We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is one of those memorable 'wow' hotels that puts you in a dreamy mood. The hotel itself looks like a castle and it overlooks the city and the mountains. The decor is an elegant Moorish style and if you are looking to be immersed in history and culture, this is it! Yes, the place shows a little ageing but then again, keep in mind it was built in 1910!

We requested a room overlooking the city. The staff and service were amazing and the views leave you speechless... you can shower, with a view!
Our hotel room was big, had 2 Juliette balconies (one in the room, one in the bathroom), comfortable beds, tv and safe. This hotel was one of the more expensive ones on our list, but paying even more would have been worth it. Parking was free (if there are spots), you leave your keys and the valet parks it for you.
Walking down to the city center takes about 20 minutes, walking up to the Alhambra palace entrance, about 10 minutes.
The only thing about this hotel, food and beverages are pricey, but as with any other city in Spain, there are hundreds of restaurants to choose from. We just wish we would have stayed there longer.

Make sure you visit Granada, the Alhambra Palace and if you can, stay at this hotel. It will make you feel like a royal guest! Just beautiful!

Room Tip: Room with a view of Granada! We had 311.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VisitAll195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 770 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September. TA reviews were good and the price wasn't too bad, so we booked it with more than a month in advance through booking.com website, where I clearly stated my preference for a non-smoking room. This selection was duly shown in the reservation confirmation printout.

To our disappointment, we were put not only in a smoking room, but in one which smelled as foul as a cigar club room. I called the reception and the guy in charge had the nerve to tell me that the non-smoking preference was not shown in his system, and he wouldn't find us another room was the hotel was full. After some arguing, he conceded to move us to a room which was not only much smaller, but instead of city view, it had a "splendid" view to the car parking area.

Believe it or not, the bell boy who carried our luggage was much more willing to help us than the front desk officer. He even convinced us to stay in the smokers room and advised us to keep the room and bathroom's windows open all the time to reduce the smell. As the days were cool and windy, it was a passable solution. Wouldn't have worked if happened if hot summer or cold winters day, though.

If that wasn't enough, we were surprised to find an used woman's underwear (from the previous guest?) on a corner of the floor, which gives a good hint about the quality of the housekeeping...

I won't dispute the positive aspects of the hotel mentioned in other reviews (breakfast, location, etc), but I can't recall a worst overall hotel experience. Definitely not staying here again.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, let them know, but don't forget to cross your fingers to actually be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel reminded of a grand old dame, with quiet classic elegance but fading a little in areas.
It is a five minute walk to the Alhambra entrance and located above the city. We stayed two nights - ate at the hotel one night and one lunch. The food was delicious and the service excellent. the breakfast buffet was okay ( they need a new coffee machine). We had a corner room overlooking the city and could hear a flute playing in the distance. The decor was reminiscent of the Alhambra itself so it was quite a nice treat. Would definitely recommed!

Room Tip: try for the corner room -you get two views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 456Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great views, great service , terrace cafe has excellent food , rooms are very comfortable,close to the Alhambra just downhill, walk to the city(downhill), take a taxi or bus , a breakfast is better at a different restaurant it not included, taxis are not expensive comparing with bus prices

Room Tip: ask room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soledadluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights and in spite of there being no car park space, they found a slot and parked our car for free. The whole place is a little faded gentility but it works and is delightful. The room was not huge but well equipped and very clean. It all worked and we enjoyed our stay hugely - partly as the location is unbeatable being a short walk from all the Alhambra sights. The staff were very helpful and polite. Overall a great success.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,789 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,294 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#28 of 122 in Granada
2,331 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: RM482 - RM1,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing