We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, but main dish was below the level”
Review of Hanse-Stube

Hanse-Stube
Ranked #18 of 2,592 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Nord
Reviewed 19 January 2018

I had parsley cream soup, which was delicious. I liked my Riesling too and the service there is really excellent. The main dish let them down. Saibling (char) was too salty and erbse (peas) were heavily overcooked. Taking their price level into account, this is unforgivable. :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ingvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Manager at Hanse-Stube, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear ingvar,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hanse Stube for your dining experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the parsley cream soup and the Riesling and that our service team did everything to ensure your comfort. We do however regret that the main dish was not to your liking and have shared your feedback with the entire kitchen team.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to fully convince you of our quality.

With kind regards

Your Hanse Stube team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

While on Vacation to cologne from our birthplace, Bangkok, we were looking for the different facades of the foreign cuisine. Being from far away, we have only heard good from the Excelsior Hotel and its corresponding Restaurants. On arrival, we were greeted by the friendly doorman who has taken our car keys and we were delighted that this was taken care of for us. After we found the way into the restaurant itself (felt like a labyrinth. SAD!) we were seated in a comfortable setting with beautiful ambience. The waiters were quick to respond and handed us the menu immediately. The choice of food was es expected limited and overpriced. A bottle of water goes for 9.80€ (around 380 BAHT!!!!!). The waiter however informed us that the water, “Gerolsteiner” was sourced directly in the city of cologne, from the river Rhine. Very Tasty! Food was delivered quickly. Did make up for atrocious prices. Suddenly, we felt nauseous. The food seems to have been too well for our foreign stomachs. We felt like this for another 3 days. Afterwards we couldn’t wait to travel back to germany to get the same experience again. The Choccy Pralines were too choccy tho....

Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Manager at Hanse-Stube, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Robin,

Thank you very much for dining at the Hanse Stube and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you were greeted by our friendly doorman and seated in a comfortable setting with beautiful ambiance. We do regret that you felt that our choice of food is limited and overpriced.
Please do apologies that you were not given the correct information about our water. Our mineral water is one of Germany's leading mineral water and is sourced in Gerolstein in the Eifel mountains. The water gets its distinct taste from the special geological conditions at its source.
We can only imagine that your foreign stomachs were slightly confused being used to Thai food. As of course it is very different to German cuisine. We take it that after all you enjoyed the experience at the Hanse Stube as you mentioned that you can not wait to travel back to Germany.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

With best regards

Your Hanse Stube team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

we have no complaints about the food ,which was very good,although it took one and a half hours until our main course arrived.! However we ordered a bottle of wine and when the waiter returned he said he only had half bottles and we said we would have 2 of those.So,he opened one ,poured our wine and took the bottle away to an area where it was placed in a cooler.I tasted it and thought it tasted old and stale.When we EVENTUALLY got him to return and asked to see the bottle it was 5.years old ! ( for a wine that should be served fresh ) .I imagine that they had failed to sell the half bottles and thats why they had them and they were too old.I explained this to him ,at which stage he didnt seem to understand what I meant>I asked him if he was a waiter or a sommelier and he just left the bottle on the table and walked away. Later a lady waitress came over and did agree with me it was stale and didnt charge us for it ( we had some separate glasses instead) but it was not the treatment we expected from a restaurant of this quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Manager at Hanse-Stube, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear patbrownett,

Thank you for visiting the Hanse Stube and for sharing our feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food. However we are very concerned about your experience during the wine service. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any confusion this has caused. Rest assured that this is most definitely not what one can expect when dining at the Hanse Stube. We have spoken to the entire team to ensure that this will not happen again. Furthermore have we reviewed our wine list to ensure that the wines that are in the list are in stock to avoid disappointment by our guests.
We do however hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to full convince you of our excellent service.

With warm regards

Your Hanse Stube team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent!! Service was good but not fully up to expectations. Ambience is very nice. An overall very nice experience.

2  Thank Borg2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Manager at Hanse-Stube, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Borg2400,

Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the food however are slightly concerned that we were not able to meet your expectations in regards to the service.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to fully convince you of our high standard of quality and service.

With warm regards

Your Hanse Stube Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Highest quality food and very good service while being a civilized environment. We organized a family reunion with all different generations from grand parents to youngsters and all of them had a great time and the waiters were adaptable to all needs.

Very well done!

1  Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Manager at Hanse-Stube, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear sandra m,

Thank you for choosing the Hanse Stube for your family reunion and for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. What a great motivation for our entire team.
We do look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With warm regards

Your Hanse Stube Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanse-Stube also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Hanse-Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing