We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing interiors”

Restaurante Cafe Royalty
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Restaurante Cafe Royalty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 662 Restaurants in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The only great historical romantic cafe preserved in Andalucia and possibly throughout Spain. Its rich paintings of renowned artists such as Felipe Abarzuza, exquisite handcrafted woodwork and original plaster covered with fine gold leaf, near the furnishings of the early twentieth century, not indifferent to the visitor.The Cadiz entrepreneur Gomez Doree opened in 1912, celebrating the centenary of the Cortes of Cadiz in 1812. With its sumptuous decor, exquisite products, its careful and concerts every night, it quickly becomes coffee most visited of the city. Writers, intellectuals, politicians, musicians and artists make coffee a space with a colorful and unique. He attended such illustrious international figures as the great composer Manuel de Falla Cadiz, who delighted the audience with their concerts. In the thirties, on the eve of the Spanish Civil War, Cafe Royalty decides to close its doors. Already in the postwar forties, it becomes warehouse and soon after bazar, beginning its decline and being forgotten for the next seven decades. In 2008, the family of Martin Serna decide to purchase the property and restore it. After a thorough investigation, brings together a group of artists and restaurateurs, employing the same techniques and materials that were used in the early twentieth century. They perform a long process of restoration, always being faithful to history and taking care of every detail of the original decoration 1912.
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Extremely beautiful cafe in the centre of Cádiz. Great to have a coffee break and relax for a while. The picatostes gaditianos were a wonderful surprise and a must try!

Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medyarte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Cafe Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear costumer,

Very thanks for your nice comment. We hope you can come back soon. We will be happy to receive you.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We have been to Royalty before and eaten from their tapas menu but last month we chose the fixed three course dinner with the wine flight. We couldn't quite believe we'd have a wine flight for just 7 euros. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was beautifully presented with courteous, efficient and friendly service. Whilst the surrounding are beautiful we didn't find the staff pompous or stuffy which for us made the dining experience relaxed and enjoyable and fabulous value for money.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medyarte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Cafe Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear costumer,

Very thanks for your nice comment. We hope you can come back soon. We will be happy to receive you.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

This was our last full day on holiday in Spain and we wanted a good meal to finish our fortnight travelling around Andalucía. We were told in all the guide books that El Faro is the best place for Tapas in Cádiz but I would strongly suggest that Cafe Royalty is the best restaurant for quality, well presented food, in great surroundings and served by extremely polite, friendly and attentive staff. You will pay a little more for this but it is worth it. We opted for a set meal for two which had 4 courses (€38pp) adding wine and sherry. The full tasting option of 5 courses (smaller size portions but still good) came with wine or sherry to go with each course. We ate fish pate, goats cheese, asparagus soup, steak and an incredible dessert - all Spanish style.

Our waitress was charming, spoke good English and staged each course perfectly.

It was our best meal of our two weeks and we have been to some great places to eat. Total price for 4 courses and a bottle of wine was €95.

I booked ahead using TripAdvisor and If you get the chance in Cádiz this place is worth the little extra - highly recommended!

Thank Geord1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medyarte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Cafe Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear costumer,

Very thanks for your nice comment. We hope you can come back soon. We will be happy to receive you.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is absolutely beautiful. The staff are so very helpful and friendly.
The food is exquisite. It is very much worth the money.

Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medyarte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Cafe Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear costumer,

Very thanks for your nice comment. We hope you can come back soon. We will be happy to receive you.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Although remodeled on the original cafe it is totally authentic and reminds me of the cafes in Vienna.

Thank cunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medyarte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Cafe Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear costumer,

Very thanks for your nice comment. We hope you can come back soon. We will be happy to receive you.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Cafe Royalty also viewed

Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Restaurante Cafe Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing