We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Vega(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Eurostars Las Claras(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hosteria Sara(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rector(Salamanca)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
295
341
100
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
341
100
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza mayorgreat locationplunge pooldefinitely stay at this hotel againthe main squareamazing citynice hotelbig bathroomwifi is freebars and restaurantsgreat showeronly stayed one nightreasonable sizecomfortable bedsvery pleasant staysized roomshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Catalonia hotel is 2 minutes of Plaza Mayor, is in the back.
The hotel is really nice for a 4 star hotel.
The buffet is very good has so good. The "embutidos" are so traditional I love it.
The staff is kind and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariaBarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamancaplaza, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to send us your comments as they help us improve our service. I am very sorry that your stay at the hotel has not been of your full satisfaction and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies. Thanks again and hope that on another occasion we can meet your expectations with our service. Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stayed here overnight on our way to Portugal. A very good hotel. The room was large and very clean. We found the bed comfortable. It is in a good position to have a walk around Salamanca. Lots of restaurants all around us. The only down side is there is no car park and we had to leave our car down the road in an underground car park with the keys so that they could shuffle it about to let people come and go.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RochesterBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamancaplaza, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016


Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The very large room and bathroom were both very clean though the bed was very uncomfortable. We could feel the bed springs and the 2 pillows provided were very soft. We couldn't get the air conditioning to work on cool only. The bedside light was dreadful so it was difficult to read in bed.
There was no view at all from our room, we looked at a brick wall. One good thing was that the room was very quiet.
Breakfast was very poor with limited selection.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamancaplaza, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016


Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to send us your comments as they help us improve our service. I am very sorry that your stay at the hotel has not been of your full satisfaction and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies.
Thanks again and hope that on another occasion we can meet your expectations with our service.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The bedrooms were large and the beds were comfortable, a large bathroom and with big windows to let in air. Breakfast was included but a bit pricey for what was offered. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to the Plaza Mayor and walking distance to shops and restaurants.The pool is small, only big enough for a few people and only for wading around in. If you drive there is a car park down the road with a discounted rate (it's a 5 minute walk away but to get there it takes about 15 minutes because of all the one way roads, reception will show you where to go)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamancaplaza, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Lisa, thank you for your comments on tripadvisor . We are pleased that you had a good stay, my team and I are satisfied that all is to your liking, so it will be a real pleasure to meet you in Salamanca.
Receives a warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We popped into Salamanca for a quick overnight visit and we couldn't have been happier with the Catalonia Plaza Mayor. We arrived on the morning train and they were happy to hold our bags until check in time. We were given a tourist map and went out to see the sights until our room was ready. Salamanca is quite small and almost all of the attractions are easily walkable from the plaza major. When we checked into our room later that day we were overjoyed. It was large, elegant, and very clean. Later that night we were a little confused by the room service menu so we went downstairs to the bar to inquire about dinner from the hotel restaurant. The bartender was so sweet and kind and took our order even though I'm not totally sure that the restaurant was technically open. She may have made our salad and sandwich herself! It was a modest but delicious and satisfying meal. Checking out at the crack of dawn the next morning was just as easy. A cab was called for us by gentleman at the front desk and we were on our way back to the train station. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Salamanca. Despite my poor Spanish (I didn't ask if they spoke English) we got everything we needed and the staff was friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamancaplaza, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Dear customer , thank you for your comments on tripadvisor . We are pleased that you had a good stay, my team and I are satisfied that all is to your liking, so it will be a real pleasure to meet you in Salamanca.
Receives a warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews