We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect place but a killer of a hill.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of El Estanque

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yogieSout...
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect place but a killer of a hill.”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for 10 days and loved every moment we walked every day and the hill back to the villa was a killer to worth it, the pool was perfect at the end of a long walk, the villa perfect and clean. I could relax as soon as I got there, we explored the area which is somewhere we could settle and would go back and stay again soon. Irene was very helpful, as the oven was broken it was replaced with 24 hrs, she always got back to you with questions. I hint all the manuals are in the bottom draw of the kitchen to work all the appliances with the tea towels. The only thing I could think of that would make it perfect is the TV, spanish box and a german box no english only two channels available the news and another on the spanish box, it would be better to have a few more channels when the weather is cloudy or if you are staying in on a evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thanks for your comments. We get nearly 700 channels from different countries from Astra Satellite. The problem is that Great Britain only send a few to this satellite. So we can't do anything to get them. But you can get them through internet. I'm happy to see that you booked again for December. See you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209941Ann...
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Positives- spacious,quiet,own heated pool,choice of terraces, underground parking, comfortable bed. Good oven. Responsive management team

Negatives- pool heater out of order on arrival , mended in 2 days. Bathroom and down stairs loo need makeover. Shower attachment ropey on arrival, fixed immediately. Loo has permanent drip. Shower cubicle grubby, needed a good bleach. Kitchen sparsely equipped . No can opener, but provided immediately by management. 2 large wine glasses only in an apartment for 4.

It is unfair to criticise too much because the apartment is fundamentally good. BUT it is not cheap, and for the the price paid I would expect to have equipment inside and out to be working properly. There have been other similar reviews recently. I think the owners should take it out of circulation and spend some money on it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good weather, quiet location
Liked least: Bathroom,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thanks very much for your comments. We are very sorry about the heater of the pool. You know that we reacted immediately but you don´t get the spare parts so quick on the islands. It wasn´t our fault. We also offered you a refund for these days.
The kitchen has been checked now and will be renewed (new glasses, new crockery). The shower has already been cleaned by professionals. We couldn´t do it ourselves. It looks like new now.

Sometimes things break (shower, wine glasses) and the guests don´t tell us. During our high season this winter we had check-in and check-out often on the same day. And it wasn´t possible to check things.But I was there 3 days ago, checked all, the shower was cleaned and this week we are going to buy the things missing in the kitchen.

We have a very low price comparing to other apartments in Puerto de la Cruz which are sold 20 € per night higher.

Thanks again, we only can improve with your help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances-J...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Lovely situation but apartment could do with a little TLC”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived and were greeted by a very nice lady who showed us around, however, if you arrive in the evening, you are charged 20 Euros extra, which must be paid immediately.
This lady was good enough to get us a breakfast pack and also left us some fruit and a bottle of wine, which was a nice touch.
The apartment is is a lovely spot, very quite with fabulous views and has a terrace at the back to sit out in privacy. There is a shared pool at the front which is heated.
We were given a space for our hire car in the garage under the apartments which is very secure.
The apartment is basically furnished and is a little "tired" The shower upstairs is unsightly and dirty looking. The shower really needs to be renewed. The downstairs toilet top is broken and cracked and need also to be renewed and looks dangerous. . There is a safe in the wardrobe of the main bedroom which was good, the key for it is on the bunch of door keys. . The kitchen has no dishwasher, no microwave and strangely no egg cups. A mixture of unmatched crockery and glasses.
There is an old fashioned iron (non-steam) and board which needs a new cover. A utility room has been added onto the kitchen with lots of gaps. There is a selection of sockets in there which are very dirty and when you plug in the iron you get blue flashes. The washing machine is top loading and has the habit of moving around the floor. Best to use the 30 minute programme as the others take a really long time to complete, also rusty around the top. Large fridge with freezer compartment, again rusty at the front. We found a lot of tiny insects in the kitchen, which we though must be coming in through the gaps in the utility room. We did not leave any opened food in the cupboards.
There is a T.V. which has a satellite box but it only receives Spanish and German programmes, so bring a computer or lap top so you can screen some British programmes. There is no heating in the apartment, so if you come in Winter some evenings could be a bit chilly.
There is free Wifi which is situated in the kitchen, when we arrived if you wanted to use the washing machine you had to disconnect the WIFI as there was only one socket.
We went out and bought a lead with sockets so both could be used together and we left it in the apartment for the next people.
This place is about 15 minutes walk to Punta Bravo where there are some restaurants and a harbour, but it would be about 40 minutes walk into Puerto De La Cruz. I would recommend a hire car, although a taxi from the town centre is about 5 euro. The apartment has a very useful guide to the area and a taxi number, however, the taxi people do not speak English, so when you ring have some words of Spanish ready.
All in all this place is in a good situation and only needs a bit of upgrading to make it perfect. I would still recommend a stay there. I am being totally honest about the apartment with fair comment on the conditons.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your wide comments. We always try to be perfect, but we can always do better.
The extra costs of the late arrival are indicated when you make a reservation. But we didn�t charge you anything for the breakfast, so it is one to the other. I personally checked the bathroom and the shower was clean. The toilet top was broken by one guest a few weeks before. We live on an island and things sometimes take longer to arrive. It is already ordered and will be replaced. As you can see at the description of the house, there isn�t a dishwasher neither a microwave. We don�t use egg cups in Spain, but I will buy some, as well as a new iron and a new cover for the ironing board. We sometimes have insects in the kitchen during summer. It could have been now, because we have a warm winter. The TV is through the ASTRA Satelite. We have more than 700 TV channels. Great Britain only send a few news channels, that�s not our fault. There isn�t heating at the house, as 99 % of the houses on the island do. To walk to Puerto de la Cruz it takes 15 minutes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and view
Liked least: Would be good to have a fan in the bedroom as its hot to sleep at nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Notechy1
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“More than pleased”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Modern, well maintained, spacious. Lovely sitting out space.

This is one of 4 adjacent apartments sharing the small pool which is directly outside the front of this one. The pool is on the west, entry-, side of the apartment and in April was well heated. The area around the pool is modest, but includes an area from which the top of Mt Teide can be seen in addition to sea views in the direction of the sunset. There is also a small private sitting out area at that side.

Round the other side is a large private terrace facing east, but also extending into a substantial area to the north side. Weather permitting, these offer a welcome mix of sun and shade, assisted by an awning which can be used across the east side. There is a very pleasant open aspect to this easterly outlook. You look through greenery which surrounds a neighbouring pool below towards mountains and the sea to the NE of Puerto de la Cruz. This terrace is not overlooked at all by any neighbours. There is a table, cushioned chairs, and 2 cushioned sun loungers.

Inside, the main bedroom has an even better view to the east, being a floor higher. All is nicely furnished and the main rooms are spacious. The kitchen is well equipped, including a coffee makers and filter papers, with full oven and hob but lacks a microwave. At a glance, the TV seems to lack English channels except for BBC World and Sky News.

While we had a car for exploring further afield, we were happy to walk to restaurants, and back again up the hill!

We were provided with a useful note guiding us on sight-seeing and restaurants..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace
Liked least: Walk up hill when hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are thinking about furnishing with a microwave. You can get only a few english channels because we have ASTRA satelite. It depends, on what every country sends to this satelite. We get all German channels, a few english and also from other countries. But we are also trying to get them through the internet. It will take us a few weeks. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing