We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Garoe
Nearby Hotels
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Las Aguilas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ValleMar(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel RF Astoria(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel El Tope(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
659
197
30
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
197
30
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardenspool areasquash courtlow key entertainmentfantastic hotelhotel directorbreakfast and dinnertea and coffee making facilitiespool attendantcourtesy busmini golfrelaxing holidayreplenished dailya quiet residential areadressing gownseach guestbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

What a fantastic hotel , absolutely beautiful , elegantly styled soft furnishings , lovely cool relaxing ambience all around the hotel . We arrived about 21:30 and we were told by a lovely lady on reception to just go to the restaurant and eat and she would sort out keys and room later .
The restaurant is amazing , outside terrace and another beautiful area as well to dine in.
The food is first class , such a wide variety and well presented ,
As in previous reviews the pool man does a fantastic job , supplying the pads for the sun beds and keeping the pool area immaculate .
Wonderful gardens to sit and relax in .
Narya , (think that was her name ) was the lady who looked after our room , did a fantastic job , as did everyone else who works in this lovely hotel .
Had a really relaxing , chilling holiday here and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Puerto de la Cruz .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind Comments.

We are so glad to hear about your stay with us. It makes us very happy to receive such nice comments about our beautiful hotel, lovely and relaxing ambiente and first class and variety food. We have shared you thank-you comment with all the staff, especially to Nayra. We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help or you have any
request with your next booking.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Wow from the minute the bus dropped us off to it picked us up a week later everything was first class and it was a real wrench to leave !!
First impressions when you take your first steps into reception is WOW WOW WOW !!! Lovely white marble floors everything so bright spotlessly clean fresh flower displays a lovely aroma which always greets you every time you step into reception and lovely and cool with lovely chairs dotted about to sit in and admire the lovely ceiling of the building and just how incredible the reception looked. Once in after taking in the views went to reception and got a lovely lady receptionist who gave our family of 3 a lovely cool welcome drink which was very much appreciated after the bus journey. We were given the keys to room 403 which I was delighted to find was the top floor ( only 4 high ) I had requested a high floor a week earlier by e mail so couldn't be happier.
Room was spacious enough for the 3 of us and the balcony was huge and even had a couple of sunbeds and a brolly so we did most of our sunbathing there as the surrounding street was so quiet great for relaxing and also sleeping at night and that was made even easier with the brilliant air conditioning in the room.
We stayed for 1 week on a half board basis and when we have done this in past hotels we always at least have one evening meal away from hotel but the biggest compliment I can give this hotel is that my wife and daughter declined the offer of going out to eat as the food was too good at hotel and I second that and so does my waistline !!
The pool and surrounding gardens were kept spotless and the pool was great no kids splashing no screaming or running about just pure blissful peace and quiet. Pool attendant handed out padding for the sun beds and also beach towels and was great you didn't need to get up in the middle of the night to put your towel on a sun bed as plenty to go around for everyone.
The surrounding area is quiet but lovely a beautiful Botanic garden is only a 5 minute walk up road from hotel and well worth a visit only 3 euros per person and kids 14 and under are free.
Also a special mention to Mary who cleaned our room as she kept our room like a place as did all other cleaners as I never once saw any litter or dirt anywhere at all in hotel.
Thanks to all the staff at hotel for a really lovely week and hope to come back to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind Comments.

We are so glad to hear about your stay with us. It makes us very happy to receive such nice comments about our lovely and clean hotel, good food and friendly staff. We have shared you thank-you comment with all the staff, especially to Mary. We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help or you have any
request with your next booking.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This was our first time visiting Tenerife and Hotel Riu Garoé was the perfect place to stay in a quiet area just a short walk from the main town.The rooms were well kept and the cleaners did a good job it was a lovely room and we all and a great stay in them! The Reception staff were Fabulous at our requests as we stayed there for my 17 year old sons birthday and needed a cake (which was delicious) and they made sure that it was an amazing birthday! The pool and facilities there were lovely,and there was always a lifeguard there to help out, and so were the activities in the day and shows at night. Arianna ran the activities for the day and my 12 year old daughter often joined in with her playing a range of different games throuout the day, Arianna was lovely and spoke a range of different languages well. We are a family of four and we all had something to do throughout the day which was great. The food there was tasty and had a range of differing foods at night. The waitors and waitresses were always there if you needed them and took to your needs always. Overall we had a fabulous stay at Hotel Riu Garoé and will definitely be visiting there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P3590DUtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments about our Hotel.
I am glad to hear you have been an enjoyable stay in a fabulous hotel.
I hope you do not mind I have shared your nice comments with all the staff, especially with Arianna our Public Relations. Comments like lovely rooms, fabulous staff and tasty food, help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me again, if you had any request or need any help with your next reservation.

I am looking forward to seeing you soon again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Having read the reviews, we thought this hotel was a safe bet. Pretty much every review of this hotel is excellent - and now I understand why. The location is in a quiet, relatively pretty part of the island, there are shops nearby if you need them and a 20 min walk to the local town. The hotel itself is beautiful, the decor both inside and out is tasteful, neat and a joy to be in. The gardens and pool are spotless, the bar areas are sumptuous and comfortable. The food is good, the cocktails and drinks very lovely and well presented. However, the best thing about this fabulous hotel is the staff. Everyone goes out of their way to make your experience an enjoyable one. The staff on the front desk, the restaurant and bat staff, the ladies who prepare the rooms are all incredibly friendly and attentive. The general manager introduced himself at the welcome drink, he has a staff of over 100 and is doing an excellent job in choosing the right people. He should be proud of himself. The public relations lady, I forget her name, was lovely, very engaging and made a big impression on my youngest daughter, who thought she was so cool. In all, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, it certainly ticked all of my boxes.

Room Tip: Happy hour is 5.30 - 6. Lovely cocktails
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our quite location, beautiful hotel, good food and fabulous staff with your especial mention to Arianna (Public Relations). These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you have been a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer again the best of us.

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

My parter and I have just came back from a fantastic stay in this hotel! Welcomed by very polite and friendly staff with a welcoming cocktail. Great little touch. First impressions of the hotel were positive! Very clean and tidy!

Rooms were clean and spacious! However would suggest taking a extension lead as plug sockets are very few - wasn't a major problem for us though we still managed! Maids tidied rooms daily always returning too a extremely tidy room which was lovely after a busy day!

We were half board with breakfast and dinner, great variety of food on offer, different dinners every night, could not fault the food at all! Would totally recommend trying to sit outside on the terrace for meal times, to look out onto the fabulous gardens!

The service at the bar was faultless! Very attentive making sure your happy, staff couldn't do enough for you! Fantastic service.


This hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus too and from town every 15 minutes which is a must to take! Very steep walking from the town back to the hotel. Read previously that the bus was never on time and I have to disagree!! Bus was spot on time every single day we used, which was 5 out of 6 days!

Overall, the hotel itself is absolutely faultless, staff are very welcoming and attentive, food amazing, clean pool area plenty of sun loungers, gardens very well maintained. However, no fault of the hotels but the guests made our stay slightly hard at the beginning. Brits are a minority to this hotel in fact me and my parter were the only ones British in there. Most of the guests are German and totally made us feel alienated and unwelcome. We are very polite and friendly and we were made to feel so out of place to the point I was ready to leave! We got plenty of stares, dirty looks, just a bad vibe from the guests! Yet we are so polite, we smile at everyone say morning, hi, goodnight to all. They do need to lighten up and smile, after all we are all there for the same thing to have an amazing holiday! For this reason we stayed around the pool one day the rest we felt obliged to go out as we felt that uncomfortable!! We didn't let this affect our holiday too much as we had the pleasure of spending a lot of time in the town and at the salt water pools which is a MUST!!!

I would recommend this hotel for its amazing service, facilities and staff! Just beware of the miseries. And despite the guests I would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments and to to choose the Garoé hotel for your holidays.

Thanks once again for the positive comments about our polite and friendly staff, good and variety food, clean and spacious rooms. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. We take note about the plug sockets in the room for our next renovation.
Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you again a nice room.


Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews