We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Arkadia
Nearby Hotels
US$92
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$133
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$77
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$104
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Koeln Messe(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$65
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
1
13
12
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
13
12
6
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

I booked this before reading reviews and was anxious about what I would find. Pleasantly surprised room was comfy, spotless, up 3 flights of stairs which were no problem at all.

It is 5 minutes away from train station (not tram). Easy to access other areas of Cologne. Delicious Italian restaurant 800 metres from check in hotel. Reception pleasant and polite. Nice bar in this hotel - 2 minutes from Arkadia.

Breakfast was cold buffet, plenty there. Checked often when we were there.

Would definitely recommend for a short stay.

Only down side, Internet would not connect, but as it was a holiday it was not a problem and I did not pursue.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MariaW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Arkadia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear MariaW7, thank you very much for your kind review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be your hosts again. Sincerely, Centro Hotel Arkadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel was good and clean, comfortable for our stay.
It is about 5 tram stops away from city centre which is ok, tram comes all the time we had no issues finding our way.
There is a Lidl close by for shopping needs.
The shower spills a lot of water out of glass, extremely wet and slippery when you have finished, Bed was comfortable. The area is pretty quiet, almost too quiet, we didn't really find anything worth looking at close by.
I'm not sure where the extremely loud bells came from but they woke us every morning, quite early. They also went off in the afternoons.
Lots of stairs... no lifts.
Breakfast was great, probably the highlight of our stay :)

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zandia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Arkadia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear MC_Travellers16, thank you very much for your kind review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be your hosts again. Sincerely, Centro Hotel Arkadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Small rooms, clean. The hotel is not in the center. It is on the opposite side of the Rhine if you get off at Cologne HBF. Need to access it by tram - at least 4 to 5 tram stations away. The breakfast is decent. The internet is intermittent. Not the best location as it is quite far from the Dom, Huemarkt and Rhinebanks. The check in is at Hotel Ayun - other end of street. Collect the keycard there and walk back to ur hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank VivekVatsyayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Arkadia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear VivekVatsyayan, thank you very much for your kind review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be your hosts again. Sincerely, Centro Hotel Arkadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

I want to get something off my chest before anything else. This hotel wins hands down the weirdest and most awkward bathroom configuration ever.

There is no subtle way to put it, everyone staying in this room will see, hear and smell the most fundamental act of hygiene you will do.

Both the bathroom and toilet are separated from the rest of your accommodation by nothing more than a pair of curtains. Which only covers halfway.

So yes I am not kidding about the seeing, hearing and smelling part. Especially since the ventilation fan does not even run and you can't open the windows.

The hotel people have gone so far to make the room so comfortably huge, why did they stop at making proper doors in it? I fail to understand the logic behind this interior design. Is it fetish? Is it cultural?

I do not dare to imagine how many couples, families and business associates have been coerced into this intimacy in the past because nowhere in the website photos has this important fact been represented.

At least they should be honest about it, I think. Maybe there are people who don't mind this level of coexistence.

If you come alone, I guess it doesn't matter all that much other than the fact that your bathroom aftermath joins you in bed. But other than that, it would be a very embarrassing experience for all.

That aside, the breakfast buffet is great. It worked well for me that no ham salami was served.

Location is in a residential neighborhood which is a little dark at night (though completely safe as I walked back from town at 1am without being robbed).

Checking in was a bit troublesome. Had to walk to the other branch of the same hotel (the 'more expensive sibling') and the same with checkout.

No elevators inside. The staircase is quite steep and if you're unlucky enough to get my room at the attick and you come with a luggage, tough luck.

I liked the bathroom though. Plenty of shower gel to go by unlike most other hotels that put it all in small bottles.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Haz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Arkadia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Haz M., thank you for your contributions and your constructive criticism. We regret that not much enjoyed your stay with us. For the inconvenience we apologize. Sincerely, your Centro Hotel Arkadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The hotel room was spotlessly clean on all levels & you could adjust the heating to your liking, which is a bonus! For everyone's choice the breakfast buffet had a good selection!
Wifi was a little contrary at times,however, not too much of a problem when not an "Internet junkie"
The hotel manager mentioned the lift was broken,as a joke on checking out I told him to get his lift mended,even though there isn't one! (^_-)
The hotel is situated roughly 10 minutes from the city centre which can be reached very easily by tram every 5 minutes during the day and then a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heavenz_Eyesz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Arkadia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be your hosts again. Sincerely, Centro Hotel Group Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews