We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$513
US$436
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$329
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$322
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$118
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$328
US$303
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$390
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
203
218
37
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
218
37
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationminute walkwindows closedextra pillowscooked breakfastcold meatsrooms were very cleans bahni highly recommend this hotelnice hotelexcellent breakfastfour nightsmain shoppingpleasant stayyogurtcologne cathedralhansaring
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I was on the 6th floor, the room was comfy and everything worked.
* note that there is only one tiny elevator, some days it is faster to walk up and down *

The cleaning staff did a decent job but certainly didn't go above and beyond, there were several noticeable items missed daily.

It was nice and quiet, you would hear the occasional siren but that was it, I had a great sleep every night.

The breakfast (included) was a typical European breakfast with sliced meats etc. It was tasty but after 4 or 5 days became mundane. They NEVER changed anything about it.
The one same grumpy waiter was there every day and worked at one speed (slow) and was great at ignoring people calling for him or asking questions. One morning there were no juices, he was asked by several people but never bothered bringing them out.

The front desk staff were extremely unfriendly, upon arrival I asked about a grocery store and he sent me on a wild goose chase and it turned out that there was one basically kitty corner to the hotel and 100 yards away.

Do not expect anyone to say good morning, or thank you

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice and quiet
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oldtiredandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Staff go the extra mile. Really impressed with this hotel and have stayed there time and time again.
The location is perfect if you wish to be around the train station and easy commute to the Exhibition Hall Messr. The breakfast would be one of the best in Cologne and the staff are on hand in the morning to provide excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank greg_bain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We were a family of 5 adults and liked the location and overall hotel. It is a short walk for the train station and Cologne cathedral and the breakfast food and service were very good. The staff were very helpful and we were able to access other transportation sources nearby. We did not remember that in Europe they give you body gel and not necessarily any shampoo. The hotel was quiet and the price was very fair. They did a great job of coordinating our visit as I made the reservations very far in advance. Additionally, they did a nice job decorating for Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the hotel in late December. To start with the positives, the hotel is in a good location - walking distance from the centre of Cologne but far enough out that it's quiet. The breakfast is excellent, including freshly baked bread, a wide selection of meats & cheese and fresh fruit & yogurts.

However, we booked a double hotel room and were disappointed to be allocated a twin, with the incredebly rude receptionist refusing to move us and insisting that double and twin are "the same". In addition, the beds were incredibly hard, the pillows far too soft and the room was overly warm, which made for a terrible night's sleep. We certainly wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blinkered1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel was in a good location. It has a nice lobby and more German feel than some of the chain hotels. The room was basic with few amenities. The pull out bed was not comfortable. The staff was pleasant but not enthusiastic. Compared to other budget hotels IMHO this hotel could improve.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Irishlassy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews