We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen(Essen)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Welcome Hotel Essen(Essen)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/08
US$97
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
GHOTEL hotel & living Essen(Essen)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
3
12
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Excellent service from (presumably) Frau Hoffmann. Hotel is in an excellent location 5 mins walk from the Rüttenscheider Stern U-Bahn. Breakfast was well above average. Very good value for money. I think the hotel only had 2 guests at the time, so was super quiet. Charging 3 euros a day extra for wifi is silly, much better to include it. I booked the most basic single room, but got a double with ensuite so I was pleased. Only weird thing was finding the previous occupants hairy soap in the bathroom, but overall cleanliness was good.
There are supermarkets and several places to eat on Rüttenscheider Strasse if you turn left / south and walk 7 to 10 mins. The Hauptbahnhof is only minutes away and has a LIDL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liveandletlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Room was clean, comfortable and relatively spacious. Good generous breakfast with friendly and helpful service. B&B itself is nicely positioned for travel around the region, close to trams and U Bahn but we tended to walk the 20 mins or so to the main station which is directly down a long straight road & very easy to find. Restaurants close by offerring a variety of cuisines.

Positives - clean and quiet room. Friendly service.
Negatives - entrance to B&B a bit awkward due to shared entry with bar next door. Dawn chorus of keys in locks from rooms on the same floor. Room too light for my liking but that's why I take eyeshades!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightsleeper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The Hotel Hoffman is a great place to stay. The owners were friendly and they went the extra mile to ensure I found the place and that my stay was pleasant indeed. Even though I stayed for 1 night, I found the place central as there is a U-Bahn station nearby and several eating places around.

Though it is about 15 minutes to the town centre, it is best to take the tram.

The breakfast was good, the room was clean. It is indeed value for money.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. Thanks Hotel Hoffman!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Hoffmann in Essen. The hotel is conveniently located near public transportation with several grocery stores and other amenities nearby. You can walk from the train station, but we recommend not trying it in the pouring rain!

The entrance to the hotel is connected to a bar/restaurant downstairs, so it's a bit tricky to figure out upon arrival. Once you get in you go up two flights of stairs and ring a bell for service. We had a double room with a newly renovated washroom. The room was clean, but could also use some updating. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was generous.

One of the more appealing aspects of our stay was the jovial demeanor of the male proprietor (we've forgotten his name).

Overall, the Hotel Hoffmann is a good choice for a short stay in Essen, especially for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews