looks of it and the English speaking hostess could not have been more patient in explaining the idiosyncratic variants on the meat and potato based lifestyle that makes German cuisine as deservedly unheralded as it is.

Good value for the price I thought, compared to the rest of the hotels in town. Clean, slightly jaded and seen better days, but so what.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stemar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is quite old and, have to admit, shabby. The room was very cold (radiators didn't work or were not switched on) and apparently meant for young family with a slightly wider bed (intended for the parents, I assume, and definitely not very comfortabel) and another, 80 cm wide bed (I assume) for the possible child. In addition, the room was next to hotel sign, and the flashing light was somewhat annoying in the evenings. Luckily it was switched off around midnight. The bath room was very small and the trash was not emptied when we arrived.

The area is approximately 8 km from Bonn, in a very nice residential area called Bad Godesberg. There are nice forests paths, minigolf and such maybe within 15 minutes walking distance, but for sightseeing the area is not the best. However, the train station is very near (less than 5 min walk) and the tickets were not too expensive, so it wasn't very difficult to reach Bonn or Cologne.

To whom should I recommend this hotel? For budget travellers, at least. Also, if you are coming to Bonn for a conference I guess it offers fairly reasonable pricing. Albeit rather worn down, the hotel does have its charm. Just make sure you have nicer room. Something worth to mention is the breakfast, which is quite nice, and included in the room price.

Room Tip: Ask a room not next to the hotel sign!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews