We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,077)
Filter reviews
2,077 results
Traveller rating
1,406
483
130
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,406
483
130
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free afternoon tea plaza nueva central courtyard junior suite beautiful hotel old town tucked away standard room sister hotel bottle of cava old house perfect location internal courtyard yogurt small hotel your luggage car park
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,077 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

hi
excellent staffs, service and great location,
you can walk everywhere so no need to rent a car,

historic building and very charming hotel,
make sure to get alahambra view room on 2 nd floor

fyi make sure to buy ticket for alahambra in advance as you need min 3 days to buy ticket, you can ask hotel and they will arrange for you in advance

can’t wait to go back

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike543210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This very nice and somewhat unique hotel is conveniently located a block from the Plaza Nueva in the heart of the tourist area of Granada. You can walk to many tourist sites including the Alhambra (uphill walk). The small streets are walkable and loaded with souvenir stalls and tapas bars and vendors of ham/cheese/spices/and other foods. The hotel has a really nice breakfast included with the room rate. They also have a very nice afternoon "tea". You can help yourself to the soft drinks and water in this same area throughout the day. The rooms are big and the beds were comfortable. They have a nice big TV and are air conditioned. The bathroom was a bit small and could only fit 1 person at a time. The courtyard is directly off the entrance and is where you can eat breakfast or sit and relax throughout the day. Rooms are off the courtyard and there are 3 floors of rooms. Overall the hotel is clean, well located-once you find it as it is tucked into one of those small streets-and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. They do speak English.

Room Tip: Rooms located off the courtyard can be a bit noisy in the morning
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarrieXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This hotel made you feel like you were living in an authentic home in Granada, rooms had wood beams and doors, high ceilings and tile floors with an interior courtyard that the room opened up on to. Better rooms are on the upper floors. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They answered any questions we had and helped us book Soccer tickets and a car to Nerja. The location is fantastic for all the major sights, you can walk to them all but taxis are also lined up just down the way at Plaza Nueva if you need one. Breakfast and an afternoon tea with little snacks are included and were nice to have. The only negative was you do hear noise from the courtyard when breakfast is being set up but you should be up by then getting ready to explore so not really a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBKcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

What a delightful property. Great location, excellent room and service quality. The view of al Hambra was impressive - see photo. It was worth the splurge! Room was well equipped. Great bathroom - high quality toiletries and towels. Location is excellent: short walk to everything. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Follow the instructions they email you. DO NOT enter the hotel address into the GPS. Use Parking Plaza Puerta Real: Calle Acera del Darro, 40, 18005 Granada (closest parking lot - hotel is in a pedestrian zone). (The instructions should have included this address). Using the hotel address, Waze took us through the narrow (1.8m wide in some places) streets behind the hotel. We had flown into Madrid that morning, driven 450 km to Granada. The last 1 km was a harrowing drive - I managed to NOT scratch the rental car. The bottle of cava that I had ordered help take off the ginormous edge that drive had given me ;)...

As a frequent (business) traveler I really appreciate the free, open fridge on the ground floor stocked with soft drinks and water. After walking around town, it was nice to grab a cold drink before heading to our room without having to grab for your wallet.

Room Tip: We splurged for the room at the top of the hotel for the Al Hambra view. Quiet, and excellent view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

It grieves me to give this hotel a 2 star review. I really wanted it to be a 5. Please read this before you book. If you get Room 24, your visit will suck. If you get Room 10, you won't know why this hotel got poor reviews. The hotel is in a great location, up a little shady alley between the buildings and close to the Alhambra and lots of good eating places. If you can't carry your own bags this is going to be a problem. It is lovely inside. Definitely the most charming of any hotel during our trip. Very old style, vs. the plain, modern styles of the hotels in Madrid and Barcelona. They offer free coffee and tea all the time and there is a fridge stocked with cold water available 24/7. We didn't eat breakfast, but it's a cute little buffet and looked nice. Now the bad...and if you get the right room this won't be a problem. BUT...will you get the right room??? We booked a "Superior" room so we actually paid money to be up higher with a "view" of the street or patio. All we could see was the roof overhang. The room was very small but attractively furnished. Cozy kind of. There was a waiting bottle of champagne too. But none of those positives could overcome the fact that the room wreaked of creosote. If you don't know what creosote is, it's the black stuff they put on telephone poles. It's like tar and used to preserve wood. Highly odorous. We were in Room 24. It was the top level and directly under the roof. It was hot and humid and the air conditioning barely puffed out any cool air. Clearly we were right under the barrel tile roof, and there was no insulation. There was also a vent/hole in the wall that appeared to be open to the outdoors. We did ask to change our room, but there wasn't one available until the next night. The woman at the desk said she would bring an "air cleaning machine" to the room that would take 20 minutes. Clearly, the hotel knows they have a problem if they have an air cleaning machine. But the woman at the desk acted "surprised" that we had this problem, and barely offered an apology. I actually feel bad for the staff, because they must have to deal with this every day. The machine worked for a little bit, but I was awakened by it in the middle of the night by the intensity of the smell...not to mention because the room was so darn hot as well. The next day we switched to Room 10. Much larger room. Why did we pay extra for that small crappy room?????? I don't understand this hotel. In this room the air conditioner was top notch and there was no smell. So, had I only experienced Room 10, I wouldn't have known about the problem and this hotel would have gotten a good rating. Unfortunately the Hotel 1800 in Granada has a serious flaw. I had not read the poor reviews when booking... the poor reviews mention the smell. What I don't know is if the bad smell is in ALL the 2nd story rooms or only Room 24. We could smell it in the hallway approaching Room 24, but it was much stronger in the room. I suspect the smell is worse during the heat of August...but can't be positive. The weird thing is the Hotel kept calling me the week before we arrived but I had minimal coverage so didn't talk to them. When I finally did, they asked if we wanted to upgrade. So, I'm guessing they knew we were not going to be happy in our Superior Room. But why is this Hotel even classifying this problem room as Superior? To the owners of the hotel: You have a problem with this building and you know it. Shame on you for putting guests in those odorous rooms time and time again. Stop selling those rooms. Fix your problem.

Room Tip: Do Not Accept Room 24. Ask for one without a bad smell. Room 10 is fine.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KTinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews