We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larios Hotel, Malaga, Spain”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Benitachell, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Larios Hotel, Malaga, Spain”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

First time at a Room Mate Hotel but not the last. We stayed for 2 nights just before the Spanish "3 Kings" celebrations (6th January). Had the balcony room on the main photo on 3rd floor - perfect. Good size and overlooking the plaza which was packed with people every night (but not too late). View from this balcony superb. Hotel location right in city centre and could not be better...we went by car and parking is at sister hotel "Room Mate Lola" but only short walk or taxi away and secure underground parking.
The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff could not do enough to help and genuinely seemed interested unlike some other hotels. All in all probably the best place to stay in the centre of this wonderfull city.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and great view over the square. Quiet with good sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    391
    84
    26
    18
See reviews for
112
609
60
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our first visit to Malaga (during the 3 Kings Festival), we stayed at this hotel for the price and reviews...less then 5 mins from train station (5€ taxi ride) Early/Late checkout, very close to everything. Hotel & room very clean, WIFI was excellent. Enjoy the Vino & TAPAS down the street from the hotel at: La Barra and also Bar Orellana (I think I left my liver there) food was outstanding. I would stay at this hotel again. RHINO

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhino831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We don't think it is just because it was the season of goodwill when we stayed there, but this hotel gave us the feel-good factor at every turn. It has art deco style, a perfect location, friendly and helpful staff and a very spacious and comfortable room.

The hotel is on the corner of Constitution Square (which was given over to Christmas events when we were there) and the main pedestrian-only shopping street. Since it was the season of goodwill we treated ourselves to a junior suite which had floor to ceiling windows overlooking both the square and the street so we had a grandstand view of the children's orchestra one night and the brass band the next, and of the passing parade, the living statues and the revellers in the shopping street. Our room was well equipped, with a mini-bar fridge, air con, room safe and a super-luxurious king--size bed. The bathroom was well stocked with a jacuzzi bath and and an over-the-bath shower. We only ate breakfast in the hotel - a selection of cold cuts, pastries and breads but everything was constantly refreshed and it was served till midday!
Only one problem - if you arrive by taxi get the driver to drop you in the Square. Ours dropped us at the port end of the shopping street and we had to drag our bags quite a way.

Room Tip: Splash out on a Junior Suite. They don't break the bank and room 203 is a huge corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for 5 nights, beginning Nov 2, 2011, prior to a transatlantic cruise. I sure got lucky here and picked the best hotel possible. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. We had a junior suite which was much larger than I expected. Room 203 on the 3rd floor had a wonderful view of the plaza and the main street. Even with 3 balconies, we never had a noise problem. We had room to spread out, a huge, comfortable, king size bed, a bottle of free water, free welcome drinks. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The only real drawback here is the very bad wifi service. It doesn't work well anywhere in the hotel. At least it was free. For Europeans who can use their cell phone plan it doesn't matter. For American's who want to stay in touch, email will work - but not with any pictures or video. It is painfully slow and attachments just don't go at all. Staff explained to me that their system can't even be reset as it's router is in Barcelona. I had need of better service so they were going to set me up to use Room Mate Lola's system which is a traditional, on premises system. But we were able to find a local computer repair store a block away that had wifi for a fee that worked flawlessly. It's just to the left across the street and down a narrow alley - I don't remember the name.

We enjoyed the free breakfast that came with out room. It had a nice variety with a daily special each day. There were plenty of hot drink options along with a coffee/cappuccino maker on demand which made great coffee. The bar off the lobby never got crowded. It would have been fun if it were more heavily used. There are abundant choices of dining options in the immediate area.

I'd love to go back to Malaga again one day and I'd stay here again if I got as great a deal as I did this time. We found the hotel overall clean, friendly and fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We went for a week end to Malaga to get some sun and I booked Room Mate Larios after we stayed in the one in Madrid (which was also very good). I ended up booking the Junior suite (212) with an excellent view on the street (3 windows) for the xmas lights and bands/clowns/crowd!

Room was of very high standard, staff were very helpful, all in all a very good place to stay.

I would definitely go back there (in room 212).

Room Tip: Room 212 for me was the one. You don't get to hear the street much with the double glazing, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,900 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Property: Room Mate Larios
Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price range (per night): RM498 - RM1,193
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing