We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
Ranked #41 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

My friend and I spent two nights at this hotel.
1.-The entire staff from Reception to the Dining area were all friendly.
2.-The rooms are small, however very clean. We just needed a place to sleep and relax as our activites were away from the hotel and our Sports Tournament Coordinator recommended thishotel.
3.-The pool area had the following: Unisex Sauna with Cooling room, small cardio gym, step-ups and bicycles. small swimmimg pool with lounge chairs, showers and lockers and toilet facilities. Very clean and well maintained. They even have plastic overshoe covers if required to go into the pool area for those not wanting to swim.
4.-The dining area for the breakfast buffet is excellent offering a variety of different local freshly baked German bread and rolls (brotchen), many assortment of cheese and cold cuts, butter and margirine, variety of marmelades. Hot food area, baco, sausages, boiled and scrambled eggs to include hot cakes (pan cakes) and Maple syrup. Cold Orange juice and grapefruit despensers available, buffet area with variety of Jogurt, cottage cheese, cereals and oats. Coffee, capuchino despenser available. All breakfast tables had a sealed Thermos pitcher of freshly made coffee and a small container of creme and variety of sugar. Fresh fruit is also available.
5. Ask for towels at the reception if you decide to use the pool or Sauna.
6.-Parking cost 8€ per night, plenty of spaces available.
7.-Public Underground Transportation available with 3 minutes from the hotel.
8.-If you get a room close to the road proximity, you will hear vehicles at night if you decide to sleep with open windows. Main road from hotel is about 20 meters away,.
9.-Senior citizen and disabled people friendly environment. Elevators to all floors.
10.-If you have pets, inquire before booking- hotel surrounding vicinity where dogs or Feline pets can be walked.

Thefastpitcher Trip Advisor for Trip Advisor.




Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik W, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Tony L,

thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you here again in the future.

Kind regards,

Henrik Waldfried
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Koeln West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel next to the Jameson Distillery. Complimentary mini bar. Nice bathroom. Comfortable bed. Decent little bar in lobby (empty my stay) but looks nice. Nothing much stands out here just a normal solid place to stay kind of not in the middle of any of the draws of Cologne

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank ryoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik W, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear ryoneill,

thank you very much for your review.

I hope to see you again here anytime soon.

Kindest regards from Cologne,

Henrik Waldfried
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel and is close to many places, i was with the car so it was very good accessible
Room was clean and reception very friendly
I hate that I had a room near the elevator so it was loud and also the fact that room service just went to my room at 08:30 to ask if they can clean up!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank TheWorldsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik W, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear TheWorldsTraveller,

thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. I will make sure to forward your warm words to my reception team.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the cleaning staff. Please feel free to use the 'do not disturb' sign in your room to prevent this case.

I hope to welcome you back in our hotel anytime in the future.

Kind regards,

Henrik Waldfried
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Just off the motorway. No frills, clean and fresh. Double glazing not brilliant but not too disturbed by traffic noise.
Dinner was a bit problematic just two, clearly overworked, waitresses who struggled to cope with hotel diners and our party of 27 who had a set meal so it took an hour and a half between being seated and getting dessert, no opportunity to order extra drinks or coffees.
That said, the buffet breakfast was excellent, with attentive service and the usual Mercure selection with something to suit all preferences.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Everson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Everson,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback. I apologize that you have not been 100% satisfied with the service in our Restaurant, due to illnesses we have been slightly understaffed. Please let me ensure you that this is not the standard of our hotel.

I hope to welcome you back here anytime soon.

Kindest regards,

Bart Vaessen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

The rooms are small;in rooms no minibar,no water (only mineral water). Far away to centre,by car 20 minutes(if there is no traffic;you can be lucky and 15 minutes). The cafe which is in the garden close at 22.00 pm. Breakfast is OK,but no more choices. Last,during the fair hotel price is most expensive like all Koln hotels.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kubra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Kubra,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We do not advertise the minibars in our standard rooms. Next time why don't you book a superior or privilege room. In these rooms the minibar is included in the room rate.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Novotel Koeln City
#35 of 261 in Cologne
1,312 reviews
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#68 of 261 in Cologne
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln West

Address: Horbeller Str. 1, 50858 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#25 Family Hotel in Cologne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: RM311 - RM1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln West 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our comfortable 4-star Mercure Hotel Koln West in the west of Cologne. It has great transport links and 191 rooms offering free WIFI and high-speed DSL. Enjoy our leisure facilities with pool and sauna. Our spacious events area offers conference rooms - some accessible by vehicle - and optional outside spaces, and can be put to many uses. It is 5.6 Miles to the main train station and 15.5 Miles to Cologne/Bonn airport. Reach us by car via the nearby A1 and A4 highways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln West
Mercure Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing