We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as their other hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
chic&basic Zoo Hotel
Ranked #101 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed at chic and basic born on a previous visit which is why we booked again. Heard they'd opened a new hotel around the corner and decided to check it out. Disappointing really. First of all it's just a floor in a building shared with flats....access proved difficult at times. A buzzer needed to be pressed to get in which was controlled from the main site around the corner. On a number of occasions we found ourselves buzzing and waiting to be allowed access. 3 minutes isn't a long time but every time you want to get back in to the place you've paid £600+ to stay in, it wears thin extremely quickly.

Upstairs in the hotel. Has a foyer area which looks like should be staffed. Never saw a member of staff once. Again not a massive issue but not being able to ask for advice/recommendations, sort out issues which we had didn't seem sharp.

The room, as many other reviews have mentioned, are quite basic. Our previous visit at the other site was much better. The rooms had personality and atmosphere. Chic indeed. Not the case in at the zoo unfortunately.

Sold as having wifi - room number 10 doesn't have wifi.... nobody to speak to in the foyer, no way of contacting the hotel around the corner. Disappointing.

It seemed like every time somebody flushed a toilet or had a shower above our room, you could hear all the pipes loudly churning in the bed room. Definitely not what you want.

Tv had BBC news in English and that was it. You don't go on holiday to watch tv but the times you do spend in the room on a evening....it can be nice to relax and watch a film or whatever (like you can in the hotel around the corner).

Room very hot for whatever reason, aircon directly over bed so it's either too hot or too cold. Frustrating.

Saying all this, staff seen at check in/out are very friendly and location of hotel is amazing. Shame the rest of the experience didn't live up.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Zoo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Adam B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Zoo. For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.
I am sorry to hear that you had problems and that you didn’t liked the Hotel.
Chic&basic Zoo is a 1 Star Hotel it is different than the other chic&basic (chic&basic Born and Ramblas are 3 Stars).
You are right we do not have a persona there 24 hours, because the meeting point is just around the corner 150meter and there we are 24 hours for every information you need. But there is as well a telephone in the room and es well in the comment area of chic&basic Zoo which you can contact directly with the front desk persons.
In general the cleaning persona is in the hotel in the morning and then the front desk people and me we go over every so often to have a look if everything is in order.
To ring the doorbell downstairs is for security, to control a bit who is entering in the building.
For sure I will check that the Wi-Fi is fixed as well in room Number 10.

I hope we can well come you again in one of our chic&basic´s very soon we are open a new one ( chic&basic lemon) I hope to welcome you there.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

7 - 11 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

While the room is basic but functional, it served our needs just fine. The room and hotel was clean and interior was nicely decorated. Not overboard but looked okay. The location worked well for us. They stored our baggage at Chic&Basic-Born until check-in time. Desk folks gave us a map of the city and pointed out the highlights. We only stayed for one night and as I said it worked well for that. If you are looking for something for a longer stay, it maybe too basic for you.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceWickwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had room No. 17. It was tiny. There was no room to store 2 small suitcases, we had to put them in the bathroom. The room wasn't chic at all, it was dark and had a very small window facing a wall in the backyard. As small as the room was the TV which had mainly Spanish channels. But thanks to free WLAN we could watch Netflix on our Computer.

The towels were old and as thin as paper, there was a litte bar of soap, no shower gel or shampoo but a hairdryer (praise the lord!). The bed was not comfy at all, too hard but made us get up early and enjoy the city.

The location is great though. So is the staff, very helpful and friendly. A bonus is also the free water and coffee in the "lounge" area. But that's about it. Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ninusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stayed one night then moved to another hotel closer to Eixample.
Rooms are super basic, not very clean and the general amenities were lacking.
I realized how well located it was once i moved to Eixample, but even though i would look for another hotel to stay in

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Talal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

As in the title a quirky hotel close to the gothic quarter. It has extremely friendly staff who possess excellent English. It's quiet and peaceful and it's a great place to chill out.
There are lots of tapas bars locally for breakfast and dinner but walk a bit more than a hundred yards and there really are some amazing places.
It's safe, motioned by cctv at the door. There is a perfectly adequate safe in the room for your valuables and a good lock on the door. The decoration is based on a zoo animal theme.
The bed was comfortable and the pillows were just right for us. Good linen on the bed and a warm duvet made for a good nights sleep. Free coffee, tea and water was available in the sitting room.
The shower and toilet were fine and you could even have a bath. There was lots of hot water soap shower gel and even a hairdryer.
For the money it was brilliant.
It's pretty easy to get to from the aero port. Take the metro to Clot then platform 3 for the arc de triomph (yes there's one here in Barcelona). Its the very next stop. Walk through the Arc and through two beautiful parks and you arrive at the hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zogthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#98 of 515 in Barcelona
764 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Lemon
Chic & Basic Lemon
#315 of 515 in Barcelona
404 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#179 of 515 in Barcelona
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#41 of 307 in Barcelona
366 reviews
Som Nit Born
Som Nit Born
#63 of 307 in Barcelona
186 reviews
Next To
Next To
#74 of 307 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Zoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Zoo Hotel

Address: Passeig Picasso 22 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: RM208 - RM570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — chic&basic Zoo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Born district and looking out over the Ciutadella Park, this hotel has everything you desire: an unbeatable location and the chic&basic style. A classic building with an interior design with industrial inspiration; a hotel with an urban character opposite a park full of trees and grass and fresh air, chic&basic Zoo as a hotel full of contrasts and enchantment. In the "helpyourself" area you can relax reading a magazine and having a coffe, tea or just water at any time of the day for free. Behind the facade of a classic building, in the heart of the Born district and right opposite the Barcelona Ciutadella Park, you will find the chic&basic Zoo hotel. Enjoy a privileged location, with a unique ambience, in the contemporary centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your chic&basic Zoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing