We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service!”
Review of Hawker 45

Hawker 45
Reserve with
Hawker 45 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 11,033 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Description: South East Asian and Latin American street food, redefined.
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We went to Hawker for dinner and had no reservations but were given a table and enjoyed our meal. We ordered the Degustation Menu at 35 Euros. The portions were not large but they were quite innovative and we found them interesting and satisfying.

Our waitress was very nice and very accommodating!

We enjoyed Hawker 45 and recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Owner at Hawker 45, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hi Ellen,

Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Hawker 45 and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura & Chef Laila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2018

Hard to understand what is what on the menu. Waiter could not explain either (neither in English nor in Spanish). Small portions. Orange juice was not fresh. Bad experience in general. Not going to go back. Wonder where the high ratings are coming from?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andras B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Owner at Hawker 45, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hi Andras,

We were puzzled by your review.

I understand your wife is pregnant and wanted bottled water because she can't drink from the tap. In fact, as we explained, our water is not filtered - we treat it by reverse osmosis, which produces pure distilled H2O, and then remineralize it with a small amount of calcium. We also have it tested regularly. It's better than bottled water - safer, better tasting, and better for the environment - which is why we don't sell bottled water. Even better, we serve it for free because we don't think our guests should have to pay for water, even though most restaurants in Barcelona make 15% of their revenue selling water.

Still, we offered to send someone across the street to get some bottled water for her, but she wanted orange juice instead. We buy our oranges fresh twice weekly, and squeeze them daily. The juice we served you came out of a fresh orange this afternoon. I'm not sure how it could be any fresher.

We have a lot of regular customers who appreciate our creative approach to fusion cuisine. Still, we understand that not everyone is going to appreciate what we do, and we're OK with that. But we are sorry you had a negative experience.

Kind regards,

Laura and Chef Laila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

nice trendy looking spot and very interesting and delish food. went in for lunch and had the chicken cubes over quinoa and the minced chicken salad for starters. mains were green chicken curry with spicy flash fried eggplant with coco milk and a rich beef dish with tomato and coco milk. desert was a frozen banana cake with ice cream. we opted to add in beers for 3 eu each which was a good sized glass of nice cold kirin. maybe a little pricier than some of the other lunch deals around but really good and filling food with very attentive service. would go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank magnamosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Owner at Hawker 45, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura & Chef Laila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We've been to this place in order to try the midday menu... When we arrived we had no reservation but there were places available... The waitress was a bit rude and dd not want to give us a table... After insisting she spoke with the Chef who 'allowed' us to sit at the kitchen bar. We ordered several items from the menu in order to try more dishes and therefore more flavors... The food was ok, the dessert was a bit small. For the price it should include a beverage (juice, beer), the normal for this kind of prices. The service was a bit slow and the waitress was rude.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JGordicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Owner at Hawker 45, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, Hawker 45.

It's tough to hang on to good staff in Barcelona in the summer, since everyone takes off for summer jobs in the Baleares, so many of our floor staff are new, and not all work out as planned. We're sorry you had a negative experience with one of our new waitresses.

I'm not sure what you mean by "allowed" you to sit at the kitchen bar. All our guests are welcome to sit at the bar, if there's room. Many prefer to, since they can interact with our chefs and watch them prepare interesting food. Occasionally, it does happen that we're very busy, and even though it might appear that there are places available, we prefer not to pack the restaurant to capacity if we believe our guest experience will suffer as a result. It sounds like Chef Laila was able to find a place for you without a reservation even though we were very busy, which might explain why the service was slow, for which we apologize.

We do have a lunch menu that includes a beverage and dessert or coffee, which we change every day for the benefit of our regular lunch guests. I believe you'll find our menu is priced very competitively in relation to our Barcelona peers offering similar quality. Chef Laila trained at the Basque Culinary Center, one of the world's top cooking schools, and spent 5 years working in a variety of Michelin star kitchens in Europe and Asia, including Robuchon in Singapore, and Mugaritz and Ni Neu in San Sebastien. We use premium ingredients, and our food often requires elaborate preparation (e.g. our meats are slow-cooked sous-vide for as long as 18 hours, we source some of our ingredients directly from Asia, we use a high-end Mibrasa charcoal-fired oven...) We also offer free water - plain and seltzer, treated by reverse-osmosis and gently re-mineralized, and even with ice - which can account for as much as 15-20% of the bill at most Barcelona restaurants.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,

Laura & Chef Laila
Hawker 45

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

If you are asians and wanted to find an authentic Asian or southeast Asian food then this place isn’t for you. However, if you are sick of tapas and pintxos and you are craving complex tastes, not a bad option after all. Please be reminded the portion of each dish is not big, nothing like you will get normal asian dishes. Two persons dining you will need at least 3 dishes depends how hungry you are.

Attached photo is a Laksa. You would expect it is a noodle dish but it is a rice dish more like a curry seafood risotto! Quite creative I would say.

Overall dining experience is good. You will get interesting surprises in good way!

Thank Ng S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Owner at Hawker 45, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Hawker 45 and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura & Chef Laila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawker 45 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Hawker 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing