We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with pleasant amenities.”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #28 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Located right off of Las Ramblas, the hotel is a great location and nice escape from the hustle and bustle outside. It's important to get an inside room, or one that doesn't face Las Ramblas if you want some peace and quiet. The amenities are nice and include a decent business center, library, and breakfast buffet. The rooftop pool is fantastic, but got soo crowded that we could hardly find a seat. This is probably a product of the busy summer season and warm weather in Barcelona in June.

Be prepared to pay a lot for food and amenities at the hotel. Everything is very expensive at the restaurant, bar and room service.

Room Tip: Book an inside room to face away from Las Ramblas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steincat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,686 - 2,690 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff of the hotel are incredibly nice and helpful. The hotel itself has a traditional, upscale appearance without being over the top. The rooms are nice sized and ours had a huge bed for Europe - at least a King and maybe even a bit larger. The hotel is immaculate - especially considering the absolutely nutty scene on the street just outside. Actually, make sure you put the do not disturb sign on the door if you come back for an afternoon rest because the cleaning staff is quite zealous and will walk into your room without knocking (happened twice, but no big deal). We purposely focused on getting a quiet room - actually the least expensive in the hotel - because we are not big partiers and didn't want to deal with the street noise after calling it a night. Our room was very quiet (401). The pool is largely a waste, in my opinion, because it's in the basement and you feel like you're swimming in a cave. The hotel is simply in the middle of everything on La Rambla - a couple of blocks to the fruit market, and easy access to the old city. We definitely recommend this hotel and we are picky folks.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frohwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was traveling to Barcelona after a five-year absence and wanted to stay somewhere central and safe, and I wanted to treat myself to a more upscale place. This hotel was rated high on the Trip Advisor scale so I gave it a try. It was a lovely hotel, an oasis just steps off noisy La Ramba. My room was extremely elegant. I did not sample the hotel breakfast. The only negative was that the lobby smelled very odd and was not conducive to spending any time in. The rooftop bar is amazing. Great views, a fun place for a drink and appetizers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2006world_traveler!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Very chic, modern hotel...nice rooms...great location on La Rambla...cool rooftop bar...helpful, friendly staff

Had a top-floor room that faced onto La Rambla...wasn't too loud

Did feel the rumble of the metro underneath, but didn't really bother us

Would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TT5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I picked this hotel because of the rave reviews & location. It was an excellent choice on the Rambla in Barcelona. The hotel was extremely clean & well maintained. The employees working there were helpful & professional. The spa area was a real treat too with the unique pool & sauna and again very clean. The best though was the dinner we had on the rooftop! The food was delicious & the atmosphere romantic along with wonderful waiters to serve you. You would not be disappointed in staying here if you are looking for this particular area & a clean peaceful hotel to come back to!!

Room Tip: Superior room/ outside noise until midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renee045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,328 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
902 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
942 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: RM698 - RM1,475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing