We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite pintxos in Plaza Nueva”
Review of Bar Charly

Bar Charly
Ranked #70 of 1,269 Restaurants in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Bilbo Zaharra
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I simply loved this place. After trying most of the places in Plaza Nueva, i beleive this is the very best. Pintxos are a bit more special than what you usually get and the prices are acceptable.
If you are lucky you can even get one of the 3 tables available.
100% recommended

Thank corina0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018

On the first evening I did not enter this place as it looked too modern and more geared towards tourists but on the second evening I gave it a shot and have to say that I was quite happy with it. They seemed to offer slightly better selection of wine, or at least I was more happy with it, and the pinxos were good too. Service was also friendly. In the end I even returned the next day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Astrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto a, Propietario at Bar Charly, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018
Google Translation

"Lo más sublime es sentir lo sublime". Immanuel Kant. (Filósofo). Las PALABRAS tienen que ser un reflejo de ese estado de plenitud.
Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Went here on the recommendation of TA and wasn’t disappointed. Only a small bar with an option of outside seating, the place has a good atmosphere and offers a good selection of Pintxos.
As with many other bars in Bilbao, the bar bill is never big and always offers great value. Choice of many other restaurants in this area, but this bar is certainly worth calling in if you’re passing.

Thank trotter1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto a, Propietario at Bar Charly, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018


"Sensibility defines individuality, at its highest level, it identifies the artist." Paul Cézanne. (Painter). May the search for the work of ART never be lacking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Good little bar in plaza nueva.pinchos were really good and inexpensive for the setting of the bar which is in a nice plaza that has lots of bars. Guy behind the bar was friendly and efficient.

Thank sb7554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto a, Propietario at Bar Charly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017
Google Translation

La amabilidad es un don que siempre se agradece. Gusta su presencia. Un placer tu complicidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We decided to go for a selection of pinchos which took longer than expected as the restaurant was not that busy. Unfortunately the disappointment didn't stop there. Simply the food is poor.

I'm not one that has previously criticised many restaurants on TripAdvisor and regretfully I'm doing so on this occasion. I strongly recommend that you choose alternative eateries which are literally only metres away.

Given the poor quality of food and service, the best way for Bar Charly to listen to the feedback is for customers to choose elsewhere.

Thank fergalstraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto a, Propietario at Bar Charly, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017
Google Translation

"En la pared anida la tarde oscura. Nada visible late, rueda. Callan el mar y el campo". Francisco Brines.(Poeta). Es necesario oir la voz de la ESPERANZA y desde ella edificar el bloque sólido de la vida.
Intentaremos mejorar,gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Charly also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Bar Charly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing