We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a beer”

Brauerei zur Malzmuehle
Ranked #70 of 2,638 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Süd
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This is a lovely place to relax and have a beer. The inside is lovely and very welcoming. The beer was cold and good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S, Manager at Brauerei zur Malzmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Mary R,

thank you so much for your kind words and your very positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself at our brewery. We are looking forward to see you again!

All the best from Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Crowded, lively, authentic. We managed to find a table on a Friday night, had good food with local beer and came out very happy.

We went for the Schnitzel, Firkebrode met Malzbierzaus (pork with beer sauce) and the usual sausage. All dishes were very good.

This is a down to earth local place, waiters are extremely busy, no time for formality or useless chit chat. They efficiently take your order, bring the food and refresh your beer glass non stop (it’s up to you to signal that you don’t want beer any longer).

2  Thank Lyskamm049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S, Manager at Brauerei zur Malzmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Lyskamm049,

thank you so much for your kind words and review of your recent visit to our brewhouse.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got the chance to sample our yummy cuisine.

We hope to see you again sometime and send you best wishes from Cologne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is very Germanic, with a rustic feel and friendly atmosphere. The staff are wonderful, very efficient and attentive. I never write reviews but had to leave one because the food I had there was the best I've had in absolutely ages! Really hearty, filling and delicious! Obviously the beer was great too. I will be back on my next trip to Köln!

Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S, Manager at Brauerei zur Malzmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Sophie D,

thank you so much for your kind words and your very positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself at our brewery. We are looking forward to see you again!

All the best from Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Unfortunately our dining experience has been destroyed by an arrogant and unfriendly waiter. Even if it is busy waiters should be friendly otherwise you have chosen the wrong job.
When asking for anything gluten free he did not even bother to offer anything. When I asked to add something to a plain salad *apparently that was my only option* he did not even try to find a solution.
The food came out at very different times and we were not having dinner together, we were a group of 20 people and even if that's a large group I had dinner in other restaurants and it worked out. I have been working in restaurants for 11 years and a group of 20 shouldn't be a big deal. Food that the others had was good but not outstanding. I would recommend TO NOT visit this restaurant there are many better places with the same style and cuisine that serve way much better food and where service is pleasant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P0cca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S, Manager at Brauerei zur Malzmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear P0cca,

thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to our brewhouse.

We are deeply sorry that your visit felt short on your expectation and our usual very high Standards.

Please be informed that we take our guests feedback very serious and will discuss everything mentioned in detail with our department managers.

We hope that you will give us another try during your next Cologne visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

There are plenty of places to eat a sausage of drink Kölsch in Cologne.

Here it not only tastes great, but is also really traditional - you’ll get locally brewed beer served (refilled) nonstop until you put a coaster on top of your empty glass.
The waiters and seating arrangements also strongly contribute to the atmosphere - our waiter had a great sense of humor and we shared a table with another couple - which supports the relaxed and informal ambiance.

Make sure to book a table!

Thank EgorParienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brauerei zur Malzmuehle also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauerei zur Malzmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing