We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Barcelona”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A wonderful hotel, great rooms, staff, service and location... no other Barcelona hotel for me!! The roof terrace is just seer bliss!

Only fault was the restaurant/snack bar at the front of hotel.. slow service and need plenty of time to eat...

Room Tip: Book a superior room, larger and more space to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,207 - 2,211 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel, situated in a landmark building on La Rambla. A comfortable lobby bar, a scenic rooftop bar, free wi-fi and a courteous staff made this the perfect home base for our exploration of Barcelona. Clean marble bath, great lighting, nice linens added comfort to the stay. The adjacent neighborhood offers many options for tapas and drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600catherinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We only stayed here one night after exiting a cruise ship. I can't wait to visit here again. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! The rooms are beautiful and equipped with any feature you might want. The rooftop pool and view are not to be missed. And it is wonderful to be able to walk outside and immediately immerse yourself in Las Ramblas and all it's charm!

Room Tip: I have read complaints about room noise. We did not have that problem, but I would suggest that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrGrammyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

i stayed here for 6 nights with my boyfriend in september 2012. perfect location in barcelona, hotel is right on la rambla which is the main street in barca, we walked everywhere from this hotel - we walked to the beach, to sagrada familia, to the cathedral, so perfect location. hotel itself is fabulous, spotlessly clean, impeccable service, fabulous facilities. rooftop pool and seating is amazing, definately use the sunloungers in the day and sofas at night enjoying the rooftop view. rooms lovely. spa downstairs the cherry on top after wandering round all day. the restaurant on the side of the hotel is also wonderful, it has an open kitchen. hotel not cheap but what can you expect from a hotel this wonderful. forget the rest, stay here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, it was part of an Anniversary break in Barcelona.
The Hotel is really well decorated, very secure and feels classy. Our superior room was big very comfy and all round "perfect",
We had food and drinks at the rooftop bar which was all great, they offer a small Tapas menus and everything we had was super and really well presented.
The location is perfect, right in the center of the Rambla.
This was one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in and we both loved it.
What made is so special? = The staff - Everyone we had dealings with were polite, professional, friendly and from the Cleaners through to the Managers all of the staff were a credit to the Hotel and the city.
The Spa and the Breakfast were also superb and again the staff really made it for us.
Highly Recommended,

Room Tip: Superior rooms overlook the street and are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,329 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
902 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
942 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: RM697 - RM1,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing