We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Bagues
Ranked #22 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for four nights just before Christmas. The hotel is located on las Ramblas and is ideally situated for exploring Barcelona. The hotel staff are very friendly and attentative. Although the rooms aren't the largest this is no reason to complain, as they have all the facilities that you would expect from a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world. It's also worth noting that the rooms are totally soundproofed which allows for an uninterrupted nights sleep. To conclude we would definitely book this hotel on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to write this good review.

Nice again to hear about our soundproof system and again i have to say thank you because at the beginning it was difficult to answer the reviews which were talking about that but right now i feel totally confident to say is one of the best soundproof system i have ever seen.

If anyone feels the street noise let me know and we will find out the solutions but most of the times the window is not closed properly.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    182
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
97
523
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Fantastic hotel that is perfectly situated for shopping and cultural sight-seeing and also not far from the port.
The staff were excellent - very friendly and professional and discerning.
The bedroom was small but perfectly functional and I had a view over the Ramblas and the double glazing was very effective - no noise at all in the bedroom.
The breakfast was good though could have had more hot choices? But there is enough not to go hungry though!
All in all an excellent hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good review.

I would like to focus in your comments about the staff. I have to say that after 14 months running this hotel the service is getting the excellence and every single staff member is very proud and happy about those reviews which are talking aboout them. Thank you very much again.

Regarding the breakfast we have a hot dishes menu although it is just an orientative menu but you can order whatever you want. By the way you are right and we are going to change some words to make it easier.

Finally offer you the possibility to contact me directly in order to arrange whatever you may need in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

It is a small boutique hotel, with a museum on the 1st floor of the Jewels made at that building before converted to a hotel.
The rooftop terrace has fantastic views over the city.
Breakfast was not varied enough to my taste, but all items served were top notch quality. Service was good. We had also an aperitif with some food at the hotel, which was splendid and not over priced. Well worth it.
Room was very comfortable even though was small, we had a corner room so it was quiet but with an open balcony viewing the Ramblas and the cathedral.
The hotel is very close to the Boqueria market, a great place to shop and enjoy the many tapas.

Room Tip: ask for a side room, facing the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seawave1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for posting your good feedback about the hotel.

We personally think there are variety enough but yes, you are right, we value the quality over the quantity.

Regarding the bistrot-restaurant "El Regulador" there are a selection of delicious and fresh food brought daily from the Boqueria market. We are being recognized as one of the best places in the area to taste a high top quality food.

The experience of every single guest will be even more exclusive if you try our tasty restaurant.

I hope to see you again.

Happy new year!!

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

On Barcelona's famous boulevard La Rambla, a mere minute's walk from the bustling Boqueria city market and adjacent to the delightful Gothic Quarter, who could ask for a more elegant place to stay in the heart of Spain's most exciting city?
We stayed five nights. Our fears of excessive noise proved unfounded, thanks to effective double glazing. Our corner room was tastefully appointed in dark wood, leather and muted gold with comfortable bed and stylish bathroom. To the side was a fantastic close-up view of the facade of the Bethlehem Church and at times we opened the doors onto our tiny front balcony simply to watch the passing show below. The hotel staff were professional and courteous. El Regulador bar-brasserie (on the ground floor) serves an excellent breakfast ... and in the evening an outstanding gin & tonic! The roof top bar has city views. Keep a look out for package deals.

Room Tip: Ask to change your room if you're not happy. Corner rooms have the edge over others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a good review about our charming hotel Bagués.

As you said the noise is totally blocked and that is what i have been trying to explain, we have changed some months ago some staff in our soundproof system and now is working as we were expecting. Thank you vey much again for post some words about that.

I would like to offer you the possibility to contact me directly to arrange whatever you may need in your next visit to Barcelona.

Happy new year!!

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel Baques is a small boutique hotel located in the center of La Rambla. Great location! It is near shopping, restaurants & incredible sights. But, the rooms overlooking La Rambla are noisy. Bring ear plugs! The service and the breakfast at Hotel Baques is excellent. Before visiting, you should enroll in "SLH", Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It is free and you can receive a free room upgrade with this membership along with other amenities. For the price, this hotel is expensive. It is more like a 4 star hotel in the US.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BolderLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for posting your review in Tripadvisor.

I would like to focus my answer in the noise which i suppose comes from the street. There are too many reviews talking about that (lately in a positive way) and i have to say the soundproof system works perfectly.

If any guest comes to the Bagués hotel and feel the noise from the street just let me know to check what is going on and how to fix the problem. The problem we have found too many times is that the window has not been closed properly.

I would like to offer you the possibility to contact me directly in case you want to make a new reservation at our hotel Bagués.

Wishing you a merry chrismas and a happy new year!

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Property: Hotel Bagues
Address: La Rambla, 105, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): RM1,248 - RM2,227
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing