We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

Restaurante Taberna Miguel
Ranked #44 of 507 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here after recommendation from friends. Slightly cautious after reading some reviews but unfounded. Served by many wAiters but one constant throughout who provided outstanding service and brought it all together - he looked out for us and made the evening special. Great food, great wine, slightly sporadic service but just go with the flow - relax. Frites red mullet and anchovies to start recommended. Suckling pig amazing. Turbot lovely. Apple tart was the best desert I can remember having anywhere. Will be back.

Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00GERENCIA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Taberna Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your rating , We wait for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cold old potatos called sauté on the menu but never been sautéed before, cold old chips, dry fish, old bread and well overpriced.
Not much else to say really apart of one big disappointment.
Avoid as much as you can.

2  Thank Bela2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00GERENCIA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Taberna Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your rating
We feel that this has been their appreciation, we never serve low quality products and even less the bread they serve us daily.
Please take note of your complaint and we apologize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So we chose this restaurant because we had popped in the day before and had a pleasant drink at the bar with lovely service. WHAT A MISTAKE. DO NOT GO HERE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

We arrived and were shown to a table by a fairly brusque waiter, but the table was nice so we started to look at the menu. We ordered an aperitif and when the waiter came back asked for some advice. He recommended calamari to start, which we said we didn't want that so settled on a soup and gambas pilpil. We said we would like fresh fish, but filleted for our main. He recommended a mix fish for two. I asked if it was pan fried and he said yes.

Before we were halfway through our aperitif our starters arrived very quickly, but were nice. We had just poured a glass each from our bottle of Albarino wine, and before my partner had finished his starter a different waiter tried to take the plates away so we advised we were still eating. The second we finished, our plates were whipped away and a large plate of deep fried and battered fish and squid/calamari arrived - literally straight away. This came with nothing else so we had to request chips.

This was nothing like what we said we wanted - as the menu provided no description we had to rely on the advice of the waiter. We had already said we didn't want calamari and yet over half the plate was calamari and squid. The fish that was there was battered and deep fried with no indication what fish it was supposed to be.

We were so disappointed, we started to eat but just didn't like it and it wasn't at all what we described that we were looking for. To be honest it tasted greasy and covered in batter - I couldn't taste the fish at all, and laced with vinegar. We called our waiter over, who call the original brusque waiter after much delay. We explained that we didn't want it, he was very rude indeed. He whipped it away, both waiters made us feel extremely uncomfortable.

I think life is too short to spend time somewhere where people are being rude to you, so we thought pay for the starters, aperitif and the bottle of wine that we had hardly touched and move on. But we were told that we had to pay for the main course even though we sent it back. I asked to see the person in charge.

After a further lengthy delay a lady I assume to be the owner arrived at the table. I explained the whole situation and she said that the main course was correct and it is what it is we have to pay for it. I said we hardly ate any of it and sent it back! I said we would pay for everything else but not the main course which we sent back.

At this point something truly unbelievable happened - she said if we didn't pay for the main course she would call the police and they would arrest us!

Can you imagine somebody in charge of a restaurant more interested in the 28 euros for this main course than our poor advice and disappointing experience that we were clearly having. The bill without this main was already 50 euros and we were willing to pay that despite the overall experience being absolutely horrible.

After some debate she shouted at us that we either pay the full bill or the police would be there. We genuinely couldn't believe it - it was truly awful. The most horrible experience and the most unpleasant person I have ever come across. What point was she trying to prove?

So she got her 28 euros, on top of the 50 euros. We were on holiday and don't want to be explaining to police what had happened and losing more of our evening, and we went somewhere lovely for our main course (everywhere else we went to in Estepona was absolutely amazing).

I can't describe what an awful experience this was, please do not go to this restaurant and give this lady your money - there are so many friendly, amazing restaurants nearby that are so much better!

She got our 28 euro with her threats, and also 3/4 of a bottle of albarino which we left, maybe she feels like she won. We didn't want a battle, we just wanted a nice meal out with some advice on what to choose, I hope this review helps others make the right decision on where to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00GERENCIA, Propietario at Restaurante Taberna Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and with other clients.The "fritura malagueña" is a deep fried fish mix with several type of fish among them squids. We can understand that the waiter didn't instruct the cook not to include squids in your "fritura". Beside that, the "fritura" NEVER has vinegar, is fish with a soft tempura.
Our rules are, that if the customer has consumed, as is the case, much more than half of the plate must be paid, not because the dish is not well done, but because the dish does not like to the client.
Our rule to call the police is the last one when someone does not want to pay the bill, it is an unpleasant situation for everyone.
We regret of this situation as much as you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went to Estepona for a mid day meal -- one of the few days there was sun during our trip. We opted to sit outside undercover, and had a chance to people watch. We had a lovely meal of fish paella, with a salad course to start. Nice, attentive service, which did not rush us along, and a very pleasant atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00GERENCIA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Taberna Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks you for your rating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Everyone we take here loves it, a great range of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes with a Spanish touch. Lovely patio for summer time as well.

Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00GERENCIA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Taberna Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your rating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Taberna Miguel also viewed

 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Taberna Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing