We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Las Aguilas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$130
US$121
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
ValleMar(Puerto de la Cruz)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$117
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel RF Astoria(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$60
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel El Tope(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$99
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
667
200
31
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
200
31
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardenspool areasquash courtlow key entertainmentexcellent hotelhotel directorbreakfast and dinnercourtesy bustea and coffee making facilitiespool attendantmini golfrelaxing holidayreplenished dailya quiet residential areadressing gownseach guestsmall gym
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

My husband and I usually have 4 holidays a year and we always include a visit to the Riu Garoe. The hotel itself is stunning, the gardens are exceptional, the rooms extremely well appointed, with everything you would need, tea/coffee, dressing gowns, stocked fridge ect. There is a delightful outdoor dining area, the food is well cooked and delicious, with lots of choice. All the staff are extremely pleasant, nothing is to much trouble for them. If you decide to dine out, there are some great restaurants 5 mins walk from the hotel. Finally, we would like a special mention for Gustava ( thinks that's how you spell his name) a lovely man who looks after you all day around the pool, the area is kept absolutely spotless, sunbeds are plentiful and very comfortable, he welcomes everyone will nothing less than a wonderful smile, and most importantly for us there is no loud music, PURE BLISS, we would also like to thank him for recommending a visit to Orotava on Sunday 25th to watch the Procession of the patron saints, an amazing (ASOMBROSO) experience. See you all again soon. Carol & David

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis H, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Mrs Carol and Mr David,

thank you very much for staying again at the Riu Garoé and for your feedback on tripadvisor. We apreciate you have taken your time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are glad to know your find our hotel "stunning", our gardens "exceptional", as well as our rooms and its facilities. It is also nice to read you like our food choice, served by pleasant staff in a "delightful" dining area.

Your review have been shared with all the staff, and Gustavo has beed handed in a print copy of your comments. He was enormously happy to read your nice compliments.

For all of this, another big THANK YOU! We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future again.

Yours sincerely,

Luís Hernández
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from an eleven night stay at this hotel. When we arrived it was as if we had never been away. Everything was at the usual high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again.. The staff were, as usual, brilliant and they always make our stay a real pleasure. We look forward to returning at some point during the year.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017


Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comment about your last stay at the Riu Garoé. I am very glad to know you have returned home safely after another wonderful stay with us.

I will pass on your nice comments and feedback to all employees.

Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer again the best of us.

I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely week away at this hotel. We arrived around midnight on the Sunday are we were greeted by friendly staff, a cocktail and meats, cheeses, bread and salad in the bedroom. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, staff everywhere we're so friendly and polite which made the experience even better. There's a bus from the hotel to town and back but we generally walked down into town and then got the bus back (be aware it doesn't run Saturday afternoon or Sunday after about 1pm). If we're ever back in Tenerife we would definitely visit again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gingerrose1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our friendly and polite staff, these are great comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line.
We are satisfied to know that you have had wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.


Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We just returned from 4 nights at the Riu Garoe. The easiest way to get there is to hire a car from the airport. Takes around an hour, lots of free on street parking bays.

When we arrived we were brought drinks as we stood at the reception desk. The staff were all very friendly too. Lots of activities - mini golf, tennis, games area with pool table/table tennis/outdoor chess etc. Indoors there is a second swimming pool, saunas, squash court and good sized gym but these didn't seem to get used much.

Breakfast and dinner buffets both good selection including 2/3 chefs cooking live on large grills. Men have to wear trousers/jeans to dinner - no shorts. Polo shirt was ok, no need to go too smart. There are 2x sittings for dinner - 6ish-8 and 8ish-10. On the first night we asked for a table outside. There weren't any but the lady said she would get us one the next night. As we walked in the next night she remembered us and said our table was ready outside as promised. Also ordered wine first night, only drank half the bottle, waiter offered to keep it for next night - it was waiting for us in an ice bucket when we sat down.

Every night in the bar 5.30-6.30 is happy hour - 241 on all drinks so 2x beers for 3.65 euros. Drinks prices in minibar also very reasonable 1.25 for water, 3ish for beer.

Only improvements I could make to the hotel is a proper king bed with duvet rather than 2x singles pushed together (although this is what we were told when booking via Expedia) and also to improve the WiFi as coverage can be patchy.

Overall we had a great time - thanks!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoe Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff. I personally tell to all the staff your good comments about the service in the Riu Garoé Hotel.
Comment like good selection buffet are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us.
We will take into consideration your concer about the beds and the pace of wifi for the future.
We are satisfied to know that you have been a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. Let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes.

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Call me old-fashion but i still prefer a good, classy hotel even if i'm on the road a lot with my family. I visited Tenerife for a couple of weeks, done 3000km with a rental car (to the surprise of the agency that was probably expecting only small trips to the local beach) and have seen almost everything that there was to see. A few examples that come to mind : The night sky @ Teide. Rock-diving at the lighthouse. Taking our 7'year old daughter to the famous Loro and Siam... When you're an avid traveller that likes to see / learn the history and all the vistas that a new place has to offer, you usually rent an apartment, grab sandwitches for the day, then go out and have a blast of a day and then collapse on the sofa of a trip-advisor chosen restaurant at the end of the day. But after trying that for 11 days i ended up at Riu Garoe which was supposed to be my reward for myself (since i prefer the demipension hotels to the other friends who don't like to be glued to one spot) i found out that this amazing hotel offers you the option to dine late (8-10 p.m.) which leaves you enough time to sightsee and then dine and get comfortable. Since it was an extraordinary thing, i appreciated it fully. The place is a luxurious tropical garden with a great pool and garden human-size chess that i thoroughly enjoyed with my daughter among various other distractions. There was parfume from the flowers in bloom everywhere. That garden is perfect for outdoor Yoga or reading, where you can be one with nature.
Riu Garoe is truly the ultimate experience for any nature aficionado!


Pros:
Outdoor garden - simply breathtaking, you're surrounded by vegetation, perfume, nature in all its glory!
Garden chess inside that you can freely use regardless of hour
Swimming pool well maintained and cleaned
Vista
Friendly personnel and reception staff
Nice, good variety of restaurant food. Different menu every day.

Cons:
Food choices for the restaurant could have been better
Cooking even after 9.20 if restaurant is open till 10 (sometimes there wasn't enough to choose)
Bed mattress lumpy and too hard. No foam "memory" layer for sure.
The rooms smelled a bit of "old" furniture
They could provide a yoga / fitness instructor in order to get those turtles to move a little :)

Location: The entire island is "nearby". Rent a car and see it! It's beautiful! Teide, Lighthouse, Loro (very close) and Siam parks, Black sand beaches (very close)

Room Tip: They're all splendid. There's really no noise after 10 p.m. when the restaurant closes anyway. Beautiful vistas on all sides
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gattsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks to choose the Riu Garoé hotel for your holidays.
Thanks once again for the positive comments about our amazing hotel, luxurious garden, well maintained pool, good variety food and friendly personal. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you have had wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. We inform about your good comments to all our departments.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me again, if you had any request or need any help with your next reservation.

I am looking forward to seeing you soon again in the future.


Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews