We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Costa del Sol
Nearby Hotels
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Principe by Melia(Torremolinos)
US$198
US$187
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$146
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Luna Blanca(Torremolinos)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
US$128
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arcos de Montemar(Torremolinos)
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$244
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,362)
Filter reviews
4,362 results
Traveller rating
1,624
1,638
733
222
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,624
1,638
733
222
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself servicesoft drinksbar staffplenty of choicepool barmain restauranton taptrain stationplenty of sunbedsevening meallovely hotelcosta del solentertainment roomgreat holidayall inclusive hoteldining roomacross the road
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 4,362 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The journey from the airport took about 15 minutes! Perfect location for a very very short transfer. Checking in was a bit lengthy as it was busy but once it was your turn it was swift. The room was a great size, very clean and spacious. Our room was facing some buildings but the sea was to left. Quite room, no noise from the bar below and the beautiful sunrise and sunset from the balcony was amazing. The storm we had while we was there caused a few issues with flooding, lifts becoming closed, some walking areas where flooded and floors very slippery but the staff were always trying to remove the water and make it safe but when it rained the outside bars were shut... so only self serve drinks available which the variety was good but you did not have the choice to have any spirits.
The food was a bit repetitive but there was always something there to eat. The alcohols gel hand pumps outside the restaurants we great for cleanliness just people needed to use them more!
The Italian had a very limited menu was was the same for the two weeks we stayed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. When the weather was dull we joined in the games and it was great fun, something we wouldn’t usually do as we would be on the beach etc but really enjoyed them.
The train station is 5/10 minute walk and takes you straight into Malaga for a day out.
The beach is right across the road but you have to pay for sun beds which is a con when you’re all inclusive.. I have never paid for sunbeds in an all inclusive resort before.
All in all we would defiantly go back again. A very relaxing place to be and a good sized complex so it didn’t feel too busy and people on top of each other.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank HigginsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Just got home from a wonderful week at this hotel.
Firstly I can't believe some of the negative remarks, I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.
After a long delayed flight we arrived late in the evening. It took 15 mins to get to the hotel, check-in was quick and the restaurant was kept open for us with a variety of snacks and hot soup.
The room was wonderful, clean and high speck, obviously a lot of money had been spent on the refurbishment. And it was kept spotless through out our stay.
Food and drinks were very good, yes the restaurants were busy but we never had to wait to get seated by staff who were always happy and cheerful.
Lots of Sun beds by all the pools with drinks stations nearby.
Some of the bars were not open but it is early in the season and is to be expected.
Only negative was to go outside for the toilets as the reception was the only place that had inside toilet facilities.
We will definitely return and thank all the hardworking staff for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: 5256 was overlooking the pool and was lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lorryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Everything Baz2Baz2 says about this hotel is correct. It is a well renovated but very impersonal hotel and is a long way out of the resort centre, and the renovation and merging of two hotels means everything is very spread out and a long walk to the main area if you are at the back of the hotel. The walkways became slippery and dangerous with the heavy rain we had.

The main restaurant was always packed and people were being turned away and told to return in half an hour. Of the two other restaurants which had to be booked in advance, one served exactly the same as the main restaurant, and the Italian one had a very limited menu.

The entertainment at night ruined the holiday for me. It is limited to the Riu animation team putting on dance shows and miming to various forms of music which we don't enjoy. There was one night of live music with two very poor singers trying to imitate Robbie Williams and Cher, which we put up with for half an hour. The rest of the time the entertainment room (which reminded me of a Northern working mens club) showed videos of old football or rugby matches before the shows start. You can't even pass the time by watching tv in your room as there is only world news or CNN and CSI type programmes. I have visited other Riu hotels where they have had better entertainment rather than their own amateur shows.

The other main bar is in reception so you are surrounded by travellers checking in and out, which does not make for a relaxing evening, and rarely can you find a seat. The rest of the bars are in the outdoor pool areas and were not open whilst we were there, and the sports bar doesn't even have Sky Sports so only shows Spanish and other European football. People had to go outside to local bars to watch football on Sky.

The best thing about the hotel was the indoor pool and steam room, and the heated outdoor pool next to the small childrens pool to the back of the hotel. The main pool was too cold to use.

Maybe the hotel should consider putting on a shuttle bus to get to the centre of town, as the hotel is quite a long way out, and not a particularly nice walk to get to anywhere interesting.

We would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Fussy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We hope to get another chance to welcome you again at one of our worldwide RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Just got back from Riu on Monday and have to say we had a wonderful time ,check in was fine and the lady receptionist was very helpful and friendly we where allocated room 5326 which is at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area fantastic room absolutely immaculate really comfortable bed and a beautiful walk in shower.
Food and drinks where plentiful we enjoyed all our meals and the cocktails where amazing.
It is a very big hotel and I understand people with walking difficulties would find it a bit of a struggle if they are at the back of the hotel to get to the main reception area and restaurants so I would recommend contacting the hotel before arrival and asking for a room at the front.
The hotel is at the far end of torremolinos but right across the road from the beach ,there is a bus stop outside to take you up to torremolinos centre if you wish but the walk along the beach to the shops is lovely.
The staff in the hotel are great really friendly and helpful well done to you all and thank-you for our lovely holiday we hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We have been to 32 Riu Hotels & this is certainly not up to Riu standards - as far as we were concerned it is one of the worst we have stayed in there was a lack of communication with management it was our wedding anniversary while there & we notified management - not even a bottle of cava - other guests did receive gifts but we didn't & we are Diamond card holders - as far as we were concerned both managers were rather aloof & Rafael seemed to go out of his way to ignore most guests - Jose did speak to us more often

We had previously stayed in the Riu Belplaya & the Riu Costa Lago and decided to visit this combined & refurbished Hotel and were so looking forward to see the renovations made but were sadly disappointed.

We were allocated room 5257 but as this overlooked the road we changed it to 5322 which suited us better, much quieter with a pool view & a sunny balcony on the top floor - just what we wanted.

But we were so disappointed by the layout of the Hotel & the weather (which was changeable)


- There was no quiet lounge area to sit & relax on an evening - only available lounges were - the Show Lounge -which was noisy day & night (the shows we have seen during our 32 visits to a Riu Hotel & do not want to see them again) or the Reception area, daytime the noise level wasn't too bad most of the time BUT on an evening the noise level was dreadful, so bad we used to take mp3 player & headphones & earplugs & books, some nights there were no seats to be had at all, guests were standing around waiting for someone to leave & grab their seats (we were not the only guests who were complaining about these problems & a lot used to go to their rooms carrying drinks as early as 8pm - we did leave early a few times due to these problems)

- There was no Restaurant at our part of the Hotel - in fact the only facilities that were open were the Spa, Gym & indoor pool, there was a bar 'El Jardin de Lola' which was supposed to be open 10 30am - 11pm every day but was never opened at all during our 2 week stay, neither was the pool bar 'Sherry' this was never open (even though we did have quite a few sunny days during our second week) there were self service machines available at this bar usually 10am but closed at 7pm- these were open most days but quite a few days even they was closed all day - so the nearest place to get a drink from was Reception - both these bars are advertised as being open all year round but they were not
All 3 Restaurants are situated around the main pool as well as the Show Lounge - surely one could have been in our part of the Hotel.

- Open Walkways - not a good idea - even though carpets were laid when raining it was not a good experience as it's quite a walk from our part of the Hotel to Reception & then outside again to the 3 Restaurants & Show Lounge - also guests had to go outside to use the toilets from the main area.

Although the renovations have improved the look of the Hotel & really improved the pool areas all the guests requirements have not been taken into consideration - guests requirements should be their priority making sure there is something for everyone to enjoy & and all facilities should be available as advertised

Room 5322 the renovation made a big difference - it included a 2 seater sofa separate toilet & walk in shower great, but although a lot of hanging space in the wardrobe there was a lack of drawers, shelves & somewhere to put all our bits & pieces.

Walking difficulties - best to request a room near the Restaurants but you will still have to walk outside to Reception these would begin with 1 tower block - 2 overlook main pool noisy - 3 standard rooms - even numbers overlook walkway to restaurant odds overlook road facing hospital

In our opinion it would have been much better if the Riu Belplaya & the Riu Costa Del Sol were both renovated but left as 2 separate Hotels & then guests would have lounge areas & restaurants at both & less distances to walk.

Due to all the above problems we doubt very much if we will ever visit this Hotel again in the future as well as other guests who obviously feel the same way we do





-

-

-

Room Tip: ask for rooms nearest restaurant
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Baz2baz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews