We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best View!”
Review of Meson del Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meson del Cid
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed in Meson Del Cid for a couple of days in October. The location is Great! We paid a little extra but we got a wonderful room facing the Cathedral. It has been a treat. We could walk everywhere and Burgos is a great city to visit. However, I give them a 4 stars because this is not an hotel for people with physical disabilities. You must climb stairs all the time to get to the hotel and if you are not in good shape it might be a problem. For us, we are going back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for one that face the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

The hotel is in a wonderful location, right by the catherdral and the Camino de Santiago runs right along side the hotel. The staff were so nice, very helpful and friendly, The parking was underground across the street for 16€. As with many underground parking places in Spain, it wasn't that easy to get in and out of the parking due to the sharp turns but one of the staff came and guided us in which was very helpful. The room was comfortable with windows opening to the square in front of the cathedral. It's such a fantastic location being right by the very impressivine cathedral. Breakfast was 10€ and it was good except for the coffee which tasted sweet. We tried both machines and the staff even made another batch for us but it still didn't taste right. But that was a relatively minor point and we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel was very good value for money. We stayed in the annex across the road but it was lovely and quiet, 30 seconds from main hotel. This hotel is located beside the cathedral and is central for bars, restaurants and shops.
The hotel was very clean with excellent wifi, the room was spotless and quiet at night.
Breakfast was in the main hotel on the first floor. Breakfast was good with a buffet style breakfast, as much as you could eat and good choice of hot and cold food.
The staff were very nice and spoke good english.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank helendc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was a great stay. The hotel is perfectly located above the catherdal. our rooms with views were postcard perfect. The rooms in the main hotel are a good size, and ours on the 5th floor had good closet space.

There are two elevators, one of which opens to a non guest space which connects to a door to the street at the level of the garage. We called the desk when arriving at the garage, but they still asked us to use the garage intercom to call to open the door into the garage. I don't believe there is a garage elevator to help get bags up from the car; I'd suggest leaving them at street level while someone takes the car down to park. We were met my a staff member at that hotel side door after parking, who took us up to our rooms with the bags. We then headed down to actually register. If you have tons of bags, I'd ask them to help this way -- the staff was great and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludcodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed for only one night on our way from Santander down to Malaga, wish we'd had longer. A gem of a hotel, not your generic Travelodge at all was like something out of Harry Potter with little rooms everywhere displaying all sorts of historic books and information. Right opposite the Cathedral. Very mediaeval. Room was spacious and clean, staff shamed us with their English language skills and were very friendly and helpful. Pet friendly (we were driving our cat down to Spain) although extra charge not really necessary for a cat guess it's in case dogs do any damage to furniture etc. Very close to centre with lots of interesting little streets and alleyways and loads of bars, cafes, takeaways etc. We were there on a Saturday and it was very lively. Secure underground parking (also extra charge). There is on street parking but very busy not really an option unless you want to park miles away from the hotel. Overall would highly recommend and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: We were in the annexe across the square very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ZeeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.3 km away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.3 km away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 50 in Burgos
842 reviews
0.2 km away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#3 of 50 in Burgos
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.7 km away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#2 of 50 in Burgos
490 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson del Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson del Cid

Address: Plaza Santa Maria 8, 09003 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Burgos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
Price Range: RM 256 - RM 449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meson del Cid 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray concrete Spanish with red pantile roof, modern facilities - Located in front of cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meson del Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Del Cid Burgos
Meson Del Cid Hotel Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing