We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Do not look further than this hotel when staying in Barcelona. Great location, staff, room, amenities! On my honeymoon and they treated us like royalty...hotel has so many great little treats that make the guests feel so special.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sarakhalil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your comments,
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 4,647 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Great location in the centre of Barcelona but just off the main street. Hotel is 5 star in every category. Staff were friendly and very helpful. we really enjoyed our stay at this outstanding hotel. The roof terrace is amazing at night with view of the city. There is also a swimming poof on the roof.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Peter;

First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way.

We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in this hotel. We stayed in a room with private terrace. Because of the weather being sunny and warm, the private terrace was very nice. The bed was cozy and the room had everything we needed.

The rooftop terrace was beautiful; nice drinks and snacks. We had breakfest once at the hotel. They had a wide selection of delicious things. If you don't feel like paying too much for your breakfest, the marketplace is located nearby offering lots of different kinds of things to eat.

The location of the hotel is very good. You can walk everywhere. Anyway, if you don't want to walk, the metrostation is nearby.

We enjoyed our visit to this hotel very much and could easily stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NooraV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Sirs;

Continuous improvements in the quality of our facilities and the service provided are our top priorities. Your feedback helps us continue maintaining the facilities in line with the service. Thank you. We are very pleased by you choosing us for your stay and the fact that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Great place with comfortable room which was well serviced. Good breakfast with amazing choice of food . The roof top bar is the star of this hotel with lovely pool, stunning views and brilliant staff. The pool downstairs is also worth a visit. The central location makes this hotel the perfect place to stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Customer;

For us it is a challenge trying to improve every day. I would like to thank you personally for the time spent writing to us, as well as for choosing our hotel for your stay in the city.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We had three lovely nights here after finishing our cruise. We arrived 4 hours earlier than expected but the reception staff were charming and untroubled and sorted a room and took our luggage immediately. Difficult to identify a highlight as there were so many-buffet breakfast was amazing value at 20 euros, allow plenty of time and leave space for the cakes and chocolates. I swear our double bed was 7 feet wide and wonderfully comfy. We dined both on the rooftop terrace where I can recommend the tuna tapas, also tried the menu gastonomique in the main restaurant, and again great value at 28 euro for 4 beautifully crafted courses-proper dining. Extensive wine list at reasonable prices. Spa treatments were too pricey for us but the small subterranean pool was a nice surprise even if some of the water features needed some maintenance. The only word of caution is that if you sleep with windows open expect it to be noisy until 1 am, we overlooked a small square at the back with bars and outdoor diners etc, not raucous, just people having fun. Great location and we'd like to think that we'll return-better start saving immediately.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 515 in Barcelona
2,332 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,151 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
903 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#117 of 515 in Barcelona
6,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: RM687 - RM1,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing