We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GIBRALFARO 1

Private Terrace with  Sunny South Views to Gibralfaro Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Terrace with  Sunny South Views to Gibralfaro Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Private Terrace with  Sunny South Views to Gibralfaro Castle
Private Terrace with  Sunny South Views to Gibralfaro Castle
Private Terrace with  Sunny South Views to Gibralfaro Castle
Private Terrace with  Sunny South Views to Gibralfaro Castle
View from Gibralfaro 1 apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malaga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
leigh846
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent a perfect 12 days in Malaga
& apartment was ideal. Whilst out of the centre, it was just a 15 min walk in (maybe 20 back allowing for 142 steps which we managed most nights - if preferred Taxi about 7 euros). There is a local bus during the day. We had excellent weather and made good use of the terrace which is large
& gets the sun from morning to early evening during April. Accommodation is very clean, well cared for, perfect for two. The bathroom is large with good facilities including good powerful shower. Olga was lovely & whilst on hand if needed was discreet. When we return to Malaga we will look to book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your kindness. We will be happy to have you back in our apartment. All the best. Olga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonewatc...
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The south facing terrace is the star feature of this apartment. You get lots of sun, sheltered from the wind and looking out across a valley to a tree covered hill with The Gibralfaro at its peak. At night this is lit up and is spectacular. During the day it's peaceful to look out on with many birds to watch as they circle and soar.

It's a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, yet is only 20 minutes walk away or a bus ride.

Inside, the apartment had everything I needed for a solo stay. Everything was clean and it all worked. There's a two ring hob and a microwave, a fridge with small ice box. No washing machine or dishwasher, neither of which were necessary to me. You can hand wash clothes and hang them out on the drier on the terrace which has plenty of pegs. For chilly nights, there is an electric fan heater for the bathroom and an oil filled radiator for the main living area. Bathroom has a good shower, a bidet and handy magnifying mirror. The bed is two singles zipped together with a cover. Not the most comfortable but okay. Wifi worked perfectly.

It is a strong uphill walk to get to the apartment from the nearest square, less than 10 minutes away. You can use the steps (150 of them!) or take a passageway a bit lower down which has slopes and steps. There is a local Hoppa bus which takes you all the way up but this is hourly and doesn't run between 1-5pm. However, there are lots of buses from the nearby square from where you could also get a taxi. They cost about 6 euros from the city centre so even less than that from the nearest square.

The dogs next door are noisy. It seems they are left out on the terrace and they bark at intervals. When I was there, they were still barking until 9.30pm and even until midnight on one occasion. But it's not all the time. Olga the owner, has spoken to her neighbour about the dogs but there's nothing else she can do. It seems to be a common problem in Spain. Lots of people have dogs but not everyone looks after them properly and they are left to bark their discontent.

Overall, this is hard to beat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelawre...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“Malaga Break”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a lovely stay in the apartment, it was very comfortable with lovely balcony & views. The only down side was the barking dog next door which we understand is very difficult deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent flat near main town & 20-25 mins to the beach walking”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Olga is very friendly & will help you with all your questions.
You need to be mobile as it is high up with a wonderful view on the terrace. Very good value :)
Barry Denmark

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you Barry
I hope to see you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farrah25
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simple, clean, comfortable, and mostly perfect studio for 1-2 people”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

really gorgeous balcony!! very private. everything in the flat worked perfectly; Olga was extremely helpful and sweet. nice little walk to the center, for bars and restaurants and whatnot. I'd recommend this for people who don't want to be smack in the middle of tourist-town, and who like stunning castle and sky views. I already look forward to staying here again one day :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing