We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A perfect stay at Abac !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABaC Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABaC Barcelona
Ranked #5 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A perfect stay at Abac !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just had a perfect 2 night stay,smiling and efficient staff during all our stay, penthouse was fabulous with huge terrace with a lot of outside furniture and outside shower , room was full of light, with a view from everywhere, including the shower,+ enjoying sunrise from the bed at the touch of a button commanding the curtains, very clever design in bathroom + dressing.
A minor problem was efficiently solved by the Guest Manager Marien, breakfast was good (not exceptional ) but the lady in charge of the breakfast took excellent care of us .
We had Room service once and both (simple) dishes were perfect.
The Spa is very relaxing and the massage was simply the best ever (by Lucie or Lucy ?) , and I had Banyan, Aman and Como before.
When you ge back to the Hotel you can either pass through reception , or via another entrance directly to the room, you fell like if you are living in Barcelona.
I didn't like the rainshower in the bathroom, I think it is nice as an addition to a "real " shower , but it can't replace the feeling of a " power shower ".
Can't wait to go back to Abac Barcelona !

Room Tip: Penthouse has a huge terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Domperignon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    56
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
328
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Unfortunately my family and I could not stay at the property due to needing to cater for our 15 month old son, however we had lunch in the restaurant.
There was an initial error made by the hotel for the booking, but it was later corrected in a manner that exceptional.
Once given the opportunity to correct their mistake, I can only say that the service and standards that this hotel displays is literally second to none. The elegance of the staff and overall property is a benchmark that other hotels should look to.
The restaurant has recently earned 2 stars from Michelin. This is without a doubt the best food experience my wife and I have ever had. We dined exactly 3 weeks after eating in Daniel, a 3 star restaurant in New York. There was no comparison. Whilst Daniel was amazing, the service, imagination of the chef and everything that the restaurant surparsed Daniel.
The flavours and imagination of the dishes are extrodonary. The food was art in every sense of the word. The chef...a genius. He will soon be recognised as one of the worlds best - I am certain of it.
There are other words I am sure to describe this restaurant, but still a few days after visiting, I am lost for them.
Make one of your afternoons or evenings a visit to this restaurant - treat it as an attraction and experience that you can rarely get in other places around the world.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

A super modern hotel with luxurious touches such as Bang and Olufsen electronics, Hermes products, and there even is a cartridge coffee maker in the room. Since the hotel premise was locked, we actually had difficulty checking in at 1300. This was due to a malfunction of the doorbell at both entrances. The staff were super apologetic about the incident and from there our stay was good. We stayed in the Superior Room with our own large private balcony. The balcony square footage might have been bigger than the room itself. The bathroom had a separate bath with rain shower. And when I say rain shower I mean a 2 ft x 2 ft gush of water coming down from the ceiling! We did have some difficulty figuring out how to adjust the temperature, but once that was resolved it was heaven.

We ate at the newly upgraded 2 Michelin star restaurant and it was absolutely divine. I have eaten at many Michelin rated restaurants, including the 3 star Per Se in New York and the ABAC restaurant might have been out best dining experience ever. In addition to the whimsical delicious food, the restaurant was able to fully accommodate my girlfriend's dietary restrictions.

We only had one minor gripe that ironically has to do with the heavy sound-proofing of the hotel. The heavy and numerous doors that it takes to get to your room really isolate the sound well, however, they slam and make a loud noise after each one is opened. This means that when another guest leaves their room, especially with at an adjacent floor, we hear every door slam on their way out. I don't know how much the hotel can do to fix this but again it's just a minor detail.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back to the ABAC for both the stay, the warm, friendly, excellent staff, and the food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marién I, Hotel & Guest Relations Manager at ABaC Barcelona, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for your review about ABaC. We're really glad to read that you enjyed your stay with us in our Superior room. And thanks also to let us know about the door's slam and the noice they make! We already start to fix that and for your next stay you will not have this problem!
We're looking forward to can welcome you again in ABaC.

Saludos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at ABACat the end of September for 6 days and although this review is a little late I think it is worth mentioning how wondering the experience of staying there was. I left thinking that, service is excellent, hotel is unique, small but comfortable, luxurious, quiet and location, convenient and peaceful. Truly a modern boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant and awesome and attentive staff.

SERVICE

I have to praise Marien and her team. She made us feel so welcomed from the moment we stepped foot into ABAC. We really appreciate the awesome restuarant recommendations that was provided as the suggested places for local food were excellent choices. Also, they will highlight all the `must visit' places for which I found 6 days was not enough. For information, you can approach anyone of their staff and rest assured, they will try their best to accede to your request.

Turn down service is always prompt and housekeeping is had been consistent throughout the 6 days spent. Hermes amenities are used and for added touch of detail, his and hers amenity boxes are provided.

ROOMS

The deluxe room we had was spacious. Had separate walk in closets and bath areas. Lighting is automated so if there is movement in the room, you will have lights on. Best part of it, there are four types of lighting to choose from. The rain bath is awesome (so huge, you could call is a rain thunderstorm bath). The glass used for toilet walls are all one way mirrors. They also have choices of DVDs if you cannot find anything exciting to do in Barcelona (which is highly unlikely).

LOCATION

As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is 7 train stations away (approximately 7 to 10 minutes) and the train station is just outside the hotel. There is also the Tourist Buses that take you around different routes right outside the hotel's main entrance. On Sundays (or was in Saturdays - check with the hotel) the funicular train up to one of the peaks overlooking Barcelona runs and this is also located just outside the hotel.

The neighbourhood the hotel is nice is clean and nice. There are lots of eateries around the hotel that open very early in the morning so you won't starve. If you don't want to stay in the noise around Passag then this is an awesome location. Very convenient, quiet and safe.

Security at the hotel is tight so you need not worry.

SPA and LOUNGE AREAS

The hotel has a spa and lounge area that is both relaxed and comfortable. Massages are also available. I tried the steam room and pools, which is open 24hours. Wished the steam bath was a little hotter though.

RESTAURANT

Well, they did not earn a michelin star for no reason. They also have an impressive wine list. Do give it a try.

Do consider ABAC as you will not be dissapointed. Barcelona as a whole truly amazing!

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purple_dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABaCBarcelona, Manager at ABaC Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thanks a lot for your review about ABaC!

I remember you as if it was yesterday that you stand with us!!!

I really hope to can welcome you again in ABaC Restaurant & Hotel!

Merry Christmas & Happy 2012!!

Best regards,

Marién Iñigo
Hotel & Guests Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Wonderful hotel! The dinner was a very special experience ! Congratulations for everything.

Room Tip: The penthouse was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Primero Primera
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABaC Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABaC Barcelona

Property: ABaC Barcelona
Address: Av. Del Tibidabo, 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): RM1,008 - RM2,323
Hotel Class:5 star — ABaC Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GASTRONOMY, ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN... A UNIQUE GOURMET EXPERIENCE ABaC Restaurant Hotel Monument 5* GL is located in Sarria-Sant Gervasi, the upper zone of Barcelona, with views to the Kennedy square and surrounded with the vegetation of La Tamarita gardens. Close to the most important points of the city. Work of the architect Antoni de Moragas, consists of two buildings integrated in a garden. The centennial building was refurbished due to its historical value and it was the old residence of Dona Madronita, an intellectual of the born Catalan bourgeoisie at the end of XIX century. She was the daughter of the famous pharmacist Dr. Andreu, and she was the wife of the North American Max Klein (president of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and one of the introducers of the basketball in Spain). On the other hand, the new crystal pavilion is covered of lattices of wood and joined the garden. Landscape and architecture give themselves the hand in a space of pure lines. ROOMS The hotel offers 15 luxurious rooms completely soundproof, with a vanguardist decoration, the greater comfort and technical advances. Room facilities: • Totally soundproof. • Parquet flooring and exotic wood. • Independent air conditioning & heating. • Wireless high Speed internet connection. • Bang & Olufsen telephon • Bang & Olufsen 32", 42" & 50" television. • DVD. • Direct telephone line. • "Merten" remote control for lights and blinds. • "Nespresso" coffee machine. • Mini-bar. • Safety box. • 2X2 Mattress "Treca de Paris" • Linen yarn. • Gaston & Daniela textiles. • Working desk. • Jacuzzi with chromo therapy. • 40X40, Rain effect shower. • Welcome amenities: Hermes • Hairdryer. DINING In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 P.M. And where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin. MEETING-ROOMS Conference and events meeting rooms, from 2 to 60 people, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience for all present and successful outcome to your meeting. SPA - ELEMIS Located in a private area of the ABaC Hotel, this is the place to find the most personalised gift for our customers: Their Wellbeing. • Jacuzzi with underwater sunbeds • Cold pool • Hammam • Two treatment cabins Room 1: Water bed with sea waves effect and adjustable temperature. Chromo therapy Room 2: Double room. (Bed and tatami) • Cleopatras (Heated sunbeds) • Manual therapies. • Facial treatments. • Asiatic therapies. OTHER SERVICES: • 24 hrs. Room service. • 24 Hrs. Concierge service. • Laundry and valet service. • Multilingual personnel. • Closed Circuit TV. • Fire extinguishing system. • Wireless high speed internet connection. • Parking. • Valet. • Limousine service and luxury car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your ABaC Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abac Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing