We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Szigetszentmiklos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Am Stiftswingert
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

No wifi connection at all. Tried several times but almost always disconnect or no good connection. When i got back to my room the heating was always turned off and it was very cold there. I also found slippers in my room when i came home which did not belong to me... I think the cleaning lady left it there... I think in a hotel in germany such things should not happen. I am very unsatisfied of the service. The only good thing was that the room was clean but nonetheless i do not recommend the hotel it all.

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Péter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Fair price for nice and clean rooms not far from the city center. The old man at the registration desk hardly speaks English, but the lady the next day was really helpful. Breakfast was standard. Wifi connection was good and free :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel is reasonably near the city centre which is easily accessible by car, local busses (that stops opposite the hotel) and by foot if you are up for it.

Reception was very friendly, efficient and helpful (especially on local knowledge). It is located on the corner of the street with its own parking.

We had room 109 ( double) - it was nice and large and bright. Twin beds with duvets and a big down pillow. It was very comfrotable. It had a wardrobe, desk, table with 3 chairs, small sofa, shelf for your case, hair drier, fan and a fridge. TV was old style but had a satellite box. The room has fantastic double glazing that kept out street noise. The electric blinds were fantastic "blackouts"!

Shower room/ toilet bright, spacious and came supplied with toiletries.

Just up the road from the hotel is a booze/supermarket, then a bakery cafe.

The restaurant San Marco (Italian) occupies the side of the hotel on the ground floor. Food is OK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Although not in the city center, this hotel is a good option in Mainz. It's a short drive to the city center, and maybe only a 20 minute walk. It's also just a short walk to the Roman theater ruins. Our room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable, the wi-fi was good and the price was reasonable. Breakfast was okay, pretty standard for Germany- meats, bread, cheese, cereal, juice, etc. The receptionist upon checkout was super friendly and helpful. There's a market just next door which is very convenient, and the room has a mini-fridge to keep a few things cold. If I were traveling to Mainz again I would probably look for a place downtown, but I'd really have no problems staying at the Stiftswingert again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoOr_man73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is not far from the Mainz city center as the crow flies; but buses do not take straight lines and thus staying in this hotel implies additional travel time of about 15 minutes relative to other options. (Buses, however, stop just across the street.) But if places downtown are full, this hotel is an obvious alternative. Single rooms are very small, and bathrooms in them even more so, but the staff is very friendly and the breakfast very decent. There is a grocery a stone's throw away and an Italian restaurant within the same building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
1.2 km away
INNdependence Hotel
INNdependence Hotel
#5 of 41 in Mainz
96 reviews
2.5 km away
Mainzer Hof Hotel
Mainzer Hof Hotel
#35 of 41 in Mainz
101 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
689 reviews
2.1 km away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
237 reviews
0.7 km away
Favorite Parkhotel
Favorite Parkhotel
#11 of 41 in Mainz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stiftswingert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stiftswingert

Address: Am Stiftswingert 4, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: RM342 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Stiftswingert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stiftswingert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing