We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of Hotel Ginebra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ginebra
Ranked #231 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Thank you Hotel Ginebra for a wonderful stay. All the staff went out of their way to help us. Could not ask for more! Breakfast was great. Room was clean and comfy bed.Very good location in center of Barcelona

Room Tip: In the room where stayed the number 417, have very good views of Plaza Catalunya
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SILVIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Silvia
Thank you very much indeed; we are glad all our efforts have been appreciated so much.
Especially our clieaning staff and breakfast staff work extremely hard to offer the best service possible.
We look forward to see you again soon at Hotel Ginebra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Staff really nice and helpful. The hotel is very quiet and clean! One of the member of the staff offered us the breakfast which is delicious ! The location is perfect and gives us a complete view of the famous "Plaça Catalunya"!
I hardly recommend this Hotel

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lisabcn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hello Lisa
We thank you very much for your kind comment and we hope to see you again!
Also glad you enjoyed the breakfast, we also think it is delicious :=)

best regards from all at Hotel Ginebra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Ginebra. The room was very clean and the staff extremely friendly. They offered us complementary breakfast and gave us so many good advices to enjoy Barcelona. The location is also excellent, probably the best in the city !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB La Tacle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you very much!!!
Pleasant guests make easy work for us so we hope to see you again.
best regards from all at Hotel Ginebra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Stayed 5 days in Hotel Ginebra I had a lovely view from my single room which was facing to the square, great tip book the single with view.

They gave me complementary breakfast.

I'll be back to Hotel Ginebra.

Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: 405 single with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khartk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Director General at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Khartk89 ,

We very much enjoyed meeting you as well!
Have a great next holiday and happy trails from all at Hotel Ginebra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I am going to write this review as honestly as I can to hopefully ensure that what Hotel Ginebra have done to me does not happen to anyone else.

Firstly I made a mistake when booking through Booking.com. I am not sure how I managed it but I thought i was holding 3 rooms with free cancellation for my possible holiday in September. I know I was under a lot of stress at the time so I held them and thought I would go back in a few days and sort it out.

When I went back to the booking I realised with horror that I had booked two of the hotels on a 'no cancellation' basis. Again how did I do this, I dont know but it was over three months away and so I thought the hotels would be reasonable as I was no longer able to travel so I cancelled all three rooms and then contacted Booking.com.

Now the other hotel, Hotel Chi understood my error and accepted it was a mistake and within 24 hours returned my money. Unfortunately Hotel Ginebra refused to give me a refund and said that I had booked on 'no cancellation' and that was that. I said that I understood that but it was a mistake and a long way off and I understood if they wanted to make an admin/cancellation charge but surely not the whole amount, which was just under £1000.00!! Again they said no, so I then said ok, then could they reinstate the booking and I would take the room, thinking that I could give it away or perhaps use it as a prize in a charity raffle or something.

Their reply to this email was nothing other than '0' on an email. I am assuming from that they were telling me I was going to get a 'big fat zero' from them. I contacted booking.com again and they called them only to come back to me and say that they would not reinstate the booking or refund a penny of my money.

Well I have worked in the hotel industry around the world for 30 years at 4/5 star level and I have never head of a hotel behaving in this way. I know I made a mistake but I do feel that as the booking was not until September they could have been reasonable and made at the least a partial refund. It was not as if the booking was for a £100.00 it was almost a £1000.00. This trip was for my 60th birthday and now I can no longer afford to go away. I know the original error was mine but I do believe in business you need to behave in a reasonable and understanding manner. Well that is how I have always run and built my businesses.

What a difference in behaviour between the Hotel Ginebra and Hotel Chi who gave me a full and immediate refund.

Also I understand from Booking.com that as the booking was cancelled they do not receive a booking fee so in actual fact Hotel Ginebra ended up with even more money than they would have done if I had stayed and of course they will now resell the room for another £1000.00.

I hope that other people read this and be very very careful when booking this hotel that you do not want to make any amendments or changes to your booking. Having read through some of the other reviews it looks like I am not the only person to have had this happen to them.

Hotel Ginebra you are of course entitled to run your business however you want to but I do feel that it is pretty outrageous to take almost £1000.00 of someones hard earned money and give them absolutely nothing in return for that money - shame on you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginebra H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Ginebra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear madam
We do not know what cancellation policy the other hotel had offered you but it more then likely was not a "NON REFUNDABLE" cancellation policy.
Here at the hotel recepcion we simply adhere to the conditions of the booking as agreed by both parties, no more and no less; unfortunately we can not take everybody's personal circumstances into account.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#178 of 515 in Barcelona
1,495 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#91 of 515 in Barcelona
655 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#218 of 515 in Barcelona
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#159 of 515 in Barcelona
1,537 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#136 of 515 in Barcelona
1,491 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#202 of 515 in Barcelona
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginebra

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: RM452 - RM972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ginebra 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginebra is a bouquet hotel of eighteen rooms. Newly renovated in 2013, we are located in the most central location of Barcelona, Plaza Catalunya. Affordable rates, best lcation, friendly, multilingual (7 languages) staff. Many of the room offer a view of the square. Because we are located on the central square of Barcelona, many of the tourist sites are within walking distance. All public transport is available on the square, directly in front of the hotel. We are looking forward to meeting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ginebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginebra Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing