We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel in a quiet residential area”
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Garoe
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We got a room on the ground floor which was large, had air-con, a Sony TV with 6 English-speaking stations, a fridge and kettle/tea tray. The shower is over the bath which could cause difficulty for elderly guests, but apart from that, we couldn't find fault. A plate of fresh fruit and half bottle of Cava were left in the room for us.

The food is as good as you'll get in a Spanish Hotel - loads of choice and well presented. You can have either Spanish or English style bacon at breakfast - a real rarity.

The pool and gardens are kept beautiful, as are all the public areas - cleaned and polished with everything kept pristine

The entertainment is very low-key - a singer guitarist (Pedro) playing to backing tracks was very good but the lounge bar was frequently almost empty. We couldn't hear any noise at night in our room.

The staff we spoke to, were all wonderful and very well trained. Most of the guests were German, but that wasn't a problem, as they were unfailingly polite. The hotel is in a residential area with loads of free parking outside the hotel. You can pay 2 euros per day for a safe, but we didn't bother.

Outside there are bars./restaurants about 7 minutes walk away and the town is just over a mile or so.

There is free Wi-Fi all around the hotel - not the fastest, but certainly not the slowest. I can't believe the guy who gave this hotel one star on the basis of slow Wi-Fi - for goodness sake fella, get a life .

If you're looking for bingo/karaoke and loud music, don't book here, but if you want quiet quality and relaxation, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our fresh and variety food, beautiful gardens and public areas, and wonderful and well trained staff. These are great comments which help us growing and providing our customers great vacations. We are working in our Wifi connecction to impruve the service.
We take a good note about the happy hour to improve our service. We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Luís Hernández

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

What a fantastic hotel , absolutely beautiful , elegantly styled soft furnishings , lovely cool relaxing ambience all around the hotel . We arrived about 21:30 and we were told by a lovely lady on reception to just go to the restaurant and eat and she would sort out keys and room later .
The restaurant is amazing , outside terrace and another beautiful area as well to dine in.
The food is first class , such a wide variety and well presented ,
As in previous reviews the pool man does a fantastic job , supplying the pads for the sun beds and keeping the pool area immaculate .
Wonderful gardens to sit and relax in .
Narya , (think that was her name ) was the lady who looked after our room , did a fantastic job , as did everyone else who works in this lovely hotel .
Had a really relaxing , chilling holiday here and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Puerto de la Cruz .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind Comments.

We are so glad to hear about your stay with us. It makes us very happy to receive such nice comments about our beautiful hotel, lovely and relaxing ambiente and first class and variety food. We have shared you thank-you comment with all the staff, especially to Nayra. We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help or you have any
request with your next booking.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Wow from the minute the bus dropped us off to it picked us up a week later everything was first class and it was a real wrench to leave !!
First impressions when you take your first steps into reception is WOW WOW WOW !!! Lovely white marble floors everything so bright spotlessly clean fresh flower displays a lovely aroma which always greets you every time you step into reception and lovely and cool with lovely chairs dotted about to sit in and admire the lovely ceiling of the building and just how incredible the reception looked. Once in after taking in the views went to reception and got a lovely lady receptionist who gave our family of 3 a lovely cool welcome drink which was very much appreciated after the bus journey. We were given the keys to room 403 which I was delighted to find was the top floor ( only 4 high ) I had requested a high floor a week earlier by e mail so couldn't be happier.
Room was spacious enough for the 3 of us and the balcony was huge and even had a couple of sunbeds and a brolly so we did most of our sunbathing there as the surrounding street was so quiet great for relaxing and also sleeping at night and that was made even easier with the brilliant air conditioning in the room.
We stayed for 1 week on a half board basis and when we have done this in past hotels we always at least have one evening meal away from hotel but the biggest compliment I can give this hotel is that my wife and daughter declined the offer of going out to eat as the food was too good at hotel and I second that and so does my waistline !!
The pool and surrounding gardens were kept spotless and the pool was great no kids splashing no screaming or running about just pure blissful peace and quiet. Pool attendant handed out padding for the sun beds and also beach towels and was great you didn't need to get up in the middle of the night to put your towel on a sun bed as plenty to go around for everyone.
The surrounding area is quiet but lovely a beautiful Botanic garden is only a 5 minute walk up road from hotel and well worth a visit only 3 euros per person and kids 14 and under are free.
Also a special mention to Mary who cleaned our room as she kept our room like a place as did all other cleaners as I never once saw any litter or dirt anywhere at all in hotel.
Thanks to all the staff at hotel for a really lovely week and hope to come back to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind Comments.

We are so glad to hear about your stay with us. It makes us very happy to receive such nice comments about our lovely and clean hotel, good food and friendly staff. We have shared you thank-you comment with all the staff, especially to Mary. We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help or you have any
request with your next booking.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This was our first time visiting Tenerife and Hotel Riu Garoé was the perfect place to stay in a quiet area just a short walk from the main town.The rooms were well kept and the cleaners did a good job it was a lovely room and we all and a great stay in them! The Reception staff were Fabulous at our requests as we stayed there for my 17 year old sons birthday and needed a cake (which was delicious) and they made sure that it was an amazing birthday! The pool and facilities there were lovely,and there was always a lifeguard there to help out, and so were the activities in the day and shows at night. Arianna ran the activities for the day and my 12 year old daughter often joined in with her playing a range of different games throuout the day, Arianna was lovely and spoke a range of different languages well. We are a family of four and we all had something to do throughout the day which was great. The food there was tasty and had a range of differing foods at night. The waitors and waitresses were always there if you needed them and took to your needs always. Overall we had a fabulous stay at Hotel Riu Garoé and will definitely be visiting there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P3590DUtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments about our Hotel.
I am glad to hear you have been an enjoyable stay in a fabulous hotel.
I hope you do not mind I have shared your nice comments with all the staff, especially with Arianna our Public Relations. Comments like lovely rooms, fabulous staff and tasty food, help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me again, if you had any request or need any help with your next reservation.

I am looking forward to seeing you soon again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Having read the reviews, we thought this hotel was a safe bet. Pretty much every review of this hotel is excellent - and now I understand why. The location is in a quiet, relatively pretty part of the island, there are shops nearby if you need them and a 20 min walk to the local town. The hotel itself is beautiful, the decor both inside and out is tasteful, neat and a joy to be in. The gardens and pool are spotless, the bar areas are sumptuous and comfortable. The food is good, the cocktails and drinks very lovely and well presented. However, the best thing about this fabulous hotel is the staff. Everyone goes out of their way to make your experience an enjoyable one. The staff on the front desk, the restaurant and bat staff, the ladies who prepare the rooms are all incredibly friendly and attentive. The general manager introduced himself at the welcome drink, he has a staff of over 100 and is doing an excellent job in choosing the right people. He should be proud of himself. The public relations lady, I forget her name, was lovely, very engaging and made a big impression on my youngest daughter, who thought she was so cool. In all, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, it certainly ticked all of my boxes.

Room Tip: Happy hour is 5.30 - 6. Lovely cocktails
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our quite location, beautiful hotel, good food and fabulous staff with your especial mention to Arianna (Public Relations). These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you have been a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel. Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer again the best of us.

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,672 reviews
41.3 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.2 km away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,829 reviews
37.5 km away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
39.6 km away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Address: Calle Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: RM515 - RM1,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * Sauna, Squash, minigolf, children playground * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 Km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing