We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think we visited 10 years early”
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Garoe
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

we had room 150 which had a lovely sea view. The room was good far enough away from the reception but close to the restaurant not to close to smell food smells. Very few brits there the majority being German who really need to learn to smile :) As a person who struggles with food abroad I managed to eat quite well here on a half board basis. Same as most hotels food and drink on site is expensive, happy hour 530 - 630 is good but the alcohol in the cocktails is much less at this time. Sunbeds are awesome big chunky and wooden with really thick comfortable mattresses, The pool area is very quiet no music no activities etc. One cloudy day we used the indoor heated pool which is lovely but very under used, it is situated in a huge area where there is lots of room for improvement maybe a few hot tubs or unisex sauna as the 2 saunas there are strictly male and female. Didn't do any activities as we went there to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank salsa42girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis H, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your last stay and for your review on tripadvisor. We apreciate you have come back after 10 years. We are also glad to know you have found your room conveniently located and liked the food in the restaurant.

Your comments about our beverage offer and service will be shared with the Restaurant and Bar Managers to find ways to improve that area. Also, we are already planning a new spa facility to be functioning in 2019 when the hotel is refurbisched. A unisex Sauna is also included in the project.

On the other hand, we are happy to hear you found confortable our sunbeds, pool area and room beds.

Again, thank you very much. We are looking forward to seeing you soon in the future again.

Yours sincerely,

Luis Hernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

My husband and I usually have 4 holidays a year and we always include a visit to the Riu Garoe. The hotel itself is stunning, the gardens are exceptional, the rooms extremely well appointed, with everything you would need, tea/coffee, dressing gowns, stocked fridge ect. There is a delightful outdoor dining area, the food is well cooked and delicious, with lots of choice. All the staff are extremely pleasant, nothing is to much trouble for them. If you decide to dine out, there are some great restaurants 5 mins walk from the hotel. Finally, we would like a special mention for Gustava ( thinks that's how you spell his name) a lovely man who looks after you all day around the pool, the area is kept absolutely spotless, sunbeds are plentiful and very comfortable, he welcomes everyone will nothing less than a wonderful smile, and most importantly for us there is no loud music, PURE BLISS, we would also like to thank him for recommending a visit to Orotava on Sunday 25th to watch the Procession of the patron saints, an amazing (ASOMBROSO) experience. See you all again soon. Carol & David

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis H, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Mrs Carol and Mr David,

thank you very much for staying again at the Riu Garoé and for your feedback on tripadvisor. We apreciate you have taken your time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are glad to know your find our hotel "stunning", our gardens "exceptional", as well as our rooms and its facilities. It is also nice to read you like our food choice, served by pleasant staff in a "delightful" dining area.

Your review have been shared with all the staff, and Gustavo has beed handed in a print copy of your comments. He was enormously happy to read your nice compliments.

For all of this, another big THANK YOU! We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future again.

Yours sincerely,

Luís Hernández
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from an eleven night stay at this hotel. When we arrived it was as if we had never been away. Everything was at the usual high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again.. The staff were, as usual, brilliant and they always make our stay a real pleasure. We look forward to returning at some point during the year.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017


Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comment about your last stay at the Riu Garoé. I am very glad to know you have returned home safely after another wonderful stay with us.

I will pass on your nice comments and feedback to all employees.

Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer again the best of us.

I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely week away at this hotel. We arrived around midnight on the Sunday are we were greeted by friendly staff, a cocktail and meats, cheeses, bread and salad in the bedroom. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, staff everywhere we're so friendly and polite which made the experience even better. There's a bus from the hotel to town and back but we generally walked down into town and then got the bus back (be aware it doesn't run Saturday afternoon or Sunday after about 1pm). If we're ever back in Tenerife we would definitely visit again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gingerrose1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our friendly and polite staff, these are great comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line.
We are satisfied to know that you have had wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.


Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We just returned from 4 nights at the Riu Garoe. The easiest way to get there is to hire a car from the airport. Takes around an hour, lots of free on street parking bays.

When we arrived we were brought drinks as we stood at the reception desk. The staff were all very friendly too. Lots of activities - mini golf, tennis, games area with pool table/table tennis/outdoor chess etc. Indoors there is a second swimming pool, saunas, squash court and good sized gym but these didn't seem to get used much.

Breakfast and dinner buffets both good selection including 2/3 chefs cooking live on large grills. Men have to wear trousers/jeans to dinner - no shorts. Polo shirt was ok, no need to go too smart. There are 2x sittings for dinner - 6ish-8 and 8ish-10. On the first night we asked for a table outside. There weren't any but the lady said she would get us one the next night. As we walked in the next night she remembered us and said our table was ready outside as promised. Also ordered wine first night, only drank half the bottle, waiter offered to keep it for next night - it was waiting for us in an ice bucket when we sat down.

Every night in the bar 5.30-6.30 is happy hour - 241 on all drinks so 2x beers for 3.65 euros. Drinks prices in minibar also very reasonable 1.25 for water, 3ish for beer.

Only improvements I could make to the hotel is a proper king bed with duvet rather than 2x singles pushed together (although this is what we were told when booking via Expedia) and also to improve the WiFi as coverage can be patchy.

Overall we had a great time - thanks!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoe Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff. I personally tell to all the staff your good comments about the service in the Riu Garoé Hotel.
Comment like good selection buffet are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us.
We will take into consideration your concer about the beds and the pace of wifi for the future.
We are satisfied to know that you have been a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. Let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes.

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,703 reviews
41.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
41.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 km away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
39.6 km away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
757 reviews
41.3 km away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Address: Calle Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: RM469 - RM1,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * Sauna, Squash, minigolf, children playground * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 Km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing