We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
170
74
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
74
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews totem hotel high end neighborhood designer shopping great hotel and staff tree lined street barrio salamanca exterior room small sofa no tea and coffee making facilities great neighborhood minutes from the airport calle serrano buen retiro park marble bathroom the main tourist walked everywhere stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Lovely hotel in an upmarket shopping neighbourhood of Madrid. Guess boutique etc just round the corner. The room was spacious, bed comfortable and shower huge. We had an exterior room with street view so reasonably light. Excellent internet. Breakfasts were really good with great coffee and delicious freshly squeezed orange juice (the oranges in Spain are like nowhere else!). Bar area very cool and large - only one person working though so slow service at peak times (early evening). What really made the hotel however were the staff- exceptional and thoughtful service from the front desk including couriering a package urgently to London for us and booking restaurants. We ate at some very cool bar/restaurants including Quintin and La Maquina. I have a slight hesitation on location (for tourism) - we walked everywhere clocking up over 20000 steps a day. It is a good 20-25 mins to the Prada and 30 to the Plaza Mayor. If you wanted to use the metro you could but the nearest station involves a couple of changes to get anywhere. Next time I would probably stay somewhere near Santa Ana to be closer to the action

Room Tip: Exterior for light
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kookaburra58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Kookaburra58,

Thank your for your kind words about our hotel service and staff and for the excellent review given to our beautiful boutique hotel. I am glad you appreciated the attention to details and the proffesionalism of our hotel staff.
Regarding the location, Salamanca District is the upper class district and luxury shopping and restaurants area. It is ideal for those willing to stay in the center but away from the hustle and bustle. We understand there are many kind of travelers and motivations for travel.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,

Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend. The hotel itself is around 25-30 minutes from the airport by taxi, which costs a flat fare of 30 euros.
Our room was nice, and was cleaned every day, with the only slight criticism being they forgot to leave fresh towels one day. The staff were very polite and helpful with regards getting around the city/ recommending places to go to.
We tried some drinks in the bar a couple of nights and again they were very nice and prepared well by the friendly staff. Couldn’t comment on the food as we ate out all weekend.
All in all a good place to stay, and I wouldn’t hesitate to return to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marky1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Marky1003,

Thank you for taking the time of leaving a review about your recent stay in our boutique hotel. We appreciate your kind words about the overall stay and regret the issue with the towels. We normally change the towels left on the flloor by the client or in case of requested. This is an unfortunate situation if it didn't happen like this and I apologize for it.

It is very pleasant to read that our cocktail bar experience was enjoyable for you and that you appreciated our service, staff and cocktails. Maybe next time you will have time to try our gastronomical offer.

We are looking forward to receiving you very soon at TÓTEM Madrid,

Sincerely,

M Andreu
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Form first minutes I arrived in madrid I meet angry and sad people, and first time in this hotel I meet very kind and supportive staff.
I was not hotel guest but those gentelman did all they can do to support
I appreciate a lot

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Koorosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Mr/Mrs Koorosh,

We really thank you for leaving this kind comment about our hotel staff. It is true that our aim is to excel in the client service and try to help and assist in everything we can with a smile on our face.

I really appreciate your review and encourage you to come one day to be one of our guests.

i am happy we were able to contribute to change your overall perception of the city,

Receive my best regards,

M Andreu
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Such a great hotel and in a lovely location. This hotel has great service. The bar is well stocked and there is a great selection of drinks and amazing cocktails. The rooms are really nicely furnished and a good sized. They have a nespresso machine and really nice toiletries etc. Breakfast was also really good and they catered for a vegan diet. The staff are great at offering suggestions of good places to eat and shopping. There’s also a lovely park near by which is great for a morning g run! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ju713t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Ju713t,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience at TÓTEM Madrid. I am glad you appreciated all our facilities and services, specially our cocktail bar our breakfast proposal and our comfortable rooms.
The location of TÓTEM is really unbeatable, surrounded of shops and good restaurants. I am pleased to see you had the time to enjoy our beautiful Retiro Park which is indeed very close to the hotel.

I hope to welcome you again very soon at TÓTEM,

Sincerely,

M Andreu
H General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We have spent 3 nights at the Totem Madrid the first time. The atmosphere is very familiar, we had a nice welcome at the reception desk and help was offered with the luggage. We have booked rooms in the Deluxe Exterior category. All rooms are nice equiped, but sometimes a little bit dark. The bath rooms and bathing supplements like shower gel, hair shampoo and conditioner are very nice. It is recommendable to have more towels and clothes hooks in the bath room and room. Overall it was a really nice stay. We all loved the bar in the evening very much.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maulrich2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTEMMADRID, Director General at TOTEM Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Maulrich2018,

Thank you for the time you've taken to share your experience at TÓTEM Madrid. I am very glad you appreciated the hotel atmosphere, the service and the rooms. I am taking note of all your recommendations, attention to detail is very important for us and we take this comments very seriously.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome very soon in Madrid,

Sincerely,

M Andreu,
H General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews