We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special - a place where to sleep at night”
Review of Pension Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Palacio
Ranked #360 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a small hostel situated right between the Barceloneta beach and city centre, and thus very suitable both for sightseeing and swimming (or surfing). Very clean - our room was always spotless after cleaning, and the shared bathrooms were always ok. Can't say anything about meeting rooms or possibility for socializing - we stayed very little inside. WiFi is free of charge and of good speed. There are also stationary PCs with Internet that can be used. On arrival we were provided with a free map of Barcelona. The owners were also nice before our arrival - they helped us with the confirmation of booking, which had to be presented at the embassy for us to obtain a Spanish tourist visa.

One thing is really annoying - many rules!!! Previous tourists wrote about the "shower only 7 minutes rule" - this was not true, may be it is so only during summer months. However, you have to pay extras for everything - towels (bed linen was provided to us for free), kitchen etc.

To sum up - it is a great place if you are going not during the summer months (no need of aircon), and only use the hostel as a place to sleep (it is really quiet - thanks to the many rules :) ).

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inside wall of the building, and it was always very dark in the room. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innamelnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

i know its long - please read all! we had to call the police because the owner was so crazy!

we stayed there late july 2011, when we arrived to the place we saw a tiny disguasting door with graffiti on it - thats the entrance. we had to go up 2 levels of old stairs (no lift) with our things.
the place was tiny, and the first thing we saw was notes saying there are fines for everything - fines for staining the sheets, smoking around the building, taking a shower over 7 minutes, washing your clothes in the sink. if you want to use the kitchen it costs 1 euro per person.
the guy showed us to the room, we passed the shared bathroom - 2 shower and 2 toilets for the whole place. the room was tiny, the "air con" was a old fan. there was no place to move and the bed was hard as a rock.

after a night with no sleep we decided to check out, we were explaining to the owner politly that it is not for us, and that we couldnt sleep because of the heat and the bed that felt like a rock. the owner said it is our problem and that we have to pay for the whole 6 nights we booked, we tried to get a compromise and said we'll pay for some but she said we have to pay the whole week. she talked to us in a very rood way while we were trying to be polite. evantually we wanted to get out of this place so badly that we decided to pay her the 6 nights and just go so we can enjoy Barcelona. after we paid she said "let me know when you're checking out so i can put somebody else in the room". we packed our stuff and said we are going to look at different places, she demanded to know if we are checking our or not - i said to her that i paid for the room, so its my room for the week and i have the right to come back. then the lady got completly crazy and yelled at us while kicking us out and shutting the door on us.

we called the police and they arrived, after a short talk they said that the place is disguasting and that we can find a much better place for the money. the cops came down with the crazy owner and she said "i dont want them to stay here ill give them the money back as long as they go and never come back" - perfect, we didnt want to stay at that disguasting place plus get the money back is what we wanted. then the crazy lady turned to me saying "where are you going to sleep tonight? on the streets? enjoy" so i said i dont think its a problem to find a different place, then she turned to the cops saying "no i changed my mind, they HAVE TO stay here i dont give them the money back i want them now to stay here the whole time". the cops had to tell her to relax and that she has to give us the money back and that we're going. then they said shes crazy and its better for us if we find a different place.

we changed to a different hotel for the same price who offered much more, was pleasnt and had a pool. for this prices you can find so much better than this prison pencion palcia.

i know the review is long, thank you for reading we had the worst experience there and dont want anyone going throught that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank noacodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here in the middle of summer and could not sleep. It was 29 degrees inside the room and 26 outside. Our room was 4m x 4m and the only window was about 90cm x 30cm. This would have been livable if there was air con but we only had a fan and felt this wasn't enough in the middle of summer. Every time you enter you have to buzz the door, this goes on well into the night. There was a lot of internal noise from other guests.

We found the rooms were clean and bathrooms were spotless. Some other positives were the free wifi and that each room had half a shelf of the fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gralice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It is located centrally. The building it's located in is quite bleak but I guess that is part of the price. The hostel itself is very brightly decorated. There were however endless rules, signs and the extra costs added up so much as to bump up the price. We had to pay for each family member to use the kitchen even on the day we just made a cup of tea. We were charged quite a lot to leave our bags, which was free everywhere else we went ( as were the kitchens). It was quiet which suited us but if you are looking for somewhere a bit buzzy this is not the place.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank SparkyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Because there are excellent rules such as: No smoking, no noise after 11PM, etc, everything goes well for ALL guests. Our hostess and host, Nuria and Mario, treated us like family. The rooms are small but well-designed/maintained as is the entire establishment, from the baths to the kitchen to the reception area, to the computer room. Laundry service(loved that), tourist advice, fast internet, and a wonderful location near Barcelona's marina and the El Born section filled with some of Barcerlona's most charming shops, cafes, and bars(especially the one(Cava=.85Euro/per glass & food from 2.50Euro) just around the corner on Carre de la Reina Cristina and Bar El Born where a cafe con leche & pastry is 1.90Euro and a sandwich & small beer is 2.90Euro).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegandHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#23 of 735 in Barcelona
1,589 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#123 of 307 in Barcelona
107 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 515 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#72 of 735 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
Barcelona City North
#207 of 307 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 515 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Palacio

Address: Passeig Isabel II, 10 Pral.1a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: RM150 - RM366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Palacio Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing