We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ideal Youth Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Carla(Barcelona)
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Pol & Grace Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$333
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)
US$201
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
NH Sants Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jazz(Barcelona)
US$210
US$194
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Collection Barcelona Tower(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I(Barcelona)
US$320
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$249
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
59
90
88
37
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
90
88
37
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcooking facilitiesshort staythree nightswifiramblasterraceroof
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015

The Ideal Youth Hostel is located in the center right across the Ramblas close by the train station. Staff was very friendly and willing to answer any question we had about things to do and to see.
We booked a double room with a shared bathroom but it is also possible to have a bed in the dormitory. The room was clean, very essential with decent beds, although the sheets were not clean with spots of dirt and this was the only disappointment we had. Shared bathroom was clean.
Elevator is available. WIFI connection is available and free of charge in the main hall downstairs. I am not sure if breakfast is possible but you can bring your own food, store in the common fridge and eat in the hall downstairs, there is plenty of space.
We slept only one night and we had a good impression overall. It is a good cheap accommodation for backpacker journeys and short stays to explore Barcellona either you want to walk or use public transportation.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank mario_itna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reputation M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your opinion with us! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay by Ideal Youth Hostel. As you mention in your comment, our staff is really friendly and always here to help! It is important to us that our customers have a great experience staying by us. However, we’d like to inform you our sheets are clean whenever a new guest comes! About breakfast, we offer a tiny appetizer in the morning for free, but for sure there is a lot of space for your food to have it here your way! You can even meet new people and make friends while eating! We appreciate your valuation and we hope you had fun in the city. Come again and visit! Greetings from IYH Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The hostel has security dors that you have to swipe through. To enter my room i had to pass 6 doors!! Yes, six! It feels like prison.
Doors slamming hard, all night long. No way to silently close a door...
No conditioner in the room and the ceiling fan is too weak.
Bathroom is dangerous.
When i tried to leave they said they refused to refund.

There are some pluses which i didn't care for...

Ideal for: deaf ex prisoner poor.
This is far from ideal to humans.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank trip441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reputation M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear customer,
Thanks for taking your time in giving us your exhaustive valuation from your experience by Ideal Youth Hostel. However we are surprised reading your words because in our hostel we work hard in order to make our guest’s stay as pleasant as we can.
We’d like to remind you that staying in a hostel is different from a hotel. many services are shared with other customers so their use and maintenance depends on everyone! It has a lot to do with sharing and being tolerant. If you check for other opinions from our clients you’ll see they like it here! Our receptionists have always a great attitude and are here to help you anytime you need.
We’d also like to inform you in our hostel there is a security system because security is a main subject for us and our customers too. These are fire doors and that’s why the close tight. All of them can be opened with the proper card-key we give to our guests while they are staying. This is only to improve safety.
We have an intern policy which does not permit us refund money to our guests once they have payed if they are already staying by us. All of our rooms have air conditioner of fans. Anytime your find yours not working properly, or not enough refreshing, you can ask for another one at the reception! Next time try telling us about any inconvenient you find with your room, because if there is a chance to upgrade your accommodation and change you to another room we’ll work on it!
We can assure you we always do our best. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the city.
Regards from IYH Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights, good localisation, it's clean, the comfort was enough for us. The staff was really nice and gave us advice about where to lunch, have a drink... It's also very convenient to be able to put your suitcase in a closed local the day you arrive before having the key of the room, and also the day you left when you give the key back (our plane was late in the evening).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reputation M, Public Relations Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your comment with us! We are happy to know you enjoyed our hostel's acommodation and facilities, and our services too. We always work hard in order to make our clients' as comfortable as we can! We hope you come back soon so we can share some new experiences again! Many greetings fom Ideal Youth Hostel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Pros:
- relatively cheap
- centrally located with easy access to public transport
- 24/7 access
- free WiFi downstairs
- if your priority is just nights out then this hostel is suitable
-left luggage facility useful
- bedding clean

Cons:
- health and safety concerns- beds not fixed to the wall and can easily be pulled over, ceiling fans in our room held together with tape
- very hot, inadequate ventilation. Ceiling and desk fans in the room were broken. We were assured this would be rectified but it was not. This was a massive concern.
- toilet facilities. Toilet cubicles require yoga- the cubicles on our floor were so small that you couldn't sit on the toilet. No soap provided in the toilets for hand washing. Strange smell in toilets.
- lack of privacy. We stayed in a mixed room so had to get changed in the bathroom. Ordinarily this would be fine, but the toilet doors were glass and transparent and there was no way you could change in the toilet cubicles because they were so small.


Overall, the hostel is VERY basic but generally clean. Not the worst hostel I've stayed in but there's a lot of room for improvement.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reputation M, Public Relations Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed most of the facilities we offer in our hostel, we work hard to make our customers' stay as pleasant as we can! Therefore we do our best not only so that our customers have a good journey but also a secure one. Our rooms are right equipped and all they have air conditioner or ceiling fans. We added new individual fans in yours, which we checked and they worked properly. We would also like to inform you that in our hostel we have different sized rooms, some of them with private toilets. We are sorry to read sharing bathroom became an inconvenient for feeling lack of privacy. Next time check every of our options, we are here to help you and we'd like you to be comfortable! IYH acomodation stands in the proper rules and our staff do their job daily! Remember you can always ask at the reception for anything you need! We hope you liked the city. Greetings from Ideal Youth Hostel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

with all sincerity I can begin to say that were it not for its central location near the Ramblas that allows it to move with much comfort is appreciated, but otherwise unfortunately I had to leave the hostel two days earlier than expected for several reasons: Room on the first floor where unfortunately I've had little squeeze, with 5 beds and very stuffy, and I often feel the suffering of the air that I was missing. and to make matters worse during most of the night I was disturbed by all sorts of noise from the street which I repeat was a short walk from the Ramblas. the value of the structure left much to be desired, not to mention the cleanliness especially the bathrooms, very bad. and even the courtesy of the staff was definitely below average. was the only hostel I met who did not provide any cancellation, no refund for no reason and then obviously I lost the money of the two unused nights, I asked if we could switch rooms hoping better quality, It was told me that They had two different rooms for each night and that would not have made the bed twice. "Fantastic" ! This was the driving force that made me close ahead of time and try and find a solution for another hostel more livable, and i found it ) . to finish , the hour of breakfast is from seven to nine: for who is on vacation can not sleep at night is definitely i don't think is is best way to start a new day .

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reputation M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

Dear guest,
thank you for taking your time writing a comment to our hostel. We consider every customer has their own opinions. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share.
We would like to remind you that the experience in a hostel is different from a hotel, as many services are shared with other customers and their use depends on everyone. Staying in a hostel has a lot to share and you have to be tolerant of others since you can benefit of lower prices. If any of our guests need anything, they can go to the reception and notify the issue so we solve as quickly as we can any kind of trouble they may have. We assure you that we always work doing the best in order to make our customers’ stay always satisfactory.
Refering to the switching room issue, we don’t have any trouble in changing people from one room to another in case we have free rooms. But at the time you asked for it, we didn’t have any. If you check other people’s opinion, you’ll see most of opinions about the reception are great and all the people enjoy our hostel and its atmosphere.
Greetings from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews