We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in a prime location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Went to Barcelona to watch the classic Champions League semi between Barca and Chelsea. This hotel is in an exceptional location, with 2 metro stops in an easy walking distance. I arrived at 11.30 am on a Monday but could not be accommodated "early". I was disappointed that no effort was even made to check - I was simply told to deposit my bag and come back after 2pm. In general, I found the staff competent but not exceptional, effective but not friendly. When I did check in, the room was well furnished and of a decent size (Executive King). It was quite dark due to facing a small internal courtyard. Sleep quality was excellent. The breakfast was also brilliant, with a wide choice of delicious offerings, including typically Spanish choices. All things considered, I would stay here again but probably want to choose my room more carefully for a longer stay.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Max2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,399 - 2,403 of 4,648 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My partner and I stayed in four different hotels during our trip in Barcelona last November. A five-star hotel 1898 was the most luxurious accommodation we had.
We paid almost 400 euro for one night. Beside a superior room, the price included a bottle of cava, Spanish sparkling wine, strawberries, free access to spa, massage, breakfast, and late check out.
We liked hotel's colonial style: Dark wood, scale models of old ocean liners, and documentary black-and-white pictures from the Philippines.
However, service wasn't top-notch. We were checked in by a serious front desk agent without smile or small talk. We were a bit surprised that he didn't welcome us in Filipino since both my partner and the theme of hotel comes from the Philippines.
The name of the hotel, 1898, is the year when the Philippines became independent. Moreover, the hotel is a former headquarter of the Philippine Tobacco Company. They could welcome their guest by saying: "Mabuhay!" It's not that difficult. Instead, we were welcomed in Filipino in a budget hotel where we moved next day.
Our room was nicely designed in a colonial style and it had a view straight to the crowded La Rambla, a famous promenade.
After a long day of walking we decided to enjoy cava that was included in our package. But we couldn't find the bottle. We called to reception where they connected us to housekeeping where they connected us to spa. One more round of phone conversations and room service finally knocked our door. Cava, strawberries and a welcome card finally arrived.
We were wondering if it was a clear mistake or a well planned strategy: You get what you've paid only if you ask.
Soon after we went to bed and switched off lights our bed and paintings on the wall started to shake. Literally. We found out that a metro line goes just under the hotel.
Next morning we were woke up by the church bells and headed to breakfast that has claimed to be the best in Barcelona. And it was wonderful.
After eating breakfast we requested late check out and so did an another couple who was queuing to the front desk before us. They were told it's possible if they pay. The couple declined. For us the answer was straight no: "We're full."

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelboyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This review is coming late since we stayed in this hotel for five nights in April 2011; however I want to add my praise to this very special hotel. This property is in a great location on the Ramblas right in the Gothic Quarter and is very close to restaurants (try Bar Lobo right around the corner - terrific!), Boqueria Market, and the main sights in the Quarter such as the Cathedral. The property itself is wonderfully stylish and comfortable with good sized and well designed rooms, a great indoor spa/pool area, as well as a rooftop deck with outdoor pool and spectacular views of the city. A special word of thanks to this hotel for it's service - we arrived early (around 8:30 am) after a very long flight from Los Angeles and we were expecting to be told that our room wouldn't be available for hours. Surprise! The hotel had our room ready and we prompty checked in, went up, and took a relaxing siesta. Muchas gracias!
I can not recommend this property highly enough. We loved staying here and will certainly return on our next trip to Barcelona. Viva Espana!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Privilege category are spacious (more like junior suites) and are located at the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I have visited this hotel in Barcelona last weekend. We've had a great weekend in the wonderful city Barcelona! Hotel 1898 is a great hotel: beautiful entrance, great staff, delicious breakfast on the roof terrace Isabela, wonderful atmosphere. It is on La Rambla, in the heart of Barcelona, but it is very quiet during the nights.
We would love to go back there, if only for the splendid breakfast on the roof! and of course the swimming pool om the roof:)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

All I have for this hotel is praise! It's quite a late review because we stayed here in 2011, but the hotel & the bar was excellent. The bar makes the best mojitos ever! The decor was so great, when we redocrated our house we even took some design ideas from the hotel! Loved staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaya247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 515 in Barcelona
2,333 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,151 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: RM685 - RM1,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing