We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character in spades”
Review of La Posada

La Posada
Ranked #260 of 490 Restaurants in Burgos
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2016

My wife and I popped into La Posada with the intention of having one drink and then moving on somewhere for dinner. We found the bar to be full of locals and full of character, and what was nice is that they served REAL tapas with each drink and not the odd stale crisp or bullet-like peanut that most other establishments dish up nowadays. We decided to go upstairs to have dinner there and again found a dining room a step back in time with lots of old bull-fighting memorabilia. It's not plush by any means, but we found the waiter to be very attentive and caring and our dish of hake with prawns to be good and wholesome rather than blue riband stuff. I would recommend it if you are looking for an authentic night, rather different from the many modern plastic establishments nearby, but it is a little pricier.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2016

At 16€ for the menu del do a we thought we were treating ourselves to a special meal in Burgos. Everywhere else is around 12€ at lunchtime. When we went in there was no written menu del dia the lady wanted us to eat a la carte. We pressed for menu del dia. The lady verbally gave us some poor choices of sopa castellana, macaroni or salad, then some others for a second course. We asked for white wine and some water.
The food was average at best. The salad was ordinary. My partner's oxtail was tough and had hardly any meat on it. My lamb was fatty and again, virtually no meat. The main courses were accompanied by about eight chips each and nothing else. All was lukewarm. The choices of dessert were poor : cuajada, melon or flan. Coffee was extra. When the bill came, we were charged an extra 5€ for water.
The Spanish diners seemed to get more choice, but they didn't seem too impressed either.
Go somewhere else!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hillywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

If you like your fish bathing in a sauce of fat and being served by a waiter with the charisma of a stone, this is the place to be! Oh, and you will pay 1 Euro extra for bread that's put on your table although you never ordered it. There are plenty other places nearby, so don't waste your time coming here.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Benedikt1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

In the historical part of Burgos in the Plaza St. Domingo de Gusman sits La Posada restaurant. The locals haunt downstairs but it is worth climbing the stairs to the restaurant. We have just eaten the 16 euro menu of the day. It was delicious and they knew which dishes contained gluten and were very accommodating. They even have a separate fryer for fries. It is Mum and Pop type of restaurant so you get authentic food with good service.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jancowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

In searching for an early lunch, ( Noon ) Most restaurants were not opening until 1 PM. This little family run restaurant is a three story adobe building on a corner and was happy to accommodate us while they were still serving breakfast. They were very friendly and attentive. Food was wonderful and filling. additional name on the building is Taberna Casa Comidas. Had outside seating as well as charming seating inside.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Ms. Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Posada also viewed

Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 
Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 
Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 

Been to La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing