We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian restaurant for tourists who don't like spices.”
Review of Mumbai Masala

Mumbai Masala
Ranked #58 of 543 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$35
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff, proffesionals. But the food was not made for indian food lovers. Just a litte spices and no pepers wat so ever. Everything but a original indian kitchen. To much influence from spanish kitchen. If was certaily a wow feeling.

Thank MEHRAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Party of 8 had a great meal with the 4 different lamb dishes being particularly good. Really good service and well priced.

Thank jthomas1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Indian meals are a favourite of ours and we’ve eaten at many of the top UK curry houses. I have to say that this is up with the best of them. Very warm welcome & great service, delicious fresh Indian food (we had the garlic chilli chicken (very tastee!) chicken tikka masala, the assorted platter, saag aloo rice, naan, etc all cooked to perfection and totally delicious! All served with very nice wine & beer! We also got a free aperitif each & free poppadoms & chutneys etc. Would definitely recommend if you’re visiting Estepona! Top curry house! ‍♂️

1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We have just returned from Estepona and while we were there we spent an evening at the Mumbai Masala. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter who stated the restaurant was the best in the area cooking everything to our liking. It sounded great. We ordered our meal, to our liking, but unfortunately it was one of the worst Indian meals I have ever experienced. No flavour, bland, no spice, unfortunately very poor. The staff and atmosphere is exceptional. The restaurant is right on the harbour front with lovely views and the staff very accommodating but, the meal let the whole experience down. We will not return to this restaurant and if you go be very specific about what flavour and how spicy you want it. We are all experienced India meal eaters, coming from Birmingham, and all agreed it was not of good quality. Disappointing as it’s a lovely venue.

1  Thank pjhelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me_89, Public Relations Manager at Mumbai Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,
at first, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write such a long review on us, we are always trying to improve our service.
About your disappointment, we are not pleased to hear this, although slightly confused. As far as we can remember you ordered a Chicken tikka masala a very mild and soft tasting dish, when asked how the meal was going, something we always do DURING the meal, there were no complaints. Only once finished you complained to the waiter about the lack of spiciness.. and we'd like to remind you that the dish you complained about was not charged for even if you finished the dish.
As you can understand everybody likes different levels of spice therefor our menu is presented with 5 levels of spiciness and we ask while taking the order the level for each customer.
We would have appreciated if you would have said it on time when still something could have been done about it.

kind regards
Mumbai Masala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

This is our 2nd visit to Estepona and on both holidays we've had a meal here. Is by far the best Indian restaurant we've ever eaten at at home or abroad. Value for money is amazing and the quality of food is superb. Nothing is ever too much trouble and allspeak excellent English !

When we move here will be our Friday night meal weekly.

Thank you Mumbai Masala for a truly amazing meal.

2  Thank Claire H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mumbai Masala also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Mumbai Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing