We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do I begin...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Ranked #70 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Where DO I Begin???
It is SO appropriate that when you walk into your room, music is playing from a fabulous CD called “Barcelona Nights” – and Shirley Bassey is singing “Where do I begin…?” That is how I feel as I try to summarize our stay at the Hotel Arts/Ritz Carlton in Barcelona. They do everything right here. The staff is extremely friendly, and in a genuine way. Everyone goes out of their way to make all aspects of your stay as comfortable as possible. Our room was gorgeous – in fact, our view mirrored that of the picture in Conde Nast Traveller’s “room with a view” section, which was opened on our table. We looked out over the Mediterranean Sea, with a giant fish sculpture leaping into the sea; breathtaking. The location of the hotel is perfect – right on the beach and yet also a close distance to the city. There are fabulous nightclubs and restaurants lining the beach just below the hotel – mere steps from the hotel’s front entrance. We loved the pool area, and Yann, the pool manager could not have been friendlier or more helpful in giving us suggestions as to areas of the beach and city we might enjoy. Selma, one of the pool staff, was a gorgeous young woman from Holland with big eyes and a million dollar smile. She too, was extremely helpful and told us not to miss the Born section of Barcelona (which is walkable from the hotel or a really cheap cab ride). We are so glad we listened to her, as we loved this “soho” section of Barcelona with great shops and tapas restaurants. The Hotel Arts building is gorgeous inside – beautiful orchids and cut flowers adorn the lobbies. The housekeeping staff is a fascination, as they slip in and out, leaving the rooms in perfect order, yet you never seem to see a cleaning cart in any of the halls. The grounds outside are equally stunning. We booked our trip through Amex travel, and so the fantastic buffet breakfast was included in our stay. We so looked forward to every morning, because Vicenc, the Director of restaurants, has done an amazing job with his staff: every morning a wonderful crew of waiters and waitresses would come to our table, huge smiles, remembering who we were and what we liked to eat and drink, and would stop to have conversations with us. Of course, Ivan, one of the chefs who would make the most delicious nutella crepes for me, was the person who really was the highlight of our stay at Hotel Arts. Each day we would come down, he would have a special Spanish Omelet or some other surprise made for us and sent to our table. Ivan is smart, funny, handsome and charming – he basically embodies all of the staff at Hotel Arts. I cannot wait to go back next summer! Definitely one of our best vacations ever!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyCat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,171 - 3,175 of 4,897 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

Opulent surroundings, attentive staff and a great pool area. It is expensive but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We had two massive adjoining rooms with all mod cons. Breakfast is a sight to behold and the whole hotels reeks of class.

It is located by the beach so the sea breeze was a welcome relief after exploring blazing hot Barcelona.

One criticism, I was on a package with a $200 room credit per night and this had not been deducted from my invoice, I actually had a small argument to get it, but once the head of reception was called it was sorted out.

Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazborangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I recently spent 5 days at the Hotel Arts. It is beautiful and well designed (our large room ended in 16 with spectacular views of the sea). The location is excellent with the beach and a boardwalk with bars and restaurants right behind. The most exceptional feature is the staff who are all superb. Vicenc (Director of Restaurants), Yann (pool manager), Selma (pool staff) and Ivan (chef for the most amazing breakfasts ever) all made it a wonderful trip. Getting into the city (particularly El Born - a wonderful distrrict with shops an restaurants) is easy. This is THE place to stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed there on a family vacation. The pool area is very nice as well as the breakfast/food areas.
The service was very good - including the concierge who was very helpful! The room itself was very high end as well. I would highly recommend this hotel when in Barcelona!!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryjets11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. It is especially good for families. If you are going on a cruise, this hotel is near the port, which is very handy. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and the rooms are comfortable. Also the mood in the hotel is very cheerful and upbeat. The only down side (very minor) is the design of the bathroom sinks, which aren't very practical. But overall, we love this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyNYC_278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#123 of 519 in Barcelona
6,599 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 519 in Barcelona
2,496 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,440 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 519 in Barcelona
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arts Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arts Barcelona

Address: Marina 19-21, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: RM 1,215 - RM 3,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arts Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Hotel Arts Barcelona guides guests through relaxation through a myriad of luxurious accommodations. Surrounded by the picturesque backdrop of Barcelona, the landscape at and near our hotel in Barcelona, Spain will leave you in awe. Visit us and explore our unique setting, inside of our hotel and all around as you discover the seafront and exquisite design and art nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arts Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arts Hotel Barcelona
Arts Barcelona Hotel
Best Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing