We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but major flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt
Ranked #198 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 23 December 2016

The Good: price & close to public transport. Bedding was comfortable and the elevators worked. Luggage service helpful to see the city.

The Bad: No hot water for the shower. Rooms booked together nowhere close to each other. Unreliable wifi. Hard to manage with stroller due to stairs before elevators.

Our arrival started out difficult when we discovered that the two rooms we booked were positioned as far apart as possible. 3 floors up in different buildings so you had to come down through the lobby to go between them. When questioned about this, they said that we checked in too late in the day & the closer rooms were already given out. Normally a hotel would allocate rooms in advance. I have never had this bad of placement. Down the hall or on the next floor maybe, but 3 floors and a trip across the lobby to go another 3 floors??

Even worse was there was no hot water in the showers between 9:00-11:00. In either room- both buildings- no hot water.

Christmas markets were amazing but the one closest to the hotel was very adult-themed. Families beware- walk towards Neumarkt instead of directly to Ubahn (or take main road (to the west) up towards Rudolphplatz Ubah/tram). Best market was probably Aldmarkt (south and a little east of the market at the cathedral). Most of them were really nice.

So if you're on a budget & want to be close to the city center (20 minute walk or so to main station/church/christmas market but only 5 minutes from Neumarkt which is nicely decorated), AND don't mind cold showers you'll be happy at this hotel.

Room Tip: They have triple rooms, which could sleep 4 if two small children. Rooms on right side (as you enter...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016

We stayed for 5 nights to visit the Christmas Markets and this hotel is perfectly located. The staff speak good English and are friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable but one lumpy pillow wasn't really enough. There was some mould in the shower and the towels were very thin so I would recommend taking your own. You will also need your own hairdryer as the one in the bathroom barely moved my thick hair! I also recommend ear plugs as there are regularly lorries unloading and loud drunk people walking past. We weren't expecting 5 star luxury and none of the issues mentioned would prevent us from staying again as it'll do for a few days of good access to Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank qwerty2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here whilst seeing the fabulous Christmas Markets. The hotel is located so 4 of the 6 markets are within walking distance or it's easy enough to get the tram if, like us, you've walked your legs off.

Staff were very friendly and very helpful, room was very clean although the bathroom had a few corners/ledges that were dustier/dirtier than they really should have been.

Breakfast is served in a lovely room in the basement and had a reasonable selection of cereals, rolls, meats and cheeses. Coffee was delicious.

All in all, for a budget hotel, I'd say it was great value for money and would recommend it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KeithmT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

You get what you pay for so don't expect 5 (or 4) star quality from this hotel but if you're looking for somewhere fairly cheap for a short break it is comfortable and in a great location, especially for all the Christmas markets.

The rooms seem to vary a bit in size but we had a fairly small "double" room which was actually made up of 2 single beds pushed together. The beds are very low down but comfortable and clean. There's a very powerful radiator which was nice when it got cold at night. Great shower too. It can get quite noisy at night, especially Friday and Saturday when you may get woken up by people in the street making their way home when the bars close!

Breakfast is ok, there's not a huge selection but it's enough to keep you going. They have a few cereals, cold meats, cheese, bread and fruit. In the way of hot food it's limited to scrambled eggs. If you're in Cologne around Christmas when the markets are open you won't be going hungry anyway!

As for the location, it's a few minutes walk from the closest U-Bahn stop (Rudolfplatz, where there is also a very nice Christmas market), about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area and Neumarkt (where there's another nice market) and from there it's only another 10 minutes on to the cathedral.

The staff were helpful and all speak excellent English. The reception desk were happy to call and book restaurant reservations for us. If I was back in Cologne for a short break I'd be happy to return to here.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Novum Hotel Leonet Koln Altstadt is very central. The staff are very helpful and they go out of their way to help you. The room was very clean. Breakfast buffet was very good, abundant and varied. It was a family holiday and we stayed in a triple room and I must say that we had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at this hotel. If I ever have the opportunity to visit Cologne again I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie Therese V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Hotel Weber
#91 of 261 in Cologne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
#183 of 261 in Cologne
267 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#212 of 261 in Cologne
271 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#122 of 261 in Cologne
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt

Address: Rubensstr. 33, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Leonet Hotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: RM246 - RM2,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Leonet located directly in the center of Cologne and offers from here is the ideal starting point for activities in the private and corporate sector. The central Novum Hotel, in the heart of Cologne, offer overnight stays at attractive prices in order to know one of the most beautiful cities in Germany closer. Our rooms feature a tasteful, practical, yet still modern. Our free wireless Internet access for extra comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonet Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing