We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
121
197
84
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
197
84
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main railway station dortmund city smack bang good size hotel entrance would stay here again recommend this hotel great breakfast buffet long weekend restaurants and bars wi fi clean rooms on foot minute walk excellent location football stadium centre
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel has got a great location, being smack bang in the centre of Dortmund, walking distance to the shopping mall and bars and restaurants. Only about 10 minutes walk from the main train station, and a tram stop opposite.
Now, the rooms are TINY though! The bed pretty much fills the whole space, there's a soft seat and a desk, and with all that you can hardly turn. Same goes for the bathroom. If you need some space, just stand in the little hallway which connects the two, that's the biggest space. It's also where your wardrobe is.
But of course, you're not there to stay in the room but to explore the city. And for this the big breakfast buffet will set you up! It's a great typical german spread with fresh breadrolls, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, muesli etc etc.
So if you're in town for a couple of days for businesses or to be out and about, I can recommend this hotel for its location and breakfast :)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sofia378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The hotel is located right in the city centre a 5 minute walk from the main square in the city and a few minutes longer to the trainstation. The hotel was very quiet of a night but if you are in a room close to the kitchen it gets quite loud of a morning when they are setting up breakfast. The hotel is very expensive and I didnt think it provided value for money but if you want to stay in Dortmund it is probably one of the better options.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew23LFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed two nights at this hotel for business reasons. The hotel is very closely situated to the city center of Dortmund. After less than 5 min. I stayed in the middle of restaurants and shopping venues. The hotel is absolutely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was quite big and the airconditioning was doing its job well (33 degrees outside). The breakfast buffet was breathtaking good! A wide and fresh range to choose of. To be really recommended to eat here. I would definitely stay again - also on private travels. Thanks for a very good service to the whole hotel team!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Travel_Mike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Situated on 3rd floor with lift access, parking nearby, checkin easy and access to rooms. Close to city centre with restaurants and bars easy walking distance. Rooms clean and well decorated tea/ coffee making facilities. Breakfast good.Easy check out.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Drab grey anonimous business hotel with no restaurant drinks in machine. Appaling entrance from street : you wait for the lift to reception in a sea of cigarette butts, stale smoke, dirty glass. Only 1 lift out of 2 works. Serously scary place. I would avoid at any cost.
Oh, and you need to actually write a mail to the hotel justifying your business trip to avoid city tax.
Mercure never the best , this is right at the bottom.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureDortmundCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Anthony B,

thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your concerns here with the tripadvisor community.
I am sorry, it seems like we had no chance to talk about your concerns during your stay here, I could have helped you a lot better on site.
We are a hotel with breakfast only, therefore we can not offer other restaurant services except for breakfast and drinks at our lobby bar.
I can assure you that my team is very happy for all our guests that the second elevator is back at work from remanufacturing. Now we can offer our standard service level with two elevators, both of them key card controlled for guests security.

We wish you a save and healthy travel in the future. We would appreciate to have you as our guest again and convince you with my teams services and our product standards.

Mercure Dortmund City & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews