We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Hoffmann

Hotel Hoffmann
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hoffmann
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Stayed one night while visiting an exhibition at the Messe nearby. It's basic but clean, comfortable and in my experience quiet, with a great shower and excellent breakfast.

The owners were very friendly and I was able to check in a little later than normal. They also spoke English which helped!

There is no lift which may be a problem for some but not for me as I was only there one night with one small bag. The location was excellent - halfway between the town centre and the Messe and a short walk from both. Nice, trendyish area with nice looking bars and restaurants, and very close to the metro stop.

My wifi worked fine. For a basic hotel I have no complaints. Not as cheap as you might expect but it was a popular time to go so that may have affected it.

Room Tip: The entrance is a little unobtrusive as it's next to a bar/restaurant. There's a bell to rin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this small, family run hotel for 4 days and were very pleased with our choice. The facilities are basic but comfortable and very clean. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly, efficient and gave good advice. The hotel is close to a local shopping centre and just a short walk from an underground station where it's only 2 stops from the centre. It is also not far from the Messe exhibition centre.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I payed 60 € for a clean room 2 staions away from the main station. Went there because all big hotels where sold out due to an exhibition. The owners were very nice and kind .the rooms quite comfortable

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a basic hotel between the centre of Essen and the Exhibition Centre, through a door to the side of a bar. It seems to be run by it's owners who live on the first floor.
They are very cheerful and helpful and will recommend local places to eat and drink. I would personally recommend a typical German Bar/Restaurant, turn left and walk down the hill about a 1/4 of a mile on the left in a small square. Very Good.
Rooms are basic and very clean but the beds a bit low and hard.
Very good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Excellent service from (presumably) Frau Hoffmann. Hotel is in an excellent location 5 mins walk from the Rüttenscheider Stern U-Bahn. Breakfast was well above average. Very good value for money. I think the hotel only had 2 guests at the time, so was super quiet. Charging 3 euros a day extra for wifi is silly, much better to include it. I booked the most basic single room, but got a double with ensuite so I was pleased. Only weird thing was finding the previous occupants hairy soap in the bathroom, but overall cleanliness was good.
There are supermarkets and several places to eat on Rüttenscheider Strasse if you turn left / south and walk 7 to 10 mins. The Hauptbahnhof is only minutes away and has a LIDL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liveandletlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Rüttenscheid
Rheinischer Hof
Rheinischer Hof
#12 of 69 in Essen
77 reviews
Rüttenscheid
Best Western Hotel Ypsilon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Rüttenscheid
Hotel an der Gruga
Hotel an der Gruga
#20 of 69 in Essen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoffmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoffmann

Address: Hedwigstr. 6, 45130 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Rüttenscheid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: RM 260 - RM 390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoffmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hoffmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing