We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda del Cardenal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Sol(Toledo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Martin(Toledo)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (598)
    Filter reviews
    598 results
    Traveller rating
    253
    219
    79
    26
    21
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    253
    219
    79
    26
    21
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsold citypublic lotsuckling pigbisagra gateoutdoor restaurantfew stairshotel groundsking suitecharacter and charmset in beautiful gardensperiod featuresexcellent restaurantbreakfast staffsteeped in historymain gatecharming hotelyour luggage
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 598 reviews
    Reviewed 13 December 2017

    This is a lovely three-star hotel with kind of old-fashioned charm.I would like to have stayed here a week or more. Clean, big rooms. Steady hot water in the shower, always a blessing. Fairly strong wifi. There's a very good restaurant down below. I deducted a star because of the legwork involved: Toledo is on a hill, with most of the streets either steeply up or steeply down, and this hotel is at the bottom. Meanwhile the hotel itself involves a many-step climb to reach--though apparently they're putting in a lift, which is a great idea. If I return to Toledo I'll balance the charm of this place with the lazy desire to be at the top of the hill.

    • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jan S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HaciendaDelCardenal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda del Cardenal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

    Dear Customer,

    I would like to thank you for your time and for your comment about your experience in Hacienda del Cardenal ***. We are very pleased to read that your stay has been you expected and we want to transmit to you that we are very pleased to have you as a guest.

    Your words help us to continue working harder
    Sincerely,
    Hacienda del Cardenal ***

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

    Was there with my family of 6... and everyone of us had the $45 euros meal and everyone of us chose the roasted suckling pig. It was really nice and although there was so much food (including great salads, cheese, salami, desserts), we managed to finish most of the suckling pig... definitely did not disappoint.

    Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    Thank 294kelvinw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 December 2017

    We stayed 2 night in a junior suite with a large balcony over looking the gardens and the pool to the side. The room also had access to an upper sun and sitting terrace to the rear. It is quite exquisite, old world but very comfortable. There is minibar, coffee maker,air con/heat in both bedroom and small sitting area. The hotel staff were pleasantly 'chilled'. Breakfast was in a large room to right of the front terrace with a massive granite fireplace embalzoned with a coat of arms. The log fire fortified guests against the winter chill. There is a buzzing bar and outside terrace with a log brazier with outdoor couches and armchairs in a verandah to the side of the terrace. Upstairs form the bar is the large formal dining room. A 4 course dinner with wine cost €45 each. It was empty when we arrived at 9.15pm but was packed when we finished at 11pm. Location beside the Bisagra gate was perfect, you can walk here from the train station or get the 6 or 5 buses or the tourist bus. We walked as the weather was nice.
    The escalator to the old town ran to the side and behind the hotel from along Paseo de Recaredo. Might be bit noisy in Summer. although they were doing some building work on the terrace to the left of the main door, it did not mar the experience.

    Room Tip: the junior suite (210) was lovely with a large balcony and access to rear terrace
    • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank PeterADH
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HaciendaDelCardenal, Director de Recepción at Hacienda del Cardenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

    Dear Customer,

    I would like to thank you for your time and for your comment about your experience in Hacienda del Cardenal ***.
    For our team it has been pleasure your stay in our hotel and to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and services.
    We take note about your commentary to improve every day.
    Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
    Sincerely,
    Hacienda del Cardenal ***

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2017

    Great location and worth staying but it was expensive compared to other hotels in Spain where we travel around a lot.
    The room was done in a medieval spanish style but really comfortable and aircon worked perfectly

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Helen H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HaciendaDelCardenal, Director de Recepción at Hacienda del Cardenal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

    Dear Customer,

    I would like to thank you for your time and for your comment about your experience in Hacienda del Cardenal ***. We are very pleased to read that your stay has been you expected and we want to transmit to you that we are very pleased to have you as a guest.

    Your words help us to continue working harder
    Sincerely,
    Hacienda del Cardenal ***

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2017

    We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel just inside the old city wall. Our room was great and the gardens beautiful, and the reception staff so helpful. We asked for someone to help us with our bags, and reception immediately sent someone to help us.
    I would recommend this hotel but be aware you need to ask Reception for someone to help you with your bags. Having spent many years in travel, I felt this hotel could be so much better in regard to food and beverage, and they need a concierge.

    • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank 30vicki
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HaciendaDelCardenal, Director de Recepción at Hacienda del Cardenal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

    Dear Customer,

    I would like to thank you for your time and for your comment about your experience in Hacienda del Cardenal ***.
    For our team it has been pleasure your stay in our hotel and to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and services.
    We take note about your commentary to improve every day.
    Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
    Sincerely,
    Hacienda del Cardenal ***

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews